SMSII Mainboard prototype public release

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
VajSkids Consoles

SMSII Mainboard prototype public release

Post by VajSkids Consoles »

Hey guys
I’m no electronic engineer or hardware expert but I noticed this is the forum to go to when you want to talk some ! There’s some super well educated people on here who really know their stuff.

I made a new master system mainboard- but I’ve lost the enthusiasm I initially had.

The schematics are AN ABSOLUTE MESS- The boards “ok”

It loads the bios. Outputs correct audio when I botched in a 1.5k pull-up into the audio circuit .. I flashed a Japanese (2.1?) bios onto an MC27C256B and that loads. Alex Kidd loads and responds to controller inputs. The front silk says 3k3 but I used 330ohm as per French schematic it’s based off.

Everything looks ok on my little pocket O-scope

But the graphics are garbled.
It won’t boot carts

Likely issues: (most likely to least)

the way I re-interfaced the vram with the VDP.

The ram being SRAM as opposed to XRAM with pin one being NC floating. I figured there must be a reason they always use NEC xram as VRAM but not always as system ram.

My VDP didn’t quite survive the transplant

Anyway , the schematics an absolute mess , and I’m quite embarrassed and ashamed of this.. but the fun parts laying out the PCB so forgive me

What I’m getting at, is I’ve released the kicad files publicly on sms power for anyone wanting to complete this project.

Cheers
kamiboy

Re: SMSII Mainboard prototype public release

Post by kamiboy »

What was the motivation for making a new board?

Drop in replacement with new features with some parts transplanted from an original SMS, or a from ground up new machine with off the shelf parts?
VajSkids Consoles

kamiboy wrote:What was the motivation for making a new board?

Drop in replacement with new features with some parts transplanted from an original SMS, or a from ground up new machine with off the shelf parts?