shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:05 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1059 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 36  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:22 pm 



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 59
@nevdev - thanks for confirmation of the video output

>Talking about something more fun, what's on everybody's SD card?
Here's a screengrab of the folder I've prepared for cd games, I don't think >128gb msd is needed

Image
how do you upload a photo


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:44 pm 



Joined: 10 Dec 2017
Posts: 59
gojira54 wrote:
@nevdev - thanks for confirmation of the video output

>Talking about something more fun, what's on everybody's SD card?
Here's a screengrab of the folder I've prepared for cd games, I don't think >128gb msd is needed

Image
how do you upload a photo


Keep in mind there is a limit of around 1000 directories/roms/cd in the game list, so if you have more then 1000 entries, you'll need to split in several subdirectories.
I have all the roms (including hacks, overdumps, sounds) in 2 directories, one from A to N and other from O to Z :)

Edit: I didn't notice that there are just about 250 folders, that's ok :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:18 pm 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
Neodev wrote:
Well, there is an error there in the manual. There is a 22 ohm (or 21, I can't remenber) resistor to attenuate the output on a proper MD2 cable.


You basically replaced the 75 ohm on the output side with a 22 ohm instead of 0 ohm like you initially planned? Saves me from fixing up my cable, great!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:15 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 3712
gojira54 wrote:
@nevdev - thanks for confirmation of the video output

>Talking about something more fun, what's on everybody's SD card?
Here's a screengrab of the folder I've prepared for cd games, I don't think >128gb msd is needed

Image
how do you upload a photo

I've never gotten PCE Shadow of the Beast to work in emulators and never owned the original hardware. Can't wait for everything to arrive. This is the version my friends told me about in school that made me feel envious. I only had the version for Genesis. Time to put this to the test!

Can you confirm yours is working when it arrives, Gojira?
_________________
Now that's galactic dancin'


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:11 am 



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 59
works OK for me in ootake - I'm assuming that if an image works in an emu and is cue/bin it will work on the SSDS3...

@nevdev - when are the tools going to be released to create preview tiles etc pls?

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:20 am 



Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 78
So... we just order a standard Genesis cable from our favorite cable maker and the picture will be perfectly fine? I read through all of the suggestions being put forth but want to make sure I'm following.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:50 am 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
FriendofSonic wrote:
So... we just order a standard Genesis cable from our favorite cable maker and the picture will be perfectly fine? I read through all of the suggestions being put forth but want to make sure I'm following.


Please correct me if I'm wrong, but that's my understanding as well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:00 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 303
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
ASDR wrote:
FriendofSonic wrote:
So... we just order a standard Genesis cable from our favorite cable maker and the picture will be perfectly fine? I read through all of the suggestions being put forth but want to make sure I'm following.


Please correct me if I'm wrong, but that's my understanding as well.


It’s defintely a very close approximation to perfectly fine. My understanding is also that the output had been revised a 2nd time to work perfectly.

And to be absolutely clear, it needs to be a model 2 genesis cable.
_________________
Spoiler: show
  • YPbPr->Garo
    • PSP
    • PS2
    • XBox
    • Wii
  • RGB->OSSC & PVM-2530
    • Garo
    • AV Famicom
    • SNES
    • N64
    • GameCube
      • GBI
    • Genesis 2
      • CD
      • 32X
    • Saturn
    • Dreamcast
    • PS1
    • Neo Geo AES
    • SuperGrafx
      • SSDS3
    • CD-I
    • 3DO
    • Jaguar
    • HAS
      • CPS2
      • STV
      • F3
  • HDMI
    • OSSC
    • WiiU
    • Switch
    • XBox 360
    • PS3
    • PSTV


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:07 pm 



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 59
MD2 cables are likely to have a capacitor in series with a 470 resistor on the sync line - the capacitor is not required.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:12 pm 



Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 78
Will that capacitor have an adverse effect on the picture?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:34 pm 



Joined: 13 Jul 2017
Posts: 13
@neodev I put in my order today, looking forward to getting it all set up. I've seen others ask for support for cue/img(ccd/sub) cd image files, but not any respons from you. Will that be supported or do those of us with such an archive need to convert our games? Hope you can squeeze in a fix and save us the hassle. Thanks for a very promising product!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:31 pm 



Joined: 10 Dec 2017
Posts: 59
highzeth wrote:
@neodev I put in my order today, looking forward to getting it all set up. I've seen others ask for support for cue/img(ccd/sub) cd image files, but not any respons from you. Will that be supported or do those of us with such an archive need to convert our games? Hope you can squeeze in a fix and save us the hassle. Thanks for a very promising product!


Cue+img is supported. Ccd is not supported, as there is only a parser for .cue files, but I think it's something that could be added in the future, just it's not in the initial firmware. If you have a ccd+cue+img it will work, as long as there is a .cue. img are just the extracted cd data, as .bin, just with a different name. I've tried some dumps that have cue+ccd+img+sub and they work, just ccd and sub are ignored, only cue + img are used.

About the cable, yes, a standard (and proper) MD2 cable will work. Output will be attenuated to proper levels. If your cable uses csync for sync, it needs the 470ohm resistor in the sync line (they already have if they are proper), if it uses composite as sync, it's just a direct connection (like mine).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:37 pm 



Joined: 13 Jul 2017
Posts: 13
Neodev wrote:
highzeth wrote:
@neodev I put in my order today, looking forward to getting it all set up. I've seen others ask for support for cue/img(ccd/sub) cd image files, but not any respons from you. Will that be supported or do those of us with such an archive need to convert our games? Hope you can squeeze in a fix and save us the hassle. Thanks for a very promising product!


Cue+img is supported. Ccd is not supported, as there is only a parser for .cue files, but I think it's something that could be added in the future, just it's not in the initial firmware. If you have a ccd+cue+img it will work, as long as there is a .cue. img are just the extracted cd data, as .bin, just with a different name. I've tried some dumps that have cue+ccd+img+sub and they work, just ccd and sub are ignored, only cue + img are used.

Excellent, I was hoping this would be the case, glad to have it confirmed. I'm all set for whenever it arrives. Muchos gracias!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11316
Location: Germany
just saw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q34Bwd6e_Jc

Gratulations on finishing the shells - looking good.

What's that extra connector on the back of the PCB for ?


Last edited by Fudoh on Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:43 pm 



Joined: 10 Dec 2017
Posts: 59
Fudoh wrote:
just saw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q34Bwd6e_Jc

Gratulations in finished the shells - looking good.

What's that extra connector on the back of the PCB for ?


It's just a programming connector. It's used to program the bootloader to the board when they are manufactured. Once the bootloader is programmed, it isn't needed as it can update from the sd card.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 24 Jun 2014
Posts: 401
Location: Netherlands
Fudoh wrote:
just saw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q34Bwd6e_Jc

Gratulations in finished the shells - looking good.


Yes, impressive actually :D
_________________
Visit: https://www.shmups.eu
Experience the National Video Game Museum in the Netherlands


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 943
Location: Australia
Just watched the video, looks like the shells don't fit the last console you were playing with?
Whats up there?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:58 pm 



Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 78
Can't wait for my SuperGrafx to arrive, looks like a smooth fit there


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:02 am 



Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 66
Location: USA
Any plans on selling through Stone Age Gamer ?
Would really prefer some kind of Paypal option.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:33 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Jul 2017
Posts: 63
Syntax wrote:
Just watched the video, looks like the shells don't fit the last console you were playing with?
Whats up there?


PAL Turbo Grafx, looks like it's too thick. Unfortunate.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:18 am 



Joined: 10 Dec 2017
Posts: 59
Bratwurst wrote:
Syntax wrote:
Just watched the video, looks like the shells don't fit the last console you were playing with?
Whats up there?


PAL Turbo Grafx, looks like it's too thick. Unfortunate.


Yes, they fit. Look at the second video, the one showing the game loading. The fit on tg16 is tight because it's a bit more thick, but it fits.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:26 am 



Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 300
Location: Woodinville, WA
The shell looks absolutely stunning. I love it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Jul 2017
Posts: 63
Neodev wrote:
Yes, they fit. Look at the second video, the one showing the game loading. The fit on tg16 is tight because it's a bit more thick, but it fits.


It appears that the shell halves part slightly though and stress some of the screw connections holding it together, that's not a good fit. Doesn't matter to me as I've got a Core Grafx, but you're inevitably going to have a lot of unhappy customers unless you're upfront about it on the product page.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2018 3:26 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 943
Location: Australia
Bratwurst wrote:
Syntax wrote:
Just watched the video, looks like the shells don't fit the last console you were playing with?
Whats up there?


PAL Turbo Grafx, looks like it's too thick. Unfortunate.


Shouldn't be an issue when the SSDS3 has no official support for PAL systems..


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2994
Location: UK
Now the old Hammerhead will be able to sit on a shelf that isn't half a meter deep too :mrgreen:
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:33 pm 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
Just got a shipping confirmation for my system! Slow down neosd, my cable isn't here yet :D Shouldn't matter much as I still have plenty of HuCard games to play with the SSDS3, CD-ROM stuff can wait a bit.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:51 pm 



Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 300
Location: Woodinville, WA
I got an early delivery notification from UPS. Tomorrow.

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:52 am 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
Lucky you, mine's still in Spain :D Ah well, time to finish Horizon: Zero Dawn...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2994
Location: UK
Mine's due Wednesday :D :D
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 273
Just curious if there is any way to transfer saves from an IFU-30 onto this thing? Like for example with a tennokoe bank card?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1059 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 36  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bestinshow, energizerfellow‌, FinalBaton, lechu, MarkOZLAD and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group