shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:04 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 6:49 pm 



Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Posts: 24
If anyone can provide me with anything above the 1.02 that is on both of mine, I'd be much obliged. I tried to see if I could sign up for an extron account as an independent programmer, but they never responded in any way, despite the fact that I actually am a programmer and had a .mil address to give them.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 10:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3102
Location: UK
https://mega.nz/#!KUhQRK6A!gvHefbepqAc6 ... MAGAf2PYpU (v1.25)
https://mega.nz/#!HMwiASiZ!W5elb3tk7h39 ... 03I342lqm0 (v1.26)
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 3:29 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2044
BuckoA51 wrote:
https://mega.nz/#!KUhQRK6A!gvHefbepqAc6rEjxk_6nEJOROS-IV_1ReMAGAf2PYpU (v1.25)
https://mega.nz/#!HMwiASiZ!W5elb3tk7h39 ... 03I342lqm0 (v1.26)


Thanks, I plan on staying on 1.25, but I grabbed 1.26 just in case.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 5:53 am 



Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Posts: 24
Thanks for the firmware links Bucko.

At the risk of sounding greedy, can someone post the program to load the firmware as well? or is there a way to do this through dataviewer that I am not understanding?

I still do not understand why all of this stuff isn't just openly downloadable from their site like every other company, or why they won't just give an account to anyone who registers at least if they are just trying to track what gets downloaded and how often.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 11:19 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2044
ErebusMaligan wrote:
At the risk of sounding greedy, can someone post the program to load the firmware as well? or is there a way to do this through dataviewer that I am not understanding?


No, you should update the firmware with the programs from Extron, such as Extron PCS.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 12:57 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 477
Thanks BuckoA51
Do you by chance have the newest version of the PCS as well?

ErebusMaligan wrote:
I still do not understand why all of this stuff isn't just openly downloadable from their site like every other company, or why they won't just give an account to anyone who registers at least if they are just trying to track what gets downloaded and how often.


Extron seems to treat end-users with complete contempt for some reason.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 2:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 506
Seraphic wrote:
Extron seems to treat end-users with complete contempt for some reason.

They expect their dealers to handle the support for end users.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 3:00 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 913
Unseen wrote:
Seraphic wrote:
Extron seems to treat end-users with complete contempt for some reason.

They expect their dealers to handle the support for end users.

I'm a partner in a company that does A/V integration for small business and residential, and we tried to get a dealer account with them

they really didn't give a shit about us either once I told them we would probably not be moving tens of thousands of dollars of their product on a regular basis


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 4:36 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 477
Unseen wrote:
Seraphic wrote:
Extron seems to treat end-users with complete contempt for some reason.

They expect their dealers to handle the support for end users.


That may be, but I think I can speak for most users on this forum in that we purchase our Extron products used on eBay.
So we do not deal with dealers directly and therein lies the problem as we do not have easy access to latest firmware updates (etc).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 3:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3102
Location: UK
Extron PCS software - https://mega.nz/#!ucwxnSJT!OgAkXqyb8t8h ... FaDyVwCxhw

If anyone tries the update let me know how you get on as mine's not set up at the mo.
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 3:52 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 477
BuckoA51 wrote:
Extron PCS software - https://mega.nz/#!ucwxnSJT!OgAkXqyb8t8h ... FaDyVwCxhw

If anyone tries the update let me know how you get on as mine's not set up at the mo.


Thanks for posting newest version of PCS. Do you have an Extron account? :wink:

I updated mine from 1.25 to 1.26 using an older version of PCS (4.3.x). But process was easy enough.
Install PCS, connect USB to 301HD and computer, power on 301HD, link PCS software with 301HD, select update firmware from one of the menu tabs at top and then select the 1.26 .s19 firmware and click update.

The DSC301HD-FirmwareUpgradeV1x26.exe you posted earlier will put the 1.26 .s19 firmware file in C:\Program Files (x86)\Extron\Firmware\DSC 301 HD\v1_26_0001 on your computer.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 3:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3102
Location: UK
I don't have an account but I did manage to find a friendly contact within Extron willing to grab a few downloads for me :)
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 4:58 pm 



Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Posts: 24
BuckoA51 wrote:
Extron PCS software - https://mega.nz/#!ucwxnSJT!OgAkXqyb8t8h ... FaDyVwCxhw

If anyone tries the update let me know how you get on as mine's not set up at the mo.


Thanks so much!
Worked great, both for updating the firmware and configuring settings.
While the front panel controls work well enough, and tactile buttons and knobs are fun, it can be kind of a pain to set up all the presets vs just typing in some numbers.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 6:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2044
BuckoA51 wrote:
Extron PCS software - https://mega.nz/#!ucwxnSJT!OgAkXqyb8t8h ... FaDyVwCxhw

If anyone tries the update let me know how you get on as mine's not set up at the mo.


Thank you, I already have installed on my PC version 4.3 that I used when I installed 1.25, but I grabbed the newest version just in case.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:16 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 149
Today I discovered 2 things about my 301 (one good, one bad):

1. If I connect my PC to the D-sub connector it allows me to enable AMD Virtual Super Resolution [VSR] (woohoo!) in the Radeon Settings application whereas if I connect via HDMI, Virtual Super Resolution goes back to being 'not supported'. Any idea why this might be? Is there a workaround? I'd much rather stay in the digital realm.

2. Unfortunately if I connect my PC to the D-Sub input on the 301 it appears to throw the colour temp (or something) off. I can partially correct for it by adjusting the colour temp settings on my PC but something is still not quite right (everything has some kind of weird tint to it). Driving me nuts! Anyone else experienced this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:16 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 149
Tested VSR with the Crestron HD scaler via HDMI and it works. No idea why the Extron301 isn’t VSR compatible.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:14 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 149
strayan wrote:
Tested VSR with the Crestron HD scaler via HDMI and it works. No idea why the Extron301 isn’t VSR compatible.


VSR appears to have stopped working with my Crestron. No idea why. Extremely frustrating.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:07 am 



Joined: 19 May 2019
Posts: 2
What's better for low res PS1 games (240p/288p)? Framemeiser or the Extron DSC 301 HD + OSSC combo when the OSSC is set to 240p/288p Line4x mode?

What do you think about the image for 480i games when the OSSC is set to line3x (laced) mode and chained with the Extron DSC 301 HD. I think the image is quite good and it's only a little bit unstable here and there if you have a close look.

When I chain my OSSC and Extron DSC 301 HD I sometimes have black screens. I then have to change the output mode of the OSSC back and forth and then the image is fine again. Is there someting I can do to prevent this? Maybe changing some sync settings or something like that?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:46 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11885
Location: Germany
Quote:
What's better for low res PS1 games (240p/288p)? Framemeiser or the Extron DSC 301 HD + OSSC combo when the OSSC is set to 240p/288p Line4x mode?

Extron/OSSC will be slightly better due to its 4:4:4 processing path, but it depends on what you want to do. If you want to fill your screen (= upscale the 960p output of the OSSC to 1080p), then the difference will be negligible.

Quote:
What do you think about the image for 480i games when the OSSC is set to line3x (laced) mode and chained with the Extron DSC 301 HD. I think the image is quite good and it's only a little bit unstable here and there if you have a close look.

I don't like bob-deinterlacing very much. I think there's a place for it depending on the type of game, but for the majority of 480i games I certainly prefer "proper" deinterlacing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2044
dc_coder_84 wrote:
When I chain my OSSC and Extron DSC 301 HD I sometimes have black screens.


That's normal.

If you don't want black screens, try to disable frame lock.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:40 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 284
Seraphic wrote:
Thanks for posting newest version of PCS. Do you have an Extron account? :wink:

I updated mine from 1.25 to 1.26 using an older version of PCS (4.3.x). But process was easy enough.
Install PCS, connect USB to 301HD and computer, power on 301HD, link PCS software with 301HD, select update firmware from one of the menu tabs at top and then select the 1.26 .s19 firmware and click update.

The DSC301HD-FirmwareUpgradeV1x26.exe you posted earlier will put the 1.26 .s19 firmware file in C:\Program Files (x86)\Extron\Firmware\DSC 301 HD\v1_26_0001 on your computer.


Just wanted to say thanks for the instructions. Got mine updated and working stellar!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:06 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 209
Location: Canada
I'm really hoping I didn't just get eBay screwed. Again.

My unit powers on with an amber light (I'm feeding it HDMI but it doesn't turn green). Button presses do nothing. It outputs no video.

I've loaded Extron PCS 4.4.3. It does not see the unit when connected via USB. A "where are my devices" hyperlink within PCS mentions needing the "Extron USB Driver", but I see no reference to that in this thread so I'm thinking this isn't necessary?

Tell me I don't have to file yet another "item not as described" and I'm just using this incorrectly / skipping a vital step...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:20 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 284
HDgaming42 wrote:
I'm really hoping I didn't just get eBay screwed. Again.

My unit powers on with an amber light (I'm feeding it HDMI but it doesn't turn green). Button presses do nothing. It outputs no video.

I've loaded Extron PCS 4.4.3. It does not see the unit when connected via USB. A "where are my devices" hyperlink within PCS mentions needing the "Extron USB Driver", but I see no reference to that in this thread so I'm thinking this isn't necessary?

Tell me I don't have to file yet another "item not as described" and I'm just using this incorrectly / skipping a vital step...


I had the same issue with the lights, and also bought my unit off Ebay. The power supply was faulty, once the seller replaced it, I was up and running. Put in the request for that and try a spare power supply if you have one.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 3:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 209
Location: Canada
ldeveraux wrote:
I had the same issue with the lights, and also bought my unit off Ebay. The power supply was faulty, once the seller replaced it, I was up and running. Put in the request for that and try a spare power supply if you have one.


Hmmmm. This unit--like most available on eBay ATM, didn't come with a power supply. I'm using an extron 28-181-05LF which outputs 12V 2.0A (the 301 wants 12V 1.0A, so this should work).

Using a multimeter I measure the voltage as 12.3V. I have 3 of these power supplies, and the 301 shows the same behaviour on all three.

@BuckoA51 - Can you grab the "Extron USB Driver" and post it here? I suspect it's not the issue, but I'm at a dead end...

I should add I tried composite video last night as well--no difference.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 3:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1309
l had a similar experience with my 301 HD and a faulty power supply. Replacing the power supply fixed my issue.

Speaking of the 301, mine refuses to play nice with sync jitter from the NES and SNES. Anybody else having the same issue?

PS: (I'm aware of the mod boards to solve the problem. I'm talking about the 301's performance.)
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:57 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 997
orange808 wrote:
Speaking of the 301, mine refuses to play nice with sync jitter from the NES and SNES. Anybody else having the same issue?

PS: (I'm aware of the mod boards to solve the problem. I'm talking about the 301's performance.)


Mine is the same way. Think I tried direct from my RGBNES/SNES via VGA plug (RGBS), and probably tried OSSC > DSC 301 HD > 4K TV too and still no go (gets all sorts of weird dark banding? and cuts out if my memory serves...it's been a while). Those same NES/SNES through the OSSC to my same TV work perfectly in every mode I've tried fyi.

BUT, scaling 240 to 1080p through the DSC is kinda WAY worse than what the OSSC can do, so what were you trying? If you were linking the OSSC + DSC, what multiplier were you using? Line 5x from the OSSC pretty much bypasses any scaling your TV would do anyway, right? So were you trying to use the DSC kinda how people use the DVDO's? (i.e. to get a more standard 1080p signal which would work on a wider variety of flatsceens?).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:15 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2009
Posts: 209
Location: Canada
OK, 3 extron power supplies later I wired up a generic PSU with 12V 1.5A. Same behaviour.

I can probably safely assume this thing is toast, no?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1309
Dochartaigh wrote:
...so what were you trying?...


I was testing out all the line multiple modes from the OSSC with multiple consoles to see what kind of results I would get using the DSC 301 HD.

I didn't recall reading that NES and SNES without dejitter had issues; that seems like a potentially big issue for an OSSC companion machine.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:16 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11885
Location: Germany
SNES definitely has issues without the de-jitter mod. I think ONE of the OSSC's output modes (3x/4x/5x) did work though, didn't it? Didn't try a NES or Famicom though, sorry.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extron DSC 301 HD (RGB>HDMI+scaling)-Best settings for 4
PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 10:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11885
Location: Germany
Quote:
I can probably safely assume this thing is toast, no?

if you're certain that you got an active source connected, then yes, probably.

Without an active source, the Extron disables its output as well. You can bring up a menu, but it has got a rather quick timeout. Also if you got a HDCP source, but HDCP on the Extron is disabled, you might not get a picture. I found a VGA or composite source a much more reliable test to start out with.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group