Sony PVM-1341 Wavy grid pattern....UPDATE...Success!

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
deezdrama

Sony PVM-1341 Wavy grid pattern....UPDATE...Success!

Post by deezdrama »

So recently scored 9 pvm/bvms .... Included in the lot were some that needed work. This 1341 being one of them.
It was serviced in 07 with a new tube and input board. The seller thought it worked fine but when we plugged in to test the screen was vertically squished.
Not a full blown vertical collapse but just squished so figured it needed recap and got a deal on it.

This is my first time plugging it in since ive got it home weeks ago, 240p test suite grid pattern shows wavy lines. They are NOT moving ....just still snake shaped lines lol.
Actual gameplay looks fine though and the screen is not squished like it was at sellers place.

I can recap and swap components no problems, I just did full recap and yoke adjustment on a 27" sony fs120 but learned a lesson that replacing 120 caps is not fun, especially when not needed.
So I just want to replace likely culprit caps in power and deflection areas.
I have an ESR meter but have not opened this one up yet.

Just wondering if anyone seen this before and what the likely culprit is....power filter caps? Deflection caps? Something else?

https://ibb.co/J3DYB56
https://ibb.co/zQFxmQJ
https://ibb.co/tL1rN22
Last edited by deezdrama on Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
maxtherabbit

Re: Sony PVM-1341 Wavy grid pattern

Post by maxtherabbit »

that's indicative of poor HV regulation, on many consumer sets that would be considered "normal" but probably not for the PVM
MKL

Post by MKL »

C535 is used to fix this issue so you should replace it. You can remove it from a set (not necessarily the same) that doesn't have the issue for confirmation.
tongshadow

Post by tongshadow »