NESRGB Jumper 8 - TTL vs 75ohm CSYNC w/ OSSC

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
jsteel

NESRGB Jumper 8 - TTL vs 75ohm CSYNC w/ OSSC

Post by jsteel »

Hi,

TLDR; NESRGB + OSSC - Jumper 8 open or closed?

I bought a Famicom AV with an NESRGB board in it. I've been using it perfectly fine with my OSSC but I've recently been hearing that TTL CSYNC could put stress on (or could damage) devices. My jumper 8 is open so I'm on TTL but from what I can find out, it's not really TTL; it is "close enough" to 75ohm. I just wanted to get some advice if I should look to solder jumper 8 or not; does the OSSC care? I'm not really an expert with a soldering iron and I'd hate to put a blob of solder on there, find it causes an issue with my OSSC (as it has so far been working perfectly well) and then have to try and de-solder the blob and potentially make a mess of it.

My SCART cable doesn't have anything on the CSYNC line. If the OSSC wants 75ohm, would another option be do add something to the cable? I'd feel more comfortable modifying the SCART cable vs the (expensive) NESRGB mod.

Thanks
nmalinoski

Re: NESRGB Jumper 8 - TTL vs 75ohm CSYNC w/ OSSC

Post by nmalinoski »

Since you're going into AV1 with SCART, sync needs to be 1V 75Ohm; 5V TTL is way too much; only AV3 is able to take TTL.

As for the configuration of the RGB mod, I think the most correct approach is TTL for clean composite sync (What the SNES uses), which means a 470Ohm (or whatever it is) resistor on the sync line in the cable if the cable is wired to pull composite sync from pin 3 on the AV multi-out (Which makes it incompatible with PAL, because pin 3 there is 12V).

If, however, your cable is wired for sync-on-composite, and the AV multi-out wasn't rewired to put TTL composite sync on the composite video line, then no components are necessary.
Kez

Post by Kez »