shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:23 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7973 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 262, 263, 264, 265, 266  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:29 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1327
Afaik none of the card games used the FM synth. 3d glasses is a dumb gimmick imo


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 12:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 63
The SNES scart cables from Insurrection Industries, do they work on PAL GameCubes?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 12:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 575
Mantis128 wrote:
The SNES scart cables from Insurrection Industries, do they work on PAL GameCubes?


No, csync cables do not work on PAL GameCube.. in fact it can be dangerous for your equipment as the csync pin is wired to 12V. You need either a dedicated PAL GC (ideally) or PAL SNES RGB cable, wired for composite video as sync.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:54 pm 



Joined: 18 Oct 2015
Posts: 30
A year or so ago, my BVM would occasionally make an electric 'clicking' sound, accompanied by a 'blinking' of the picture briefly dropping out and in again for a micro-second. Just one or two clicks every few weeks - so it was nigh impossible to locate the exact source with all of the lights off staring stubbornly into the back of the monitor. The advice I got at the time was that the flyback was probably arcing and on it's way out - but I wanted to explore other less dramatic potentials. When I opened it up, everything inside was filthy. Absolutely caked in dust. I cleaned as much dust and grime as I could and haven't heard a click since.

However, I've never actually questioned why exactly cleaning the dust removed the clicking/blinking issue and would love some insight into what was transpiring under the hood. I'm also curious as to whether it's worth diagnosing if any components in the back were damaged by the build up of dust. Is there anything in particular I should look for? Burn marks or soot in the wrong places?

Cheers!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 3:33 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1380
ApolloBoy wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
So the sound chip expansion is exclusive to the Mark III (Japanese Master System) and not the US Master System, Genesis or Mega Drive? Can the sound chip be modded into the Genesis? What about flashcarts?

Yes, it was only released as an add-on for the Mark III and was built into the Japanese SMS. Tim Worthington has an FM expansion board for the SMS which can theoretically be added to a Genesis/Mega Drive, but the better choice is just to play SMS games on a Mega Everdrive X7 or Pro, or a Mega SD (all of which emulate the YM2413). The Mega Sg also simulates the YM2413 but it's not totally accurate.

Thank you, along with everyone else who commented. I think I'll just stick with the Genesis for now.

Does Retro Access ever have any sales on their cables, such as Black Friday? I've been thinking about holding off purchasing until then if they do.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:18 pm 



Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Posts: 76
What is the best product for removing scratches from glossy plastic consoles/controllers (i.e. PS3, Wii U etc.)? Plastic polish is usually suggested but any brand in particular? Would PlastX (Meguiar's) work?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 2415
Location: Eating the Rich
So this came up from a user on another site. Is there a reason why the SNES wouldn't display properly on a portable DVD player? The same player displayed N64 and Gamecube fine.
_________________
New best thread on shmups farm forum. BIGWOW. Such deleted posts, many scrubs, so opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:19 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1823
Steamflogger Boss wrote:
So this came up from a user on another site. Is there a reason why the SNES wouldn't display properly on a portable DVD player? The same player displayed N64 and Gamecube fine.

Could it be the SNES's well-known sync jitter issue? How is it not displaying "properly"?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2017
Posts: 2415
Location: Eating the Rich
nmalinoski wrote:
Steamflogger Boss wrote:
So this came up from a user on another site. Is there a reason why the SNES wouldn't display properly on a portable DVD player? The same player displayed N64 and Gamecube fine.

Could it be the SNES's well-known sync jitter issue? How is it not displaying "properly"?


They said "(Screen doesn't change at all when turned on, no snow, nothing)".
_________________
New best thread on shmups farm forum. BIGWOW. Such deleted posts, many scrubs, so opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:46 am 



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 167
I am seeing significant quality loss when connecting three 3 metre cables together from an extron to an OSSC, and I think the problem lies with the SCART couplers I bought.
If I take the coupler away and use one 3m cable from the extron to the OSSC, the quality is vastly improved.
Is it possible that the couplers I bought are just trash? But IDK in what way could they be bad. Is it possible they are wired for composite instead of RGB?
If you want a description of how bad it looks, adding couplers to the mix causes colours to become darker and blurrier, less varying. Also text (especially white) leave these streaks to the right (kind of like a ghost effect or something). It just looks bad.
If you guys have better ideas on how to extend three 3m scart cables I am all ears. This is my only option to get the extron to go to the OSSC. Maybe I just need to make sure to buy couplers wired for RGB instead?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 9:46 am 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 322
Location: Sweden
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
Is it possible they are wired for composite instead of RGB?

No, they are definitely RGB, otherwise the OSSC wouldn’t work at all.

A more general advice would be to avoid such excessive SCART cable lengths. Put the OSSC closer to the extron and then use longer HDMI cable instead.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 1:31 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 167
Harrumph wrote:
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
Is it possible they are wired for composite instead of RGB?

No, they are definitely RGB, otherwise the OSSC wouldn’t work at all.

A more general advice would be to avoid such excessive SCART cable lengths. Put the OSSC closer to the extron and then use longer HDMI cable instead.

there's got to be a way to use a 9 or 10m cable. I simply can't have the OSSC any closer than it is now.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 1:37 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 525
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
there's got to be a way to use a 9 or 10m cable. I simply can't have the OSSC any closer than it is now.


Why though? Even a well shielded cable would struggle with loss over 30ft!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 2:06 pm 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 637
ldeveraux wrote:
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
there's got to be a way to use a 9 or 10m cable. I simply can't have the OSSC any closer than it is now.


Why though? Even a well shielded cable would struggle with loss over 30ft!


Yeah, that's just physics... You're going to need active repeaters if you want to go that long. Heck, even some digital signals (HDMI, USB) don't work well at those distances.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 2:35 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 167
Maybe, from the extron I should try transcoding SCART RGB to component ypbpr? Maybe long component cables do not suffer the same degradation that scart does. Thoughts?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 819
Location: bmore
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
Maybe, from the extron I should try transcoding SCART RGB to component ypbpr? Maybe long component cables do not suffer the same degradation that scart does. Thoughts?


To answer your first question, yes the couplers could be making a difference. It all depends on whether or not you are adding resistance to the cable assembly and you probably are. By using lots of connectors and also having a long cable run, you are pushing the limits of your bandwidth and signal degradation is more likely to occur under those conditions; I would expect it.

As to whether component is going to have a longer run than RGB, I can't imagine it making a huge difference.

For that long of a run to have any chance to succeed, you'll have to get cables made to tighter tolerances, and that's also assuming you aren't adding too much resistance with whatever extra devices are in your signal path.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:59 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1823
Harrumph wrote:
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
Is it possible they are wired for composite instead of RGB?

No, they are definitely RGB, otherwise the OSSC wouldn’t work at all.

I think, in that instance, the OSSC would get sync, but the image would be all black, because the R, G, and B lines would be disconnected.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 4:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2008
Posts: 148
Location: The Netherlands
What would be the best option to play retro consoles on an OLED? OSCC or something other? New versions? I've been out of the loop for a year.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 4:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1327
COAX cables will do fine at that length

preferably RG-59 or RG-6


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 4:36 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1823
Magicalbottle wrote:
What would be the best option to play retro consoles on an OLED? OSCC or something other? New versions? I've been out of the loop for a year.

OSSC, generally. If you need composite or S-Video, grab a Koryuu or some form of RT2X, too.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 4:55 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 525
thebigcheese wrote:
ldeveraux wrote:
MidOrFeed2015 wrote:
there's got to be a way to use a 9 or 10m cable. I simply can't have the OSSC any closer than it is now.


Why though? Even a well shielded cable would struggle with loss over 30ft!


Yeah, that's just physics... You're going to need active repeaters if you want to go that long. Heck, even some digital signals (HDMI, USB) don't work well at those distances.


Also, I'm trying to wrap my head around how a 30ft cable span works in a room. Presumably the consoles would be within controller cable's length of the TV, else you couldn't play (unless you went that crazy universal wireless controller route that one guy did). Unless you put a receiver that far away, but you'd still probably want the HDMI-v to go directly to the TV. I'd love to see a diagram or room map!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:40 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1823
ldeveraux wrote:
Also, I'm trying to wrap my head around how a 30ft cable span works in a room. Presumably the consoles would be within controller cable's length of the TV, else you couldn't play (unless you went that crazy universal wireless controller route that one guy did). Unless you put a receiver that far away, but you'd still probably want the HDMI-v to go directly to the TV. I'd love to see a diagram or room map!

At my last place, I used a 20ft active HDMI cable to connect my receiver to my TV because of the layout of the living room. The front of the living room was covered in homemade wooden shelving (previous owner must've put it in), and had a large shelf in the middle large enough for a 36"/38" CRT, but, unfortunately for me, none of the shelves were deep enough for my receiver or any of my consoles. The single entrance was at the front-left of the room, the right-hand side had two windows on either side of a steam radiator, and the couch was along the rear wall.

Since the only free space available was along the left-hand wall, I ended up putting the glass TV stand that I had (which I was using at the next-to-last place) there and used it for my receiver and my entire console setup. Since I then had to run cables across the entryway (under the floor was possible, but I wouldn't have wanted to make anything more than one or two small holes; and running cables around the outer perimeter was impractical), I bought a stiff rubber cable raceway meant for flooring. That carried 5 speaker wire runs (bi-amped fronts, center), network (switch to wire in AVR, PS2, Xbox, PS3, two Xbox 360s, Steam Link), and HDMI.

That setup worked well for the time I was living there.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 7:10 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 525
nmalinoski wrote:
ldeveraux wrote:
Also, I'm trying to wrap my head around how a 30ft cable span works in a room. Presumably the consoles would be within controller cable's length of the TV, else you couldn't play (unless you went that crazy universal wireless controller route that one guy did). Unless you put a receiver that far away, but you'd still probably want the HDMI-v to go directly to the TV. I'd love to see a diagram or room map!

At my last place, I used a 20ft active HDMI cable to connect my receiver to my TV because of the layout of the living room. The front of the living room was covered in homemade wooden shelving (previous owner must've put it in), and had a large shelf in the middle large enough for a 36"/38" CRT, but, unfortunately for me, none of the shelves were deep enough for my receiver or any of my consoles. The single entrance was at the front-left of the room, the right-hand side had two windows on either side of a steam radiator, and the couch was along the rear wall.

Since the only free space available was along the left-hand wall, I ended up putting the glass TV stand that I had (which I was using at the next-to-last place) there and used it for my receiver and my entire console setup. Since I then had to run cables across the entryway (under the floor was possible, but I wouldn't have wanted to make anything more than one or two small holes; and running cables around the outer perimeter was impractical), I bought a stiff rubber cable raceway meant for flooring. That carried 5 speaker wire runs (bi-amped fronts, center), network (switch to wire in AVR, PS2, Xbox, PS3, two Xbox 360s, Steam Link), and HDMI.

That setup worked well for the time I was living there.


But you at least took what's probably considered the correct route. You made the span with digital technology where the chance for loss was less. The dude here wants to span the analog SCART cable which, from what I've read, isn't the right way to solve that problem.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 3:45 pm 



Joined: 13 Aug 2018
Posts: 23
Does anyone know if Retro Gaming Cables' Dreamcast Packapunch cable is compatible with the BKM-68X?

https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/seg ... -480P-MODE


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:51 pm 



Joined: 14 Oct 2016
Posts: 30
Remistewart wrote:
A year or so ago, my BVM would occasionally make an electric 'clicking' sound, accompanied by a 'blinking' of the picture briefly dropping out and in again for a micro-second. Just one or two clicks every few weeks - so it was nigh impossible to locate the exact source with all of the lights off staring stubbornly into the back of the monitor. The advice I got at the time was that the flyback was probably arcing and on it's way out - but I wanted to explore other less dramatic potentials. When I opened it up, everything inside was filthy. Absolutely caked in dust. I cleaned as much dust and grime as I could and haven't heard a click since.

However, I've never actually questioned why exactly cleaning the dust removed the clicking/blinking issue and would love some insight into what was transpiring under the hood. I'm also curious as to whether it's worth diagnosing if any components in the back were damaged by the build up of dust. Is there anything in particular I should look for? Burn marks or soot in the wrong places?

Cheers!


The insulation of the flyback, the HV wire, or the anode cup isn’t what it used to be, and this could simply be a result of age. Thoroughly cleaning out the dust helps to remove the conductive pathway the high voltage can follow, which was causing the arcing.

If it comes back again: I don’t know if you already have, but I would also clean the underside of the anode cup and apply some dielectric grease to it (you’d obviously have to discharge the tube). There are plenty of videos on all of this.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:56 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2015
Posts: 167
ldeveraux wrote:
nmalinoski wrote:
ldeveraux wrote:
Also, I'm trying to wrap my head around how a 30ft cable span works in a room. Presumably the consoles would be within controller cable's length of the TV, else you couldn't play (unless you went that crazy universal wireless controller route that one guy did). Unless you put a receiver that far away, but you'd still probably want the HDMI-v to go directly to the TV. I'd love to see a diagram or room map!

At my last place, I used a 20ft active HDMI cable to connect my receiver to my TV because of the layout of the living room. The front of the living room was covered in homemade wooden shelving (previous owner must've put it in), and had a large shelf in the middle large enough for a 36"/38" CRT, but, unfortunately for me, none of the shelves were deep enough for my receiver or any of my consoles. The single entrance was at the front-left of the room, the right-hand side had two windows on either side of a steam radiator, and the couch was along the rear wall.

Since the only free space available was along the left-hand wall, I ended up putting the glass TV stand that I had (which I was using at the next-to-last place) there and used it for my receiver and my entire console setup. Since I then had to run cables across the entryway (under the floor was possible, but I wouldn't have wanted to make anything more than one or two small holes; and running cables around the outer perimeter was impractical), I bought a stiff rubber cable raceway meant for flooring. That carried 5 speaker wire runs (bi-amped fronts, center), network (switch to wire in AVR, PS2, Xbox, PS3, two Xbox 360s, Steam Link), and HDMI.

That setup worked well for the time I was living there.


But you at least took what's probably considered the correct route. You made the span with digital technology where the chance for loss was less. The dude here wants to span the analog SCART cable which, from what I've read, isn't the right way to solve that problem.


alas I have come up with a new idea. I will use a 30FT HDMI cable and a short SCART cable from the extron, rather than a 3FT HDMI cable and 30FT SCART cable.

EDIT: I now know the path I must take. I have tried a spare 30FT HDMI cable I had lying around and the image is astoundingly superior.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 7:14 am 



Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 296
Is there any kind of hardware that combines 2 or more video sources together on the same screen?

Some arcade games were run with multiple monitors together with mirrors to create that ultra widescreen effect. I've found the datapath x4, but that's clearly the opposite of what I'm after.
_________________
I am not an alcoholic, I'm Drunk! Alcoholics go to AA meetings.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:46 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12419
Location: Germany
Quote:
Is there any kind of hardware that combines 2 or more video sources together on the same screen?

yes, these are usually called multi-view processors.

Extron or TVOne had some available. We recently had a thread, where somebody wanted to combine two sources on one screen, but most of these processors offer four inputs. You just need to find something that accepts the KIND OF SIGNALS you want to use, otherwise it can get expensive when you need multiple line doublers as well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 12:15 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1145
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Is there any kind of hardware that combines 2 or more video sources together on the same screen?

yes, these are usually called multi-view processors.

Extron or TVOne had some available. We recently had a thread, where somebody wanted to combine two sources on one screen, but most of these processors offer four inputs. You just need to find something that accepts the KIND OF SIGNALS you want to use, otherwise it can get expensive when you need multiple line doublers as well.


I have the TVOne C2-6104A Multiviewer which will take in 4x YpbPr/RGBS/etc in (along with pretty much everything up to 1080p, and even 2048x2048 PC signals) and put those 4 signals on a single 1080p flatscreen, but I've never done a custom config to have 2x only side by side (think it's possible - has Windows software which still runs on Windows 10 if my memory serves). Never really messed with mine much as I don't like the Corio's 240p upscaling (just because the OSSC does it better to my eyes) -- we mostly use them for downscaling.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 12:16 am 



Joined: 04 May 2018
Posts: 18
Can anyone tell me what this rumored external Wii HDMI mod is called? I only know of WiiDual and it's successor WiiDigital.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7973 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 262, 263, 264, 265, 266  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobrocks95, Google [Bot], Gunstar, Ryoandr, sprak74 and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group