Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

I have a Raiden Fighters 2 Seibu SPI board. When it boots, I get a 'checksum error 6561' error.

Any idea how to fix this, or what's wrong? It seems it might be a region issue.

I checked the last byte of the PRG0 ROM, and it was the Japanese version code. I changed this to 10 for the US, and the error message changed to English, but nothing else changed. I tried both settings on JP121 jumper (the 'update' jumper).

Here's some pics - https://photos.app.goo.gl/4x8WjlCluYs1Ojo22
Last edited by hackbar on Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

Hmm, embedding right from Google Photos didn't work. Fixed, I think.
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

Ok, now the photos are fixed.
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

Thanks for the pictures!

Have you got a complete dump of the cart you can share ?

Also did this cart ever work or did you buy it untested ?
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

I've never seen the board nor cart work. I just bought it untested. I don't have another Seibu board to test.

I dumped the 4 prg roms, and they matched the MAME rdft2j set. Are the other roms included in the checksum?

I swapped the last byte in PRG0 to the US byte (0x10 I think). I did notice the actual US set on MAME was different. Is that due to English text? Should what I did work?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

Thank you for the info.

The checksum error means that your cart region is not the same as the motherboard.

Your motherboard looks like it came from asia.

Try setting the region byte to 0x22
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

Nope, same behavior with 0x22.

Is the checksum error really a region error? There's no way it's a bad ROM? What all ROMs are in the checksum?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:Nope, same behavior with 0x22.

Is the checksum error really a region error? There's no way it's a bad ROM? What all ROMs are in the checksum?
It is a region error :)

Image

Try: 0x24 :D
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
jd213
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:03 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by jd213 »

Recently got an SPI mobo and a couple games myself. Got really scared for a while, since Raiden Fighters Jet was the only game that didn't work on it, but I figured it out eventually: the idiot seller sent me a Raiden Fighters Jet with the case installed upside-down (in hindsight, that's probably why I had such trouble getting it onto the mobo). Granted, I should have noticed that the labels on the chips visible through the vents were upside down compared to the game label, and Seibu probably shouldn't have designed the case or game PCBs so that they can be installed upside-down...

Anyway, I doubt any of this applies to these checksum errors, I just wanted to rant a bit.

I also was initially confused when my PVM showed 576i and displayed the games with huge black borders on all sides, but then I remembered that some arcade games have weird refresh rates, and sure enough the Seibu games use 54 or 55hz or something like that, which I assume makes my PVM think it's receiving a PAL signal, and it adds borders to make up for the difference in resolution between NTSC and PAL. But no big deal as I can just hit the Overscan button to zoom in.
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

0x24 gives the same error. Should I just try every region?

The cartridge is keyed, so I'm not putting it in backwards. Even if the top cover was on wrong, you can't insert it backwards.
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:0x24 gives the same error. Should I just try every region?.
We know that your cart is most likely working so, yeah you have to try the regions.

The sticker on your motherboard reminds of the stickers Excellent.com would put on their PCBs.

I would start with these:

0x20 Taiwan
0x22 Asia / Hong Kong (Done)
0x24 Korea (Done)
0x28 China
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

I tried all the regions MAME knows about, and they all give the same error (although the japanese one has japanese text).

To confirm, what I'm doing is:
- dump prg0 (which matches prg0.sei in the MAME romset)
- change the last byte to a new country code

This is correct, right? There's not anything else I need to do?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:I tried all the regions MAME knows about, and they all give the same error (although the japanese one has japanese text).

To confirm, what I'm doing is:
- dump prg0 (which matches prg0.sei in the MAME romset)
- change the last byte to a new country code

This is correct, right? There's not anything else I need to do?
You are doing it right.

Try region 0x00 and 0xff as well.

If you have the tools you could desolder the FLASH chip and take a look at the byte ?
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

I don't have the tools to desolder it, but I know people who can. Which chip?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:I don't have the tools to desolder it, but I know people who can. Which chip?
Desolder u1053, look at the first byte.

Or change first byte to whatever you want :D
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

It's region 0x00.

What's up with that? Is it a pirate thing? That' not listed as a legion in MAME.
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:It's region 0x00.

What's up with that? Is it a pirate thing? That' not listed as a legion in MAME.
Nice work, please snap a picture of the title screen and share it here. Where it says licensed to.

Regions 0x00 and 0xff are special ...
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

Well, now I have a separate problem.

The game boots and plays the rippin music, but complains that the JP1 jumper is wrong, or on a newer board like mine, 12v is bad.

I tried both positions of JP121, and with the jumper removed, and there was no change

I checked 12v and it's fine. What's it looking for? Bad flash chip?

I put a picture in https://photos.app.goo.gl/4x8WjlCluYs1Ojo22 .
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

The jumper on the motherboard you have: SSXD 2.1 only selects between MONO and STEREO.

On the SSXD 2.1 there is no programming jumper.

https://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/w/Seibu_SPI_system

The software i.e. the program ROMs might be too old for this motherboard so it does not recognize the SSXD 2.1 PCB.
Maybe try burning the newest version from MAME into PRG 0,1,2,3 and changing the region byte ?
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

What is the newest version? Do you have the hashes, or a link to the ROM_START block in MAME code?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:What is the newest version? Do you have the hashes, or a link to the ROM_START block in MAME code?

Code: Select all

prg0.tun  524288 CRC(3cb3fdca)
prg1.bin  524288 CRC(cab55d88)
prg2.bin  524288 CRC(83758b0e)
prg3.bin  524288 CRC(084fb5e4)
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

That's "rdft2", which is what I flashed. It's the same as "rdft2j", but with the region byte changed.

Also the error message specifically mentions SXX2D, which is the rev board I have.
Last edited by hackbar on Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:That's "rdft2", which is what I flashed. It's the same as "rdft2j", but with the region byte changed.

Also the error message specifically mentions SXX2D, which is the rev board I have.
It looks like your motherboard is defective.

I would try to find someone close to you which also has an SPI setup and try your cart on their motherboard. And then try one of their carts on your motherboard to rule out where the problem lies.

Also inspect the PCB for any broken tracks or damage.

Did you measure your 12V when the game was connected ?

I did a test on MAME last night and region 0 results in "SAMPLE VERSION" shown as the region.
Last edited by rtw on Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

12v is fine. Where are the schematics for this board?
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

Also, what is the significance of region 0? What is it used for?

I'm suspicious of the flash chip on my board. If it's defective and reading all 0s, this would match the region 0 cart. I'm guessing it would also fail to flash in this situation?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:Also, what is the significance of region 0? What is it used for?

I'm suspicious of the flash chip on my board. If it's defective and reading all 0s, this would match the region 0 cart. I'm guessing it would also fail to flash in this situation?
I told you earlier 0 = SAMPLE VERSION

If the FLASH is bad it will contain 0xff after an erase.

There are no schematics.
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

What does SAMPLE VERSION mean?
User avatar
rtw
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:46 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by rtw »

hackbar wrote:What does SAMPLE VERSION mean?
Most likely it was given out to distributors to be displayed at trade shows etc.
Or the version had only a few levels used on a location test, that sort of thing.
http://world-of-arcades.net
The future of ST-V rests upon our work and your work
hackbar
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by hackbar »

I fixed the board, it was a bad flash chip.

That makes sense - the bad chip read 0x00 as a region code, and wouldn't let the board be flashed.
User avatar
trap15
Posts: 7835
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 4:13 am
Location: 東京都杉並区
Contact:

Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"

Post by trap15 »

Today I've released a patch that will allow you to restore your motherboard to the original region (or whatever region you want, really). I made it because I had this exact same problem, hopefully less people will have to deal with it.

https://bitbucket.org/trap15/spi_revive/

For what it's worth "checksum error" and "hardware error" both mean the region/game ID is corrupt. One means the region doesn't match, the other means the power was turned off in the middle of update and the region and/or game ID have been corrupted (I forget which is which).
@trap0xf | daifukkat.su/blog | scores | FIRE LANCER
<S.Yagawa> I like the challenge of "doing the impossible" with older hardware, and pushing it as far as it can go.
Post Reply