First time teaching a class today. Please kill me.

A place where you can chat about anything that isn't to do with games!
Xyga

First time teaching a class today. Please kill me.

Post by Xyga »

I'm not a licenced teacher nor ever received any training for this, but the job center called me to fill in for a sick English teacher (we're in France btw. Yeah, this is how much we care about our kid's emdumacshion: even a sucker like me can replace a genuine teacher)

I took it because I was curious and needed the money, the Head seemed happy to see me and not bothered with the fact that I have no experience.
(not confirmed but apparently the regular teach's either in the middle of a nervous breakdown or cancer)

Okay so they gave me two Y7(6thGr) and two Y9(8thGr)... started with the 6th graders this morning, and even though they weren't the most tame you could imagine - had to hush-shush'em every 10~15 minutes or so, we're in 2016 after all - they were still manageable and we could get to the end of that poetry bit.

Ended the day with another 6thGr class whow were all just adorable and asked me to become a 'resident' for good. Yeah kids can be cute. <3

The problem ? The two 8thGr classes I had in between ... ... ... :shock: :shock: :shock:

HOLY. FUCKING. SHIT.

I mean; I've been to school and experienced 'difficult' classes, I even dare say when I was their age I sometimes contributed to the commotion or disruption.
Society more or less knows how troublesome teenagers can be before they only have sex on their minds (and usually settle by turning emo).
Just to confirm; we're talking about 13~14 year olds here, I've been one, I've seen and heard them, that was during the 90's. Okay.

But the ones I've had in front of me today ? Never seen any like those. A bunch of psychopaths. Apparently with zero respect neither for age, status, condition (most of them mocked the class's only handicapped kid), or role and authority.