New shooter in early development, looking for advice etc.

A place for people with an interest in developing new shmups.
TheDogCatcher

New shooter in early development, looking for advice etc.

Post by TheDogCatcher »

Hi folks,

I'm in the early stages of developing a Shoot 'em up using Unity and Playmaker, and before diving blindly into the main phase of development I thought it would probably be wise to do as much research as I can, which brings me here.

First of all a bit of background on myself and my game project. My first brush with game development was way back in the early 1980's when I created a handful of really horrible buggy games as a hobby using Basic. To be honest I'm no programmer and despite repeated attempts to teach myself various languages throughout the years I still royally suck at it. From 2000 onwards I started making maps and mods for a variety of PC games. In more recent years I've contributed artwork to a few commercial game projects the first of which didn't make it much further than the demo stage, the second was released and gained a small amount of attention and praise from the gaming press and the third project is currently in Early Access.

Despite my almost complete lack of programming ability it has always been a dream of mine to try and create my own game, a dream that until recently I thought was destined to go unrealised, however a couple of months back I chanced accross this series of tutorials on Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... DHm6soOcNo

So I decided to give it one last shot and surprisingly enough (to me at least) I found it incredibly easy to start creating stuff and this has given me the confidence to try and create a fully fledged game.