SNES PSU

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
Lopenator

SNES PSU

Post by Lopenator »

Hey all,
I have a question about using a SNES with a RAD2x + FXPAK PRO + 8bitdo wireless receiver https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01K1T9CZS/?c ... _lig_dp_it

I am concerned about pulling too much power from my console and damaging something. I am by no means an electrical engineer and was wondering what everyones thought was on this? Would it be better for the console if I used this adapter? https://castlemaniagames.com/collection ... es-con-kit

I dont want to put too much stress on the SNES. My console is fully capped.
thegreathopper

Re: SNES PSU

Post by thegreathopper »

You don’t need to worry and that linked power supply is no better than the original, I would save your money for a CRT and a scart lead.
Fight war not wars
Lopenator

Post by Lopenator »

I have crt with HD Retrovision. The rad2x is for when I bring it over to my friend's place.
NewSchoolBoxer

Post by NewSchoolBoxer »

Let me be a lil scientific. There probably is a tower of power that can be constructed that pulls more than rated max 1A through the SNES voltage regulator or rated max 17W or more than 850mA through the official power supply. Power supplies don't last forever, my NES one is about to split open. Can get more noisy over years. I really, really don't think your setup will hit that but if you play around with PSUs enough, I recommend a portable meter. I bought $18 Poniee PN1500 that plugs into outlet then you plug console into that and it reads out the (rms) voltage, current and power that is drawn. Can prove electronics turned off but plugged in draw a small amount of power.