shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Oct 20, 2020 7:52 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8006 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 263, 264, 265, 266, 267  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 6:22 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1852
The Zuck wrote:
Can anyone tell me what this rumored external Wii HDMI mod is called? I only know of WiiDual and it's successor WiiDigital.

I'm not sure which one you're talking about, but anything external is going to be a simple YPbPr to HDMI converter, possibly with 1080p upscaling, so it's probably not going to look all that good. There are already cheap, abundant Wii2HDMI converters on the market; if there's a new one, I imagine it would be more of the same.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 10:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 861
Location: bmore
The Zuck wrote:
external Wii HDMI mod


I'm confused by the "mod" description. It's external, but it's a "mod?"


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:37 am 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1389
Is it worth recapping my 2010 Red Wii? I'm getting my 2010 Red Wii modded with the WiiDual for $90 by Dragon's Hoard Gaming, and he offers an additional service that replaces all of the Wii's electrolytic capacitors with high quality ones from Console5.com, along with a complete disassembly to thoroughly clean with IPA, grease the drives, re-solder ports and connections to ensure "proper connections" and apply UV coating all for $100. Is that a good deal?

https://dragonshoardgaming.com/info/WiiDual


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 7:07 am 



Joined: 04 May 2018
Posts: 19
I guess I must've been mistaken. I saw a post on Reddit mention a new external method for 1080p upscaling outside of WiiDigital. No name or anything was mentioned so I was curious if anyone here had heard of something similar. I'm aware of the Aliexpress and Hyperkin options, but this seemed to infer a product different from those.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 12:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 861
Location: bmore
GeneraLight wrote:
Is it worth recapping my 2010 Red Wii?


By 2010, the process technology for caps had come so far that premature failure became practically non-existent. If it was going to fail, something would have most likely gone wrong already. You see a lot of recapping going on with 80's and 90's consoles because there were some "bad batches" of caps that circulated through the consumer electronics industry at various times.
The 90's devices in particular are prone to failure because of a case of industrial espionage in which one of the big component companies tried to steal the "recipe" for making surface mount elec caps and either missed one of the steps or was purposefully fed misinformation. I can't remember the details, but it's something like that.

The actual chances of your red wii that you know to be in good working order having iffy caps is *extremely* low, and not so much different from the chances of the new caps going bad. So I would say "nah," but that's my 2 cents.

All the other stuff (aside from the UV coating and lubing the drive) seems like stuff that should be wrapped into the price of the mod, and it was probably taken out to make the "cap package" look like a better idea, so it kind of rubs me the wrong way.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:39 pm 



Joined: 06 May 2020
Posts: 18
Hello,
A question about a sega saturn cable. I bought two mini-din to build a diy cable. The first one is mini-din to bnc to connect directly to my bvm, but since recently i am using an extron vga switcher, so i want to make a new cable to have mini-din to vga.
In retro-access they say this about their saturn cable :
Quote:
contains a 470 ohm resistor in the din plug and a 220uf capacitor in the SCART on the csync line for correct 75 ohm sync attenuation.


Is it really necessary ? I don't use any caps and resistor in my bnc cable and it is working fine, no sync problem...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1359
atohmdiy wrote:
Hello,
A question about a sega saturn cable. I bought two mini-din to build a diy cable. The first one is mini-din to bnc to connect directly to my bvm, but since recently i am using an extron vga switcher, so i want to make a new cable to have mini-din to vga.
In retro-access they say this about their saturn cable :
Quote:
contains a 470 ohm resistor in the din plug and a 220uf capacitor in the SCART on the csync line for correct 75 ohm sync attenuation.


Is it really necessary ? I don't use any caps and resistor in my bnc cable and it is working fine, no sync problem...

both the extron and the PVM are made to accept TTL sync, so an attenuating resistor is not needed

the coupling capacitor is recommended to help with some saturn model 2s that struggle to drive dc-coupled sync properly, but if you don't have a problem you don't need it


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:14 pm 



Joined: 09 Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Hello,
I recently changed my WiiDual install to send CSYNC to Data Pin 15. It was previously sent to Composite Video, and the three SMD components on the composite video line were removed per Dan's instructions (highlighted blue in this image: https://i.imgur.com/o9hXA7A.png).

I'd like to re-enable composite video by replacing the components, so was wondering if anyone knew what each one was.

Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 8:03 am 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1389
Does the Super Mario Sunshine 60FPS mod work on the original Nintendo GameCube hardware?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 7:33 pm 



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 121
Location: London
I am trying to feed my BVM A with my dreamcast.
Any recommendations for a vga to sdi scaler (720p)?

Best,


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 9:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12450
Location: Germany
Quote:
I am trying to feed my BVM A with my dreamcast.
Any recommendations for a vga to sdi scaler (720p)?

TVOne has a few, but I probably wouldn't go this way. If you get an Extron RGB-HDMI 300A (usually plenty available on ebay UK), you get a great VGA to HDMI scaler, which you can use to scale to 720p or 1080i and you then just add any cheap HDMI to SDI converter that just passes what it receives.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:05 pm 



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 121
Location: London
Thank you Fudoh.
Much appreciated!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 12:09 am 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 77
Aside from the Analogue DAC, can anyone recommend a decent digital to analog video converter? I'm looking to connect my Retro Freak, Super NT and Mega SG to my non-flat Sony consumer CRT (with composite/S-video inputs).

Would it be better to just use something like this?:
https://www.amazon.com/GANA-Composite-C ... 1QQ476DNST

or would I get better results with one of these?:
https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-HDM ... 1QQ476DNST
in combination with something like this:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=2509

Thanks in advance for the insight.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 2:47 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 861
Location: bmore
arrghus8 wrote:
Hello,
I recently changed my WiiDual install to send CSYNC to Data Pin 15. It was previously sent to Composite Video, and the three SMD components on the composite video line were removed per Dan's instructions (highlighted blue in this image: https://i.imgur.com/o9hXA7A.png).

I'd like to re-enable composite video by replacing the components, so was wondering if anyone knew what each one was.

Thanks!



I've asked this same question, but haven't found out yet. There is a WiiDual thread. You can try asking it there: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=61787&start=450

Some of the forum members actually work on Wiis regularly, so they should be able to tell you if they happen to see your comment.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:06 pm 



Joined: 09 Sep 2020
Posts: 3
Probably a better place to ask this than the other thread I tried, sorry. I have a V-Saturn that I'm trying to run directly into the VGA port of an Extron RGB-HDMI 300A, and I've made a cable that goes straight from the Saturn to the VGA port, using the Csync coming out of the Saturn. I have a picture, but I need to stretch the vertical display on the Extron to the max setting to have a good image (it seems to come in very squashed), it blinks out for a couple seconds about every 15 seconds (I haven't specifically timed it, I can do that if needed), and certain images have a really bad flicker, which I think is related to the frame rate being used, as it happens more with menus and FMVs than anything else. I don't have any resistors or caps on any lines, and my pinout is as follows:

1 - Red
2 - Green
3 - Blue
5, 6, 7, 8, 10 - Ground
13 - Csync

Is there a ground that should be attached, or that I'm missing? That's the main thing I can think of possibly being an issue, outside of something wrong with the Extron or the Saturn itself, but I doubt the Saturn has an issue. Is there anything I can do, or should I give up and save up for a Retrotink or OSSC?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:07 am 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 203
Best box/device for image resizing, i.e. for hardware with lots of cropping or overscan on their video output? Would an Extron VSC be overkill?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:19 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1815
ross wrote:
Best box/device for image resizing, i.e. for hardware with lots of cropping or overscan on their video output? Would an Extron VSC be overkill?


The VSC is a scan converter. I think you meant a Extron DSC 301 HD. Those are nice machines and affordable. There's good and bad with every machine, so make sure to do some research. Full disclosure: my 301 HD is in a box in the closet with some other even newer Extron gear. They're great machines, just not what I want right now.

I still prefer my DVDO. (That's just me, though.) The Extron has 4:4:4 processing, a better scaling engine, and better overall image quality. On the other hand, you'll surrender the DVDO's low latency and ability to process odd "out of spec" sync.

There's other options out there besides those two, but that depends on your budget and other needs.
_________________
We apologise for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:10 pm 



Joined: 18 Apr 2013
Posts: 121
Location: London
Hopefully, I am not mixing things.
I see few youtube videos in 240p. My intention was to watch them on my crt...Is there any console/media streamer which are able to do so or I am limited to 480i?
Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 861
Location: bmore
amaradona wrote:
Hopefully, I am not mixing things.
I see few youtube videos in 240p. My intention was to watch them on my crt...Is there any console/media streamer which are able to do so or I am limited to 480i?
Thanks!


A raspberry Pi can be setup to output 240p, but you can't use Xorg at that resolution, so you won't be able to get into a browser. There is a program called youtube-dl that you can set up to stream youtube videos from the command line, and I used to use that in conjunction with the programs mps-youtube (as a command-line based front-end) to search for and stream videos. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to get it to stream the last time I tried it. I can still use youtube-dl to download them and one of many video players to play them from the command line.

My guess with MPS-youtube is that it's been abandoned and the code is broken with newer versions of the OS, it probably is not worth trying that one. There may be some other way to do it, I'm not totally sure.

BTW, when you say 240p videos, I'm assuming you're talking about gameplay footage or something? Anything from a TV program would be 480i or 576i anyway, so you can just use something like an Extron VSC unit to interlace the output of a 1080p stream and it will look as good or better than the original broadcast (in my opinion).

I'm not specifically aware of a media streamer, but I would look into Kodi boxes for that kind of possibility. I would probably focus on something that you could use HDMI->VGA converter like the Tendak/Portta type device.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:31 pm 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 203
GojiFan90 wrote:
Aside from the Analogue DAC, can anyone recommend a decent digital to analog video converter? I'm looking to connect my Retro Freak, Super NT and Mega SG to my non-flat Sony consumer CRT (with composite/S-video inputs).

Would it be better to just use something like this?:
https://www.amazon.com/GANA-Composite-C ... 1QQ476DNST

or would I get better results with one of these?:
https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-HDM ... 1QQ476DNST
in combination with something like this:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=2509

Thanks in advance for the insight.

The latter is a passive cable adapter for composite or Y/C being sent over DE-15, as it says in the description. That AmazonBasics converter outputs an RGBHV signal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 583
Location: Europistan
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/233442833502

RARE VINTAGE RETROGAMING HEIRLOOM SCART SWITCH ONLY 139.99EUR BUY NOW! :roll:

Guess the few sellers that still had these ran out of new-old-stock. Should've bought a few more when they were 17EUR. Too bad, the manual/passive 7725 & 7723 are some of the best SCART switches out there with full compatibility and no loss of brightness/sharpness, noise etc.

Anybody planning to get their Bandridge graded by VGA? I bet a 9.8 CIB 7725 switch would fetch a pretty penny :D


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:51 pm 



Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 222
Are there any potential problems with doing a feedback from an output back to an input on a matrix switch?

Use case:
I have a Sony PVM with two sets of BNC inputs. I intend one set to be RGBS and the other to be Component.

Some of the content I have will be 240p/480i while others will be EDTV/HDTV. I have a VSC 900 to downscale the higher res stuff.

I have an 8x4 matrix switch. Here is how I am thinking it can be mapped:

INPUTS:
1. 240p/480i RGBS
2. 240p/480i Component
3. 480p+ Component
4. Downscaled 480p+ Component from VSC
5. 480p+ RGBHV
6. Downscaled 480p+ RGBHV from VSC

OUTPUTS:
1. 240p/480i RGBS to PVM
2. 240p/480i Component to PVM
3. Component to VSC
4. RGBHV to VSC

For high res component content, for example, it would go:

HI-RES COMPONENT CONTENT -> Input #3
Input #3 -> Output #3
VSC 900 -> Input #4
Input #4 -> Output #2
Output #2 -> PVM

Any problems with doing this feedback loop?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:51 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1156
SavagePencil wrote:
Are there any potential problems with doing a feedback from an output back to an input on a matrix switch?


Older setup diagram, but you'll have no problem with that. I've had like 12+ devices looped in and out of a Matrix switch - makes it SO easy since after initial setup you NEVER have to touch a wire ever again - just do all the routing through the matrix switcher itself.

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:13 am 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4188
Location: Québec City
Can someone quickly brief me on what gear I need, to send instructions via RS-232 port on my Extron MVX?


There's only one way to adjust audio output on it, and it's via RS-232.


The current (default) setting is ''pro'' (+10db) and that output level is too loud, it raises the noise floor and sounds inferior, probably cause it clips a bit in my consumer gear (an integrated amp) and this is probably meant for professional gear and application that expects higher output. I know because I A-B'ed that connection versus having the console plugged straight into my integrated. Going through the Extron sounds louder but going straight in definitely sounds better .

Reducing the gain on the input side doesn't help because it raises the noisefloor even more on top of that.


Any help would be appreciated. worst case I'll get a sepearate audio switcher but that'd kinda defeat the point of having the Extron MVX, a compact all-in-one unit...
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 1:29 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1359
any PC with a serial port should be fine, I updated an Extron scaler over RS-232 using some random vista box


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:59 am 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4188
Location: Québec City
Thanks Max!

wait I didn't even knew this was a plain jane serial port!

my potato of a main PC (rando 5yo desktop) actually has a serial port, I'll get a serial cable and give this a shot.

now I just need to figure out which application/piece of software to use to transmit code to the Extron, I'll go read that section of the manual in depth.
the SIS system looks not too complicated and I even found the code to enter, now it's just about figuring out if I need a piece of software to enter it
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2020 12:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4188
Location: Québec City
Hmmm... I haven't figured out how to type the SIS commands to the Extron (software to use etc)


Can someone registered on Extron site download for me the program named ''Matrix Switchers'' in the link below? It seems more user friendly, with a GUI and you just check or uncheck boxes.

https://www.extron.com/download/software.aspx?material=2&id=M
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2020 3:36 am 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1156
FinalBaton wrote:
Hmmm... I haven't figured out how to type the SIS commands to the Extron (software to use etc)
https://www.extron.com/download/software.aspx?material=2&id=M


For SIS commands, I want to say I found some apps for my ancient iPad 2 which would send the commands over my house network to my Extron Crosspoints. Might have been using the Linux based Terminal on my Mac though (it was so long ago I completely forget...). You can actually embed SIS commands within a HTML link as well some guy on Reddit found on some Extron documentation (I might have linked to it on my Extron Crosspoint touchscreen post here).

I'll PM you the software which might be what you're looking for (think I might have bundled it in the link in my aforementioned touchscreen post too). I'm pretty sure the MVX is the same software the Crosspoints use (the other newer version is for SMX era stuff I believe).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2020 8:12 am 



Joined: 03 Jul 2020
Posts: 50
Location: New Zealand
Does anyone know a good HDMI audio extractor that doesn't introduce any audio lag? I need one to use my headphones with my PS1 digital.

Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2020 10:45 am 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2015
Posts: 4188
Location: Québec City
Dochartaigh wrote:
For SIS commands, I want to say I found some apps for my ancient iPad 2 which would send the commands over my house network to my Extron Crosspoints. Might have been using the Linux based Terminal on my Mac though (it was so long ago I completely forget...). You can actually embed SIS commands within a HTML link as well some guy on Reddit found on some Extron documentation (I might have linked to it on my Extron Crosspoint touchscreen post here).

I'll PM you the software which might be what you're looking for (think I might have bundled it in the link in my aforementioned touchscreen post too). I'm pretty sure the MVX is the same software the Crosspoints use (the other newer version is for SMX era stuff I believe).

Hey! Thanks a ton man. I dowloaded that software bundle you sent via pm. That last one looks like it's the program I was talking about. I'll get a serial cable today and give this a go.


Maka8295 wrote:
Does anyone know a good HDMI audio extractor that doesn't introduce any audio lag? I need one to use my headphones with my PS1 digital.

Thanks!


I have this Monoprice one I bought 4 years ago and I don't remember it having any audio lag, neither through the ''HDMI out'' port nor through the other audio outs. If I find it again I could test it.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=10251

EDIT : nevermind,I just saw a review saying there's slight audio lag.
_________________
-FM Synth & Black Metal-


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8006 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 263, 264, 265, 266, 267  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ASDR, Gunstar, highzeth, lechu, qjkxbmwvz, Star1 and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group