my Cab keeps crashing all of a sudden

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
nash87

my Cab keeps crashing all of a sudden

Post by nash87 »

first off the cab is not related to shmupping as it is a pump it up machine, so if this thread is deemed off topic then someone just plaese go ahead and move/lock/delete it.

I've had this pump it up machine for 3 days now and today it just started crashing, 4 times in under an hour. so i sadly turned it off. It's an NX song mix in a GX cabinet. what i mean by crashing is that it does 1 of 2 things. it either...

1. just stops completely and goes to a still static ish looking screen that's got a lot of green on it or

2. the audio and video go way off sync to the point where you can't tell what at all is going on and then usually goes into the still static screen again.

I'm a noob at hardware. if anyone thinks they know of a simple possible solution to this please go ahead and shoot it out there. I'm in debt as it is for getting this and really don't want to look into hiring a tech or something and going broke

and again sorry for this not being shmup related what so ever
GaijinPunch wrote:Someone PM me when we have to play w/ the stick up our asses.
"shrimps in my eyes! I cannot see!"
XBLA: h8erfisternator
nash87

Re: my Cab keeps crashing all of a sudden

Post by nash87 »

turns out it will only crash if i play "join the party"

weird
Ex-Cyber

Post by Ex-Cyber »

Sounds like a dying hard drive to me. I've seen a failure mode like this on a PC; accessing a specific area of the drive would make it go offline for a bit, and the OS would sometimes start freezing up, failing to display widgets, or otherwise acting funny.
nash87

Post by nash87 »

seems to be getting worse, won't stay on for more than few seconds after booting now.
Ex-Cyber

Post by Ex-Cyber »

Okay, that puts a dent in my hypothesis (not enough to exclude it, but certainly casts some doubt).
Ed Oscuro

Post by Ed Oscuro »