Analog video types

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
OmegaFlareX

Analog video types

Post by OmegaFlareX »

I remember some people thought this picture was useful on the old forum so here it is again:

I'm not a video engineer, so my information may be off. From what I understand, color video is made up of 6 components: Red, Green, Blue, Hsync, Vsync, and ground. Analog RGB and VGA (and VGA's variants, UGA, XGA, etc.) separate all of these on different lines, except for sync, which can sometimes be composite (combined) depending on the monitor.

Now, because all those signals are separate and the monitors have dedicated hardware to steer each signal to get it where it needs to be, the picture is perfect. As high quality as it possibly can be given the abilities of the transport (the cord used).

When you start moving up the chart and compressing signals, the picture quality degrades because special hardware inside the TV/monitor needs to "unzip" the signal information so it knows where to put it. The uncompression process isn't very accurate in most cases so lots of signal crossover occurrs, making the picture worse.

Starting from the highest quality, here's a brief description of the video types:

RGB/VGA - The best. If you're a serious gamer, this video type is what you should strive for. Let the casuals have their bleedy, grainy composite and RF signals. VGA is for the most part, a standard 15-pin short dsub, but RGB is not standard, so it may come in many different guises. The pics on the chart are three of the most common. As said above, sometimes the H and V syncs need to be combined, but usually on older monitors like the good ol' Commodores. Also, analog RGB refreshes horizontally at 15khz (interlaced) and VGA at 31khz (and higher, non-interlaced). The TV/monitor must be able to accomodate those rates to get a proper picture.