Playing with the PS2 (Lets Get Crazy)

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
The_Guffman

Playing with the PS2 (Lets Get Crazy)

Post by The_Guffman »

Hello everyone. I've seen a lot of posts here on using the PS2 and 480i in particular. I'm not an expert by any means on any of this stuff, but thanks to you guys I've been able to learn the gist of what 480i is, why it was used, and how to work with it. I'm using an OSSC myself and am very happy with my results from both 240p and 480p content, but I'm not completely sold yet on bob deinterlacing. To clarify, I'm using the PS2 on a modern 4K display, though in the future I would also like a PVM in my setup. That all being said, what are some things, if any, I could add before or after the OSSC in my video chain to, potentially, change or tweak the PS2's output? I know GSM exists, but its compatibility seems pretty hit or miss with some pretty prominent games.

To start with, are there better deinterlacing methods to use than line doubling (bob deinterlacing)? I understand that bob is fast, and the point is to minimize input lag, but could we maybe use a device solely dedicated to ONLY deinterlacing, maybe one that can pack quite a punch, and throw that in there? I've been looking at FPGA deinterlacers from Xilinx and think I might be onto something, and I'm enough of a fool to accept some frames of input lag for something like this, even just as an experiment. Maybe I'll throw some settings around in PCSX2 to see what I can come up with...