Evade Development Thread

A place for people with an interest in developing new shmups.
marshmallowSage

Evade Development Thread

Post by marshmallowSage »

Hello! I'm a one-man dev team who's been working on a bullet hell shooter that should be releasing this winter. It's more of a Touhou-clone than a Darius clone, so the players and enemies are mostly human sized and move around a lot. It's also a boss-rush game, so gameplay jumps directly from one boss to the next, with no drawn-out levels in between. Kind of unconventional choices, I know, but I wanted to focus all my effort into my favorite part of shmup games, which is intricate boss attack patterns.

Here's some gameplay screenshots

If that sounds interesting, check out the trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKUyO2PqPiM
If it sounds really interesting, check out my twitter, for more frequent updates: https://www.twitter.com/GameEvade
Or visit the steam store page to add the game to your wish list: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1265310/Evade/
Lethe

Re: Evade Development Thread

Post by Lethe »

How does the resource management work? Is it all IL or do things carry over between bosses?
Best of luck.
marshmallowSage

Thanks!

The game's layout is kinda like a rhythm game (my second favorite genre). Each boss can be challenged independently, and retried as much as you want, kinda like you can with songs in DDR. There's also a loose ordering, to prevent choice paralysis. Most of the bosses are unlocked either by defeating a specific other boss, or a total number of them.

My reasoning was that there's 33 different bosses, and it'd take a few hours to try to defeat them all back-to-back, and if some attack feels unfair, losing 2 hours of progress would feel way worse than losing 3 minutes of progress. Maybe I should put in an endurance mode, for people looking for a more serious challenge.
hechelion

Post by hechelion »

marshmallowSage wrote:Thanks!