shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Mar 04, 2021 11:34 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:20 pm 



Joined: 27 Sep 2015
Posts: 3
I recently purchased a PVM 20M4U, as seen in the picture it has 3 horizontal lines across the top of the screen. What could be wrong and how would I go about fixing this? Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:27 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 1739
Have you messed with the underscan and overscan buttons? I normally only see those lines when I use underscan mode.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Location: Toronto, Canada
I have not had this issue, but I recall reading posts from other people who have run into it and being told to go into the service menu and adjust the V BLANKING setting.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 783
Location: Rome
I have this as well on my BVM 14M4DE.

It is caused by a bad capacitor Sony put in. It's documented and they used a wrong value cap. Search a bit on Google and you'll find the Sony sheet reporting this issue and how to correct it.

If you don't want to open your monitor and replace the cap, you can play with the V Blanking setting to send the lines out of the screen.
Mind you, this is not a definitive solution and you may find yourself with the upper part of the image cut out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 1739
donluca wrote:
I have this as well on my BVM 14M4DE.

It is caused by a bad capacitor Sony put in. It's documented and they used a wrong value cap. Search a bit on Google and you'll find the Sony sheet reporting this issue and how to correct it.

If you don't want to open your monitor and replace the cap, you can play with the V Blanking setting to send the lines out of the screen.
Mind you, this is not a definitive solution and you may find yourself with the upper part of the image cut out.


Interesting. Does this happen in the M2 series as well?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 753
Quote:
To fix horizontal red, green and blue lines creeping into the top of the
> NTSC monitors:
>
> 1. Press the 'Menu' button
>
> 2. After the menu appears, press 'Enter' and 'Degauss' at the same time. If
> the screen is then degaussed, that means that you didn't hit them at the
> same time so try again.
>
> A. Hopefully you just entered 'Service mode'. You should see a display
> resembling this:
>
> OTHER >163 91
> V. BLANKING <60>
>
> B. The number 91 is the feature we are adjusting (in this case, vertical
> blanking).
>
> C. The number 163 is the value that vertical blanking is currently set to.
>
> 3. Use the 'Menu' and 'Enter' buttons to scroll to #91 if you're not already
> there.
>
> 4. Use the + and - buttons to adjust the vertical blanking. As you move up
> or down, you should
> notice the problematic lines going away.
>
> 5. When you find the right setting, press 'Degauss' and the word 'Write'
> will appear on the screen.
>
> 6. Immediately press 'Degauss' again to save.
>
> 7. Turn the monitor off and then on again and you're ready to roll.

http://archives.bengrosser.com/avid/2003-01/msg02329.htm

This guide isn't on the net anymore, but it said to replace C584 (2.2µF) with a high ripple 1µF cap for this issue. An ESR meter could help a lot in verifying the issue too.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 783
Location: Rome
BazookaBen wrote:
Interesting. Does this happen in the M2 series as well?


The entire M series is affected AFAIK.

@Xan: that was the cap to replace IIRC, should check my history but I'm lazy today :P


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PVM 20M4U
PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 753
50-series can be affected as well, according to this thread.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bonzo.bits, Syntax and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group