shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Jun 06, 2020 7:22 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2627 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 ... 88  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Sep 2014
Posts: 1332
what made you think a 32:9 game would look good on a tiny screen?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2010
Posts: 1563
Location: East Coast USA
system11 wrote:
I'd still like to know the EU/UK PS4 price please.


Sony controls the prices in EU, so I can't be 100% on this, but based on Steam, it should be: PC: 49.99 USD, £29.99 or 45,99€, PS4: 59.99, ~£36, ~54€, Vita: 39.99, ~£24, ~36€. Hope that helps.

@Elixir: Keep in mind that there's also an entire other mode that displays in full screen (rather than letterboxed 32:9). It'll probably be a bit better if the letterboxing was bothering you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 7528
Location: 東京都杉並区
Immryr wrote:
what made you think a 32:9 game would look good on a tiny screen?

Pretty much this... Just play CS mode on the Vita anyways, which will actually be full screen.

I'm still getting the Vita ver anyways because I want that LE stuffs.
_________________
Image
@trap0xf | daifukkat.su/blog | scores | FIRE LANCER
<S.Yagawa> I like the challenge of "doing the impossible" with older hardware, and pushing it as far as it can go.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:58 pm 



Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 294
After playing AC mode on an 80 inch TV, I realized there was no way it would even be playable on the Vita. It definitely takes some getting used to regardless of what you're playing on.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 13 Dec 2014
Posts: 3505
Location: Ringing the bells of fortune
I'm not sure why you'd expect the game to look good on a screen it obviously wasn't designed for.
_________________
Image
NTSC-J: You know STGs are in trouble when you have threads on how to introduce them to a wider audience and get more people playing followed by threads on how to get its hardcore fan base to play them, too.
1CCs | Twitch | YouTube


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Sep 2014
Posts: 1332
an 80 inch TV? that's insane.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:40 am 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 2617
Location: Tokyo
Finally got to sit down for a while with my PS4 copy last night.

Did a quick 1cc of ADH with Gaiden on ACEX and then about 20 stages of Chronicle Mode. Definitely not disappointed. ACEX is an exact port of the arcade version, which is awesome for being able to practice some of the harder courses for use in the arcade. I was worried it would lose a lot of the epic feel without the ridiculous cabinet and body sonic, but actually with my 52 inch HDTV and sound system it's still pretty damn epic. I only wish they had used the controllers rumble feature to replicate the body sonic; really kind of a missed opportunity, but nothing major. As for screen size, it looks great on my 52 inch aside from text being way too small, but you are gonna need a magnifying glass to play it on Vita I think.

Image

As for Chronicle Mode, I was pretty blown away by it, especially the opening stage. That first stage and the brand new cinematic background really reminded me of the epic feel that G-Darius has going on. I'd like to see more of that. If there was one thing the Burst series lacked it was creative backgrounds, which is sad given how beautiful virtually every other title in the series is. CS gives you a lot more variety, but it's still based on AC content, so the opening stage doesn't really represent the whole unfortunately.

Gameplay though? It's there. So much content, and a pretty friendly difficulty curve. If ever there was a shmup that could satisfy both the hardcore and the mainstream crowd it was this one. Each stage is a gauntlet of a few stages/bosses with certain conditions. You are given a preset ship and power levels, but you can unlock and use whatever ship you please in time. The individual stages at least initially arent terribly difficult; I did about 20 of them and never once failed. But I have a feeling they are going to get a lot more intense as I progress further in. The thing that makes them easy primarily is that the early stages tend to start you with a high arm level, but pattern-wise they are the same as the arcade version.

I think actually, it's a good setup to teach you the game and boss strategies over time as you progress. You will fight the same bosses countless times, but with varying conditions that get more and more strict as you go. So yeah, its the same boss, but you are going to have to get a cleaner run with each new challenge. In a way it's an alternative to grinding practice mode, that actually makes you feel a sense of accomplishment and progression. Pretty genius stuff actually.

All in all I gotta say I think while it was probably a bad decision to price it so high, it's worth all of it if not more. In fact value for money-wise, I'm not sure any other shmup in my collection could compete with this. Darius has always been content heavy, and CS takes it to a whole new level. As for which version to get, I think the PS4 is great for the console gamers, while PC obviously has the dual screen advantage for the more extreme members among us. Vita is definitely good for CS mode, but I think it will be difficult to get much out of AC without a Vita TV. Probably best to consider the Vita version supplemental to one of the other two, best for people who desperately need some mecha-fish-porn on their daily commute (sign me up!).
_________________
<STG.1cc> 死ぬがよい <ACT.1cc>
Image Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:02 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2008
Posts: 1333
Location: Florida
Now on Steam butttt:

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:06 am 


User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2010
Posts: 1563
Location: East Coast USA
Ugh, there's a duplicate up. The builds have the exact same content, but one has artifact pricing. You want the one on top @ 40 USD.

In any case, DariusBurst CS is now live! Please enjoy playing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:07 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2008
Posts: 1333
Location: Florida
Blackbird wrote:
Ugh, there's a duplicate up. The builds have the exact same content, but one has artifact pricing. You want the one on top @ 40 USD.


Awesome. I posted it on Twitter as well for a heads up. Thanks! Buying now. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:18 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Sep 2014
Posts: 1332
I wish my pc would run this! maybe it's finally time to upgrade.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:45 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jun 2005
Posts: 5395
Location: New Zealand
Shepardus wrote:


This is pretty different from some guy fucking up a perfectly fine resolution and completely fucked up resolutions from the get-go.

Canvas sizing and snipping some of the screen might have worked, but as it is it's so small I wonder why they would even bother.
_________________
Image
twitter.com/shmups
discord.gg/shmups


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:59 am 



Joined: 19 Oct 2013
Posts: 554
Location: Riverside, CA
Anyone else having some serious issues with the PC version? It's running at something like 150-180% speed when compared to the footage I've seen of the PS4 version...

Edit: Quick reply from DegiGames says don't put your monitor above 60Hz refresh rate and that won't happen.

Double Edit: G-Sync must be off as well.


Last edited by DejahThoris on Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2014
Posts: 700
Location: Florida, Estados Unidos
Seems to running at the right speed for me.

Also, woo gettin those WORLD HIGH SCORES in Chronicle Mode Cabinet 11 because I guess no-one else has played yet. MUH NAME WILL BE REMEMBERED 4EBERZ Y'ALL.

ps: is there a tutorial or manual of any kind in this game? The little Japanese arcade panel things they show during load screens aren't quite enough for me.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:33 am 



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 7873
Just tried out DBCS on the USA region PS TV setup and it's recommended to set the resolution to 1080i for that tad bit of finer details when playing in AC mode. Have a trusty PS3 HRAP SA arcade stick hooked up to the PS TV for that proper arcade joystick layout/setup feel/vibe (using a Mayflash 360/PS3/PS2/PC/Vita controller adapter -- works like a charm without any lag issues at hand). Playing the Vita port of DBCS with a PS3 or PS4 Dual Shock controller on the PS TV micro-console just doesn't cut it with me -- a proper arcade stick is necessary in this day of age.

Was surprised to see how small it really is when playing DBCS (in AC Mode) on the 1st gen OLED based Vita handheld -- still impressive nevertheless running at 60fps arcade-spec framerate, indeed. Wow.

I see that the Steam version of DBCS is priced at $39.99 {good until 12/10/2015} a mere twenty bucks cheaper than the $59.99 priced PS4 port of the same name. The Steam DBCS d/l is at a whopping 1706mb upon purchasing it.

I did go ahead and order the JPN region Vita DBCS LE set through NCSX & still am looking forward to it.

PC Engine Fan X! ^_~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 2:54 am 



Joined: 10 Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Has anyone played the PS4 version using a PS360+ modded stick. I've tried forced PS3 mode (1p) and forced PS3 BC mode (1p and 2p) and neither work unlike in Ulta SF4 where both work perfectly.

Would prefer to use an arcade stick but there's no way I'm spending a couple hundred for a new PS4 arcade stick.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:12 am 



Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 294
I think I'm going to just take the plunge and order a Hori Real Arcade Pro VLX for the PS4. I have one for the PS3 and it's basically the best arcade stick I've ever used. Hard to justify it for one game buuuut I suppose I can use it on Steam as well...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:20 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Jan 2005
Posts: 7293
Location: England
I play the PS4 version using an X360 Hori VLX and a CronusMAX Plus adapter. Aside from requiring a USB hub to implement Cross-Over Authentication, it works a treat.
http://cronusmax.com/

I've been unlocking some of the new planets in Chronicle Mode on Cabinet 0011. If you want to assist, aim straight for the red map nodes, which will unlock further planets when cleared - unless they have a "One Credit Clear" restriction, you can continue in them to clear them, but it only registers your score from the first credit.

Image
_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:56 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2008
Posts: 1333
Location: Florida
I'm Cabinet 0001 on PC version. Been spiting my time between CS and AC mode. So far good stuff.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:02 am 


User avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2014
Posts: 700
Location: Florida, Estados Unidos
You can change your cabinet in the options menu, if you want to join the rest of us!

Also, I gotta admit, cutting through swaths of popcorn enemies with your laser weapons is a lot more fun than I expected!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:27 am 


User avatar

Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 1201
Location: AZ, US
Fixed Burst is even more key for survival than I realized. But man, it's fun. Loving this.
_________________
Image
twitch | twitter | youtube | scores


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:54 am 



Joined: 03 Nov 2013
Posts: 110
DejahThoris wrote:
Anyone else having some serious issues with the PC version? It's running at something like 150-180% speed when compared to the footage I've seen of the PS4 version...

Edit: Quick reply from DegiGames says don't put your monitor above 60Hz refresh rate and that won't happen.

Double Edit: G-Sync must be off as well.


I get really offended when game companies come back with bullshit like that. No, I'm not changing my desktop refresh rate because your crappy game was poorly made. Is this a joke? Sorry, but these Japanese developers just don't know how to write good software. They're so used to making garbage for fixed platforms that concepts such as resolution and framerate independence are completely foreign to them. It's laughable. PC gaming is the big leagues. It's not for amateur programmers who don't even know how to separate game logic from the speed a computer runs at. If they're going to keep putting out crap like this, I'd rather they just not bother and keep it on the consoles.

Update: Apparently the game's resolutions are hardcoded, too. You can't run it above 1920x1080p. Fuck Japanese developers are their awfully programmed PC games. They need to bug off.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:12 am 


User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2010
Posts: 1563
Location: East Coast USA
DBCS will run in resolutions up to 3440 x 1440, but it only displays those resolution options if your monitor is large enough. For example, it won't show 4K if your monitor only supports 1920 x 1080p.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:18 am 



Joined: 03 Nov 2013
Posts: 110
Blackbird wrote:
DBCS will run in resolutions up to 3440 x 1440, but it only displays those resolution options if your monitor is large enough. For example, it won't show 4K if your monitor only supports 1920 x 1080p.


It doesn't run at 2560x1440. It's absolutely inexcusable given that 1440p is a pretty common resolution.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:30 am 



Joined: 08 Oct 2014
Posts: 72
I have a small gripe with pc version: when i have both keyboard and gamepad connected, kb player automatically becomes p2 and when i push escape it shows menu but nothing on keyboard works in it, i need to use gamepad to navigate and select. I don't really want to unplug gamepad any time i launch the game. Also please make it possible to bind controls on numpad keys. Quick restart feature will be nice too.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:34 am 



Joined: 02 Feb 2011
Posts: 61
Seems pretty fun so far.

Really could use a tutorial, or at least a paragraph or two explaining what is going on outside of the whole "shoot enemies and don't get shot" thing. Seems to be a multiplier, 3 different stats, multiple burst modes, and a number of pickups available.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:46 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 7528
Location: 東京都杉並区
bulbousbeard wrote:
I get really offended when game companies come back with bullshit like that. No, I'm not changing my desktop refresh rate because your crappy game was poorly made. Is this a joke? Sorry, but these Japanese developers just don't know how to write good software. They're so used to making garbage for fixed platforms that concepts such as resolution and framerate independence are completely foreign to them. It's laughable. PC gaming is the big leagues. It's not for amateur programmers who don't even know how to separate game logic from the speed a computer runs at. If they're going to keep putting out crap like this, I'd rather they just not bother and keep it on the consoles.

Update: Apparently the game's resolutions are hardcoded, too. You can't run it above 1920x1080p. Fuck Japanese developers are their awfully programmed PC games. They need to bug off.

Could you be more buttmad and/or entitled?
_________________
Image
@trap0xf | daifukkat.su/blog | scores | FIRE LANCER
<S.Yagawa> I like the challenge of "doing the impossible" with older hardware, and pushing it as far as it can go.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:54 am 



Joined: 03 Nov 2013
Posts: 110
And the PC version is even worse than I thought.

You can't even map all 4 players to unique keys on the keyboard.

If I wanted to build a dual screen arcade cabinet driven by a computer with controls handled by some keyboard encoder, I couldn't even use it with this game without using some shitty XInput emulator or some other garbage.

This is nothing new. Why does EVERY PC game from Japan have the same problems? Why can't basic shit be implemented in a way that doesn't make users want to throw PCs out of their windows?

Just ridiculous.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 5:55 am 



Joined: 03 Nov 2013
Posts: 110
trap15 wrote:
bulbousbeard wrote:
I get really offended when game companies come back with bullshit like that. No, I'm not changing my desktop refresh rate because your crappy game was poorly made. Is this a joke? Sorry, but these Japanese developers just don't know how to write good software. They're so used to making garbage for fixed platforms that concepts such as resolution and framerate independence are completely foreign to them. It's laughable. PC gaming is the big leagues. It's not for amateur programmers who don't even know how to separate game logic from the speed a computer runs at. If they're going to keep putting out crap like this, I'd rather they just not bother and keep it on the consoles.

Update: Apparently the game's resolutions are hardcoded, too. You can't run it above 1920x1080p. Fuck Japanese developers are their awfully programmed PC games. They need to bug off.

Could you be more buttmad and/or entitled?


For the outrageous price of this game (full price for what's essentially a budget indie title with Dreamcast quality textures), I am entitled to basic resolution, refresh rate, and input support.

Thanks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DARIUS BURST CHRONICLE SAVIOURS (STEAM/PS4/Vita)
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 6:01 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 2269
vector7 wrote:
I have a small gripe with pc version: when i have both keyboard and gamepad connected, kb player automatically becomes p2 and when i push escape it shows menu but nothing on keyboard works in it, i need to use gamepad to navigate and select. I don't really want to unplug gamepad any time i launch the game. Also please make it possible to bind controls on numpad keys. Quick restart feature will be nice too.


My Hori Real Arcade Pro 3 controller gets assigned to Player 2, which is OK in AC mode but not so for CS. That's because you cannot play CS mode from the Player 2 controller. A gamepad is plugged in as well, and that one is the Player 1 controller.

@bulbousbeard: Actually, resolutions over 1200p CAN be used. If you have a 4K monitor or Nvidia DSR is enabled (I do) then you will see them in the launcher menu.
_________________
Kinect? KIN NOT.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2627 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 ... 88  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Plasmo and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group