Need arcade stick advice

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
CptRansom

Need arcade stick advice

Post by CptRansom »

I'm currently in the market for a decent stick that I could use with my 360 and my PC (MAME). Honestly, I'm a complete newb to these things. I had a HORI EX2 for a few months and I hated it. I didn't like the deadzone, the buttons, or the square gate. I'm trying to find something that's better. I don't need some crazy top-of-the-line-and-only-experts-would-notice-the-differences, but I also want something that's higher quality than that damned EX2. I'm not into modding at all (because I'm honestly afraid of completely screwing something up), so something that's good out of the box would be appreciated. I was thinking of the Street Fighter IV TE. Any thoughts?
<trap15> I only pick high quality games
<trap15> I'm just pulling shit out of my ass tbh
StarCreator

Re: Need arcade stick advice

Post by StarCreator »

It's not that hard to find a stick that's better than the EX2 out of the box... EX2s are pretty much the bottom of the barrel.

The TE is a great stock choice if you like Sanwa parts. If you like Seimitsu parts, Amazon still has the Hori Real Arcade Pro EX-SE (still my personal favorite stock stick) in stock.
neist

Post by neist »

The SFIV TE is quite top of the line, and completely customizable if you wish to change the gate, stick, or buttons.

There was an issue when they first launched that some PCBs in them were dying, but I have to think that the latest batch of sticks has to have worked that out by now. My stick still works fine.

But the HRAP EX-SE that StarCreator listed is also very good. :) It's more a preference as to what shape of box you enjoy and what type of buttons/stick you like. The SFIV TE has all Sanwa. The HRAP has Seimitsu. I actually prefer Sanwa, so I lean towards it a little bit.
kemical

Post by kemical »