ETERNAL REVERIE - Team-based roguelike horizontal shmup

A place for people with an interest in developing new shmups.
Seyriuu

ETERNAL REVERIE - Team-based roguelike horizontal shmup

Post by Seyriuu »

Hello,

I'm a software engineer that loves pixel-art, I've created games as a hobby since I'm 12, and now I'm starting a game that I envision for more than 10 years. I'm posting on this forum to see if the idea is attractive to shump players even when the game is more inspired to the likes of dota than to shumps.

Anyway, the core aspect of the game is a space shooter that encourages team play with different roles (dps, tank, support). That alone puts aside many principles of most shumps and create a lot of design issues. If this post creates enough interest I can delve deep into the reasons behind the decision I made, but these are the aspects of the game:

-1-4 Multiplayer with design focused on multi (but I will try my best to make single-player fun)
-All ships have 3 skills, one being the main weapon
-Chose one consumable at the beginning
-Multiple paths to choose
-Some Rogue-lite aspects:
-high-difficulty
-procedural enemy waves
-permadeath but gain money with each run
-money unlock ships, items

What contradicts with shumps genre:

-Usage of crowd control, both by players and enemies
-Friendly fire on some attacks
-Ships have HP and Shield
-Some damage will be unavoidable
-All (maybe some exceptions) ships have a weapon range
-Every enemy has a behavior and chooses which player to attack
-Talent system instead of upgrades

A lot of stuff is already in place, the main challenge at the moment is design enemies that are actually smart and forces you to play different from the basic "shoot non stop".

Last edited by Seyriuu on Wed Oct 11, 2023 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fat Pug Studio

Re: A new Blend of Multiplayer rogue-lite space shooter

Post by Fat Pug Studio »

Great pixel art, looking forward to seeing more.
Sluggy

Post by Sluggy »