shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Fri May 29, 2020 1:41 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7418 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 244, 245, 246, 247, 248
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 6:23 am 



Joined: 06 May 2019
Posts: 5
Working on capturing some FF7 for a video. How strong should the scanlines be for video capture?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 1:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Sorry if this has been asked before all:

I am trying to figure out a way to scale my Irem M72 (R-Type) properly.

The issue is the system's native 384x256 resolution. I end up losing the bottom part of the screen or if I modify: SAMPLING OPTIONS>ADV. TIMING 240P>V SYNCLEN 6>V BACKPORCH 30

With this I am able to scroll the image up but then I lose the top of the screen.

On my CRT this game needs to be crushed to fit with the vertical size adjustment. I am wondering if there is a similar setting I can use on the OSSC to crush this game into a 4:3 window.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 4:03 pm 



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 150
EVN wrote:
Sorry if this has been asked before all:

I am trying to figure out a way to scale my Irem M72 (R-Type) properly.

The issue is the system's native 384x256 resolution. I end up losing the bottom part of the screen or if I modify: SAMPLING OPTIONS>ADV. TIMING 240P>V SYNCLEN 6>V BACKPORCH 30

With this I am able to scroll the image up but then I lose the top of the screen.

On my CRT this game needs to be crushed to fit with the vertical size adjustment. I am wondering if there is a similar setting I can use on the OSSC to crush this game into a 4:3 window.


It's been awhile since I messed with M72, but here is what I wrote about it then:

HAS=TTL, OSSC=Pre/Post Coast 1, 3x mode looks best as it doesn't cut off top or bottom but is 720p and 5x mode is 1080p, however the top and bottom are cut off. Also, bottom layer of this games screen is cut off (score, lives, time layer) at the default settings. To see it you have to adjust the settings under Advance Timing Tweaker. I set Vertical Sync Length to 6, Vertical Backporch Length to 30, and Vertical Active Length to 240. This allows you to see the full bottom line information and graphics, however the top is now cut off a bit. You could cut back on my settings to see the numbers, giving up a little bit of the graphics but gaining back the top line. Your call how you rock this.

EDIT: Oh crap, I see you are using my suggested settings already! LOL, sorry. Yeah, I guess crushing it would be best, but I don't think I came back around to finding a solution, so I guess I'll hang around and see if someone posts!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 9:21 pm 



Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 253
Location: Communism's New Home (CA, USA)
Hopefully this isn't taken the wrong way, but I am very happy with the OSSC for SFC, MD, PS1+2,N64 and Saturn. For arcade boards, I use the Retro Scaler A1 as it handles everything except some late Toaplan V2 boards.

The OSSC is the ultimate console line doubler/upscale but it isn't centered around arcade hardware.
_________________
I enjoy jamma games more than anything on console.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2020 9:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12170
Location: Germany
The reason here is likely based on the desire to sort output resolutions into TV-"compatible" sets of resolutions.

The 240p 2x option is basically meant to produce a compatible 480p output signal and the 3x is meant to produce something at least resembling a valid 720p signal.

Doubling the input signal is M72 board is tough, at it would produce a resolution of 512p while decreasing the refresh rate to 55 or 56Hz (or whatever the M72 boards run at).

My best guess is that there's no technical reason that the OSSC shouldn't be able to handle this, but IT IS more than likely to cause a lot of problems on the output side. If used with a capable secondary scaler or with a straight HDMI to RGBHV converter, this should be possible though. (EDIT: refer to the reply below mine for the technical how-to)


Last edited by Fudoh on Mon May 25, 2020 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 7:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 315
Location: Sweden
EVN wrote:

On my CRT this game needs to be crushed to fit with the vertical size adjustment. I am wondering if there is a similar setting I can use on the OSSC to crush this game into a 4:3 window.


Increase V.Active to 256. Whether your display can handle the format is another question. But you actually end up with a rather standard frame for the signal if using generic x4 mode (1280x1024), how far from standard it is depends also on total lines (we know already the framerate is quite way off). It'd basically following the tips for x3 & x4 modes here: https://videogameperfection.com/forums/ ... lx5-modes/
Bottom line is, if the system outputs 256 active video lines, and you want to have all of them in your picture, then you need to adjust so they fit within the V.Active.
_________________
OSSC TV Compatibility report thread


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2020 9:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Posts: 358
Location: BW, Germany
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Isn't "OSSC compatibility" dependent on the signal source?
not really. It's comes down to the capture unit's ability to lock to non standard timings, since the OSSC "tricks" to achieve any resolution higher than 480p and isn't able to output timings close to the VESA or SMPTE standard timings.

On the one hand, due to the wide variety of analog signals you can throw at the OSSC, and because the output digital video timings are always closely coupled to the input analog video timings, the output timings vary accordingly across different signal sources, even regardless of the effective OSSC settings. On the other hand, while I don't have an ironclad overview, I doubt that it's a black-and-white situation where there are those capture devices that accept everything an OSSC will (for all practical intents and purposes) throw at them, and those devices that very strictly only accept standard timings. Rather, my everyday informal experience with different source/sink combinations and online reports by others suggest that there's more than just two degrees of tolerance across different capture devices (just like with displays).

Even without going into technical details, observe that the lion's share of video game systems the OSSC is typically fed with output non-standard timings, while some specific cases of signal sources are known for causing problems on the sink side more often than others (while the OSSC itself successfully locks onto the signal); examples include the PS1 outputting 314 total lines for a share of games in 50Hz mode, and the SNES' jitter issue. In both cases, there are sinks that accept the resulting TMDS signal without further issues, and there are sinks for which this is not the case.

In light of this, wouldn't it be an oversimplification to speak of "OSSC (in)compatibility" while only factoring in either the source- or the sink side of the chain?
Or was I merely misunderstanding and you actually just meant something like "OSSC friendliness" or "good" compatibility?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC (DIY video digitizer & scandoubler)
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 10:20 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Harrumph wrote:
EVN wrote:

On my CRT this game needs to be crushed to fit with the vertical size adjustment. I am wondering if there is a similar setting I can use on the OSSC to crush this game into a 4:3 window.


Increase V.Active to 256. Whether your display can handle the format is another question. But you actually end up with a rather standard frame for the signal if using generic x4 mode (1280x1024), how far from standard it is depends also on total lines (we know already the framerate is quite way off). It'd basically following the tips for x3 & x4 modes here: https://videogameperfection.com/forums/ ... lx5-modes/
Bottom line is, if the system outputs 256 active video lines, and you want to have all of them in your picture, then you need to adjust so they fit within the V.Active.


Thanks man, I messed with that setting and this works:
V synclen = 6
V backporch = 14
V active = 260


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7418 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 244, 245, 246, 247, 248

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Extrems, fernan1234, mario64, marqs, muzzopolto, Ryoandr and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group