Questions About The RetroTINK 2x.

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
Ronin

Questions About The RetroTINK 2x.

Post by Ronin »

I have a couple of questions about the RetroTINK 2x. If you are familiar with it and can help it would be much appreciated! Pardon my ignorance, as I am still relatively new to the world of RGB.

For my current setup I have six consoles modded for RGB all connected to a scart switch, which itself is connected to a CRT via a scart to bnc adapter. I would like to get a RetroTINK 2x so I can connect my consoles to my modern tv. However, when watching reviews for the RetroTINK 2x, I saw people saying that you should not connect multiple consoles to the device at the same time. Does that mean that I shouldn’t connect it to my scart switch and instead just connect individual consoles one at a time?

Also, I was a little confused in the interview Bob over at RetroRGB did with the creator. He asked him why the original model doesn’t have RGB, but I thought that component and RGB were the same thing. He has a model with a scart connection, so I can just get that, but I was just curious. Couldn’t someone just use a scart to bnc adapter to get RGB through the original or pro models?

Thanks! :D
Fudoh

Re: Questions About The RetroTINK 2x.

Post by Fudoh »

The statement refers to the version with composite, s-video and component, not the scart one (which you want). Using a switch is fine of course.

Component and RGB are different color spaces. Component uses 3 parallel signals (luma and two color channels) and is usually connected through 3 RCA (Cinch) connectors. RGB uses three color channels plus a sync line and is usually connected using scart.

You NEED to get the Scart version if you want to use RGB sources.
Ronin

Post by Ronin »

Fudoh wrote:The statement refers to the version with composite, s-video and component, not the scart one (which you want). Using a switch is fine of course.