Sony PVM-2950QM - Should I buy it?

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
Rupert H

Sony PVM-2950QM - Should I buy it?

Post by Rupert H »

I'm a little new to the PVM game so I'm not sure what's good and what's to be avoided. This listing is going for £30, is within collecting distance and I'm about to get it, I just wanted to run it by some more experienced eyes first.

Would this be suitable for 15khz RGB SNES, MD, Saturn, PS2, Supergun, etc? I've heard PVMs are happy being tate'd. Is that the case with all models? Is there an ideal PVM I should be looking for for shmup playing?

Thanks guys.
Last edited by Rupert H on Tue Nov 04, 2008 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
undamned

Post by undamned »

Good luck tating that beast! It probably weighs in around 200lbs. Bring a friend if you are picking it up! It sure looks like you can run 15kHz RGB. Here's the manual: http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/model- ... l=PVM2950Q
-ud
Righteous Super Hero / Righteous Love
Rupert H

Post by Rupert H »

Thanks for that. I hadn't thought of bringing along a beefy friend to help lift it, so it's good that you mentioned that too. It most certainly is a beast, but the effort will be well rewarded when I have 29" worth of ESPGaluda in my room.
jonny5

Post by jonny5 »

reading through that manual it says nothing about being able to run 15khz....i would look into that before you buy
cody

Post by cody »

Buy it. I have a 2950, its worth the cheap price. ps2 component @ 240p works fine on it, havent gotten around to making rgb cables for it but even saturn svideo looks ok.

Its not that hard to tate, you have plenty of leverage because of the handles.

Not all that heavy either, 2 normal people can get it up stairs.
Rupert H

Post by Rupert H »