Sylph Wind - shooter I've been developing quite a long time

A place for people with an interest in developing new shmups.
pieslice

Sylph Wind - shooter I've been developing quite a long time

Post by pieslice »

Hi, I've been lurking here for couple of years, tried to register on last autumn, but there were some problems with my email authentification so it failed.

I've been developing a buzz-based shooter named "Sylph Wind" for about two years, one and a half years making game engine and technology and about six to eight months making content.
Some of you might know that title, as an early alpha is downloadable from Gamedev, Pouet and from Shoot the Core.

I entered last summer's Assembly 07 Game development competition with Sylph Wind, the game placed fifth and was audience reaction was generally positive.

(The winner of the competition was a shooter too, titled "Centripetality", an arena shooter which borrowed polarity and chaining gameplay mechanics from iky.
It wasn't a shmup, neither it wasn't very good game at all, but it was a shooter nevertheless.)

New screens appeared recently in the Gamedev.net's Image of the Day section:
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums ... _id=484857

There's also stuff related to Sylph Wind at SHMUP-DEV.

I hope that Sylph Wind will be finished before summer.
Square King

Post by Square King »

Downloaded. Thanks for the heads-up! I'll give it a try later on. Looks delicious. :D
Udderdude

Post by Udderdude »

This might be better off posted in Development, but anyway, I'll tell you my initial impressions.

1. I can't seem to get my joystick to work with it. Joystick support is important .. joy2key is just an alternative :P
2. Backgrounds were very cool, but all that crazy movement was a little dizzying @_@
3. Music sounded like random piano notes over a beat. Could be better.