shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:23 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6487 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 199, 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205 ... 217  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:57 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 322
Odd question - could you connect a Gamecube + Gameboy Player via GBA->GC cable (DOL-011) to another Gamecube? Like, for example could you play Zelda Four Swords using a Gameboy Player as a GBA?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1049
Location: Australia
Kez wrote:
Odd question - could you connect a Gamecube + Gameboy Player via GBA->GC cable (DOL-011) to another Gamecube? Like, for example could you play Zelda Four Swords using a Gameboy Player as a GBA?


Yup

http://www.racketboy.com/retro/legend-o ... ubes-5-tvs


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 322
Syntax wrote:


Awesome.. I was thinking of just doing it with one TV but now.. oh dear.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 211
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_zTFRVh7ug

Been having this issue recently, don't know what to do about it.
I've got an Avermedia Extremecap U3, and for whatever reason it has a habit of dropping frames randomly. The mirrored signal going to my TV is absolutely perfect (with the odd snes frame hitch), but the capture drops out like this.

It's not a CPU issue since its not even getting close, and i've tried three different USB PCIe cards all with the same issue. This happens on 720p as well as 1080p. Drivers etc are up to date. It happens on both OBS and AmaRecTV

Any ideas?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:37 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 862
Jademalo wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_zTFRVh7ug

Been having this issue recently, don't know what to do about it.
I've got an Avermedia Extremecap U3, and for whatever reason it has a habit of dropping frames randomly. The mirrored signal going to my TV is absolutely perfect (with the odd snes frame hitch), but the capture drops out like this.

It's not a CPU issue since its not even getting close, and i've tried three different USB PCIe cards all with the same issue. This happens on 720p as well as 1080p. Drivers etc are up to date. It happens on both OBS and AmaRecTV

Any ideas?

I'm not sure what hardware you have in your AV setup, but, assuming an OSSC and just an SNES, I would think your TV is likely more tolerant of the video signals coming from the SNES than your capture device, which is probably expecting a more stable and standard signal, like what it would get from a PC or most native, off-the-shelf HDMI devices.

For example, your capture device might be expecting a perfect 60Hz or 59.94Hz signal, and it might not be tolerant of the ~60.08Hz signal from the SNES, not to mention the SNES is known to have jittery sync, which can throw off HDMI displays/capture devices and cause sync dropouts. There are probably also TVs and capture devices that can lock onto the SNES's sync just fine, but perform framerate conversion, which can result in tearing or dropped frames.

The NES is also known to have similar sync problems. As I understand it, the Hi-Def NES kit (HDMI output for the NES) was designed to avoid these sync problems and increase compatibility by slightly underclocking the NES in order to generate a perfect 60Hz video signal signal. I don't believe the SNES currently has anything comparable, but I can't imagine someone isn't working on a similar Hi-Def SNES mod.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 211
nmalinoski wrote:
I'm not sure what hardware you have in your AV setup, but, assuming an OSSC and just an SNES, I would think your TV is likely more tolerant of the video signals coming from the SNES than your capture device, which is probably expecting a more stable and standard signal, like what it would get from a PC or most native, off-the-shelf HDMI devices.

For example, your capture device might be expecting a perfect 60Hz or 59.94Hz signal, and it might not be tolerant of the ~60.08Hz signal from the SNES, not to mention the SNES is known to have jittery sync, which can throw off HDMI displays/capture devices and cause sync dropouts. There are probably also TVs and capture devices that can lock onto the SNES's sync just fine, but perform framerate conversion, which can result in tearing or dropped frames.

The NES is also known to have similar sync problems. As I understand it, the Hi-Def NES kit (HDMI output for the NES) was designed to avoid these sync problems and increase compatibility by slightly underclocking the NES in order to generate a perfect 60Hz video signal signal. I don't believe the SNES currently has anything comparable, but I can't imagine someone isn't working on a similar Hi-Def SNES mod.


Sorry, thought I'd mentioned it - It's the SNES into the OSSC into an iScan VP50Pro. Specifically so that my capture card would play nicely with it, lol.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:16 pm 



Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 141
Jademalo wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_zTFRVh7ug

Been having this issue recently, don't know what to do about it.
I've got an Avermedia Extremecap U3, and for whatever reason it has a habit of dropping frames randomly. The mirrored signal going to my TV is absolutely perfect (with the odd snes frame hitch), but the capture drops out like this.

It's not a CPU issue since its not even getting close, and i've tried three different USB PCIe cards all with the same issue. This happens on 720p as well as 1080p. Drivers etc are up to date. It happens on both OBS and AmaRecTV

Any ideas?


Just because I had this same issue with my XCAPTURE-1: are there other things on the USB bus that could be monopolizing it? In my case, I had to move the offending piece to a separate USB port and let the capture card have its own.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:29 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 862
Jademalo wrote:
Sorry, thought I'd mentioned it - It's the SNES into the OSSC into an iScan VP50Pro. Specifically so that my capture card would play nicely with it, lol.

Oh, whoops; my mistake. I vaguely remember that, but I don't recall where I read it. Such is the problem with a catch-all thread like this one. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I don't have experience with any iScan products; I would've expected them to normalize the output signal, just as you have.

You were saying that output from the VP50Pro looks fine when connected to your TV, but you have frame drops/duplication when that same output is connected to your capture device?

It sounds like you're using the VP50Pro to upscale the output from the OSSC to 1080p, and this probably defeats the purpose of your AV chain; but do you still get the same dropped/duplicated frames if you remove the OSSC from the chain, so the SNES is running directly into the VP50Pro?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1049
Location: Australia
Just install one of these and you'll be fine.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=61285


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 211
SavagePencil wrote:
Just because I had this same issue with my XCAPTURE-1: are there other things on the USB bus that could be monopolizing it? In my case, I had to move the offending piece to a separate USB port and let the capture card have its own.


I've tried it literally by itsself on three separate USB cards. One renesas, one Etron, and one Fresco. I think.
What's weird is it seems to do the exact same thing at 1080p. I would expect it to be barely usable at 1080 if it was struggling with 720.


nmalinoski wrote:
You were saying that output from the VP50Pro looks fine when connected to your TV, but you have frame drops/duplication when that same output is connected to your capture device?

It sounds like you're using the VP50Pro to upscale the output from the OSSC to 1080p, and this probably defeats the purpose of your AV chain; but do you still get the same dropped/duplicated frames if you remove the OSSC from the chain, so the SNES is running directly into the VP50Pro?


Yes, it's fine on the TV and a mess on the capture card.
I'm outputting 3x mode at 720p, then capturing at 720p. There's no 1080p anywhere in the chain.

Due to the nature of how it's wired, plugging the SNES directly into the VP50Pro will be a huge hassle. I'm not really sure if I can do that at all, honestly.
There's still a frame skip every so often due to the VP50Pro because of the SNES's weird framerate, but that's fairly infrequent and mostly fine. Plus it's consistent between the TV and the capture card. This is something else and I've got no idea what.


Syntax wrote:
Just install one of these and you'll be fine.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=61285


That looks pretty neat. Though after a bit more testing, I'm also having this issue on N64 so I've got no idea what the cause could be. I don't have an easy test on N64 though like I do on SNES.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 9:00 pm 



Joined: 15 Oct 2017
Posts: 125
Am I correct in thinking all region-free Mega Drive games are reliant on the hardware for determining speed/language? Would content be identical across each region release?

Would save me a lot of money if I didn't have to import every MD game for 60 Hz.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 9:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1727
ross wrote:
Am I correct in thinking all region-free Mega Drive games are reliant on the hardware for determining speed/language? Would content be identical across each region release?

Would save me a lot of money if I didn't have to import every MD game for 60 Hz.


Only a few early Megadrive/Genesis games are region-free from what I read. Most Megadrive games are region-locked. I think you can play NTSC U/C games on an NTSC-J console and vice versa, the difference lies in the cartridge slot, basically japanese megadrive cartridges won't fit in NTSC U/C consoles and NTSC U/C cartridge will fit in NTSC-J consoles but you won't be able to power it on because unlike japanese cartridges, NTSC U/C cartridges have no groove on the left side of the cartridge.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 5:08 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 215
ross wrote:
Am I correct in thinking all region-free Mega Drive games are reliant on the hardware for determining speed/language? Would content be identical across each region release?

Would save me a lot of money if I didn't have to import every MD game for 60 Hz.


Speed/language are toggled in hardware. This gives the MD four modes.
But 50 Hz with Japanese isn't commonly used.

50 Hz or 60 Hz affects all games.
Language really only matters if a game uses it

At first the speed/language were more backwards compatibility features (they're based upon Master System).
Starting around 1992, MD games began using it as region lockout.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 1119
Syntax wrote:
Kez wrote:
Odd question - could you connect a Gamecube + Gameboy Player via GBA->GC cable (DOL-011) to another Gamecube? Like, for example could you play Zelda Four Swords using a Gameboy Player as a GBA?


Yup

http://www.racketboy.com/retro/legend-o ... ubes-5-tvs


When I first came across that years ago it broke my brain and I really wanted to try it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:35 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1049
Location: Australia
Kind of reminds me of how much effort it is to set up PS2 GT3/4 multi monitor.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v119/ ... torLAN.jpg


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 5:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 6273
Location: Craig's
I'd like to see it but there's nothing in your link (never use photobucket for anything anyway)
_________________
mycophobia wrote:
have tyou ever played dodponpatchi


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 1119
Syntax wrote:
Kind of reminds me of how much effort it is to set up PS2 GT3/4 multi monitor.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v119/ ... torLAN.jpg


I didn't even know you could do this!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:00 am 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
Syntax wrote:
Kind of reminds me of how much effort it is to set up PS2 GT3/4 multi monitor.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v119/ ... torLAN.jpg


That's so cool, I had no idea GT4 supported this...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:34 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 1119
This is the stuff that makes me like this particular community. We really like the obscure and insane here.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:06 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 862
I bought a faulty Kramer FC-4040 off someone a while back, and I'm getting back into trying to troubleshoot it, since it seems like a useful bit of kit (when it's working).

So, right now, the device appears to boot properly (firmware 0.7), but I can only seem to get it to take composite input and give me composite output. S-Video or component inputs do not generate anything on composite output, and I don't seem to be able to get anything on component output, regardless of input, and, weirdly, nothing on component when the color bar generator is turned on. (I'm not set up to test S-Video output at the moment.)

The board looks clean; and I've previously replaced a large 2200uF cap, but that didn't seem to improve anything. None of the BNC connectors looks or feels loose. Is there anything I can do, or is it junk?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:06 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 352
If anyone has an open GameCube, could you please get me a value for R16 on the main board? It's in line with pin 1 of the controller board connector, directly above it


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:56 am 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1209
Is the Dreamcast the only 31khz console that gives a skewed image on PVMs/BVMs? Since VCR Mode can only be enabled for 15khz signals, I was wondering if an Extron 203Rxi was worth it just for the Dreamcast.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 352
when you say skewed, do you mean horizontally shifted? because it does that on all displays not just PVM/BVM


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:05 am 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1209
maxtherabbit wrote:
when you say skewed, do you mean horizontally shifted? because it does that on all displays not just PVM/BVM

I mean the funky wavy distortions that you commonly see people show and complain about when trying to play Dreamcast on their PVM/BVM. The same thing happens with the Genesis when VCR Mode isn't enabled/not available. I was wondering if the Dreamcast was the only 480p console to give these wavy/skewed images.

If the Dreamcast is the only 31kHz console that displays this behavior, then investing in an Extron 203 Rxi isn't worth it for just one console.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:10 am 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 862
GeneraLight wrote:
maxtherabbit wrote:
when you say skewed, do you mean horizontally shifted? because it does that on all displays not just PVM/BVM

I mean the funky wavy distortions that you commonly see people show and complain about when trying to play Dreamcast on their PVM/BVM. The same thing happens with the Genesis when VCR Mode isn't enabled/not available. I was wondering if the Dreamcast was the only 480p console to give these wavy/skewed images.

If the Dreamcast is the only 31kHz console that displays this behavior, then investing in an Extron 203 Rxi isn't worth it for just one console.

Is there video of this behavior? (Not necessarily yours specifically.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:01 am 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1209
nmalinoski wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
maxtherabbit wrote:
when you say skewed, do you mean horizontally shifted? because it does that on all displays not just PVM/BVM

I mean the funky wavy distortions that you commonly see people show and complain about when trying to play Dreamcast on their PVM/BVM. The same thing happens with the Genesis when VCR Mode isn't enabled/not available. I was wondering if the Dreamcast was the only 480p console to give these wavy/skewed images.

If the Dreamcast is the only 31kHz console that displays this behavior, then investing in an Extron 203 Rxi isn't worth it for just one console.

Is there video of this behavior? (Not necessarily yours specifically.)

I can't find any videos of this behavior. Just a lot of people complaining about it and a few pictures.


https://www.reddit.com/r/crtgaming/comm ... cast_toro/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:55 am 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 135
Location: Austria
I finally got a crt set that has a S-Video and a RGB Scart socket. My old Dreamcast scart cable has spoiled allready. That's why i asked a modder to make a 480p rgb Scart cable for usage for my Framemeister. As I am not sure if this Special cable will work on a non 480p device i am looking for a alternative Video cable for CRT usage. I know that in theory RGB Scart is supirior to S Video. But is the difference really that big on a old CRT tv? The reason I am asking is because I would have to Chance to get a S Video cable at cheaper Price than the RGB Scart. I do not want to be stingy if I can get more value for the Money I will get the more expensive Option. But if the difference is not that big I can live with the cheaper solution as well.

Does anybody of you has compared the Image Quality of S Video and RGB Scart on a old CRT Set? What do you guys think about the differences?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:12 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1727
Revolver Ocelot wrote:
Does anybody of you has compared the Image Quality of S Video and RGB Scart on a old CRT Set? What do you guys think about the differences?


Well it depends on the consoles and their revisions and picture quality of course.

But in general:

RGB is better, S-Video is okayish but not as nice/sharp as RGB, composite is the worst.

If your console will output RGB, S-Video and Composite, then use RGB, if your console will output S-Video and Composite, use S-Video.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:35 am 



Joined: 07 Feb 2018
Posts: 135
Location: Austria
Lawfer wrote:
Revolver Ocelot wrote:
Does anybody of you has compared the Image Quality of S Video and RGB Scart on a old CRT Set? What do you guys think about the differences?


Well it depends on the consoles and their revisions and picture quality of course.

But in general:

RGB is better, S-Video is okayish but not as nice/sharp as RGB, composite is the worst.

If your console will output RGB, S-Video and Composite, then use RGB, if your console will output S-Video and Composite, use S-Video.


Thanks for the answer. Yes I know that.

In case of the Dreamcast the best would be VGA, then RGB Scart, then S Video and then Composite. That is the theory.

But i wonder if the RGB Scart, the second best opition is really that much better than S Video on a CRT. I tested some of my consoles on it already and even Composite Looks quite good on the CRT. No compersion to my 4k TV where Composite is really bad.

And the N64 with s-Video also Looks great on the crt. So i wonder if RGB is really necessary for the DC, when the cheaper S-Video cable is more than good enough..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Questions that do not deserve a thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:34 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1727
Revolver Ocelot wrote:
So i wonder if RGB is really necessary for the DC, when the cheaper S-Video cable is more than good enough..


Well it's up to you if you want to use S-Video over RGB or not. The Dreamcast output a native 480p in most games through VGA (RGBHV), S-Video will limit things to 480i.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6487 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 199, 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205 ... 217  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Das Muel and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group