Programming + shmups

A place for people with an interest in developing new shmups.
gingerj

Programming + shmups

Post by gingerj »

Hey I'm new to programming properly, like I've done HTML when I was 15. Then took me 4 years later to learn the basics of Delphi/Pascal. Now that I'm 20 and I'm practically fluent in ASP after hitting the books hard over the past one ot two months.

I'm wondering how hard is it to learn C++ and get crackin' with a shooter? Anyone recommend any tutorials etc? Tips of the trade... Any words of wisedom?
ForteMP3

Post by ForteMP3 »

There's an entire thread on this called "Making Your Own Shmups...Programs."

I'd strongly recommend you read this, it's a good read and gives several programming options aside from C++. Not that I'm saying you shouldn't use C++ if you're willing to learn.
YOU ARE APPROACHING THE TARGET OF ATTACK! THE MISSION STARTS NOW! ARE YOU READY?!
gingerj

Post by gingerj »

Well I'm not going to use one of those point and click vile game maker things.... thats for sure!
nullpointer

Post by nullpointer »

Hi.

I reccomend learning C++, I write all my stuff in OpenGL C++.
It share the basics of almost all other common programming languages.
If you can use ASP you can learn visual basic, but that sucks for making games.. If you think you are going to be using programming skills throughout your life (or your career or whatever) then learning c++ or Java will help you a great deal in the long run. You can check some great turorials on nehe site (google for nehe). It took me years to really get to know c++ but you will find that the best doujin shmups are all pretty much written in it and it gives you a lot of scope to develop a wide range of projects...but...

However it will take you some time to learn c++ , possibly years :(
and you might have to work harder to get the results you want at first..