Minerva Project

A place for people with an interest in developing new shmups.
robocup30

Minerva Project

Post by robocup30 »

Hello, this is my first post here!
I'm here to present you guys, Minerva Project, a small shmup I made using GM:S inspired by Raiden Project, Touhou, and Jamestown.
This is my first time releasing a game I made for others to play as well as making something more complicated than a space invaders.
Download Link (20.4 mb)

What's in it:
3 Stages with boss
3 Different ships
3 Difficulties

The tilesets and roughly third of the sprites used are from Tyrian by Daniel Cook.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
Due to some bug with older GameMaker engine when running on newer windows 10, screen may go completely black when exiting the game. To prevent this from happening, press f4 twice to switch game from full screen to window and then to full screen again when you first start playing, or just play from windowed mode.

Thank you for checking it out!
Last edited by robocup30 on Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:41 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Ebbo

Re: Minerva Project

Post by Ebbo »

This was a suprisingly solid effort, nice work so far! I would like to see you implementing some crucial features though, such as customizable control options and high score boards.

Some more specific gripes of mine: those rock formations in Stage 2 feel somewhat arbitrary challenge, especially when you fly under them and can't really see your ship - having atleast a visible hitbox during parts like that would help a lot. Also when you defeat the boss, you'll lose the ship's control very quickly, sometimes making it quite hard to grab the spoils the boss drops. Maybe this feature is there to encourage flying near the top of the screen (which makes all the items automatically fly towards you) but I found it bothersome nevertheless.
n0rtygames

Post by n0rtygames »

robocup30 wrote: The tilesets and roughly third of the sprites used are from Tyrian by Daniel Cook.