shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Aug 11, 2020 9:08 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 722 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:19 am 



Joined: 21 Feb 2020
Posts: 5
Not sure if this has been asked, but I saw the Pro has an HDMI input. Will the Pro be able to handle doubling 720p to 1440p? I found out my semi-broken HDMI splitter strips HDCP on my PS3 so I tried to emulate what it could look like in OBS and this is what I came up with. I set my PS3 resolution settings to exclude 1080i and 1080p so it would max out at 720p (Demon's Souls native rendering resolution). Then in OBS, I used Scaling/Aspect Ratio to set a Point rescale to 1280x1440 to only double vertical pixels then forced 16:9 with a bilinear scale. I wanted to emulate the Upsample2X feature rather than just doubling every pixel so text looks better. I think it looks great!

Spoiler: show
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:32 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3186
Location: Ireland
Someone asked about Sinden lightgun a page or two back, I've already been in touch with them to discuss the possibility, they believe it's possible to get the two working together so this should happen at some point.
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 11:29 am 



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 200
Location: St Louis, IL, USA
BuckoA51 wrote:
Someone asked about Sinden lightgun a page or two back, I've already been in touch with them to discuss the possibility, they believe it's possible to get the two working together so this should happen at some point.


Fantastic!

Is there an update on release date for the OSSC-P? I mean, do we still think in 2020?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 354
Location: UK
That is great to hear about Sinden being looked at.

diamondtron wrote:
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:

and horizontal size was set to minimum in this example?

I didn't have this problem on my FW900. I know for sure since I calibrated the display with a cropping test pattern (black screen with a single while line on the outmost pixel rows and columns). I also didn't have the relatively large black borders on the left and right.


Yes this problem occurs regardless of how low HSize is. I actually have experienced this issue with all of my PC CRT monitors as well as CRT projectors so far. I know I’ve seen other people post about this over the years too. I put the black borders on the left and right just so it’s easier to see that the monitor won’t display the entirety of the image at once


Oh, I've wondered about this too, my LacieBlueIV is spec'd at 1920x1440 @ 75Hz but using an HDMI to VGA dac it clips the sides and generally has trouble syncing to a 1080p signal most of the time. Can anyone recommend a processor that would put out a 1080p signal (from an HDMI source) a PC CRT would like?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 5:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12374
Location: Germany
I used a DVDO to feed my FW900 back then. Both with 1080p and 1200p. Probably a bit too expensive just to achieve this.

Also not this easy to find a more modern with native RGBHV output these days. Another idea would be to use a digitial processor with an output wider than 1920px. There are several solutions which support 2K (2048 px wide). Use one of those to pillarbox an actual 1920 px wide signal and output into a DAC that works with a 2K signal. This might solve the horizontal active vs. total pixel ratio issue.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 7:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 784
Location: Finland
Speaking of different displays, the adaptive line multiplication modes (ref. table a few pages back) are selected with the following display types in mind:

* SD CRT TVs (480p->240p, 480p->480i, 480i->240p etc.)
* HD CRT TVs (720p, 1080i output modes)
* 5:4 / 4:3 desktop monitors (1280x1024 and 1600x1200 output modes)
* 16:9 / 16:10 desktop monitors (1920x1080, 1920x1200, 1920x1440 output modes)
* HDTVs (720p, 1080p output modes)

About the schedule, we're now preparing second prototype round. Unfortunately the project has not been immune to the pandemic, though, and some rearrangements have been necessary. Late 2020 release is still possible if everything goes well from now on, but no guarantees.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 354
Location: UK
Fudoh wrote:
I used a DVDO to feed my FW900 back then. Both with 1080p and 1200p. Probably a bit too expensive just to achieve this.

Also not this easy to find a more modern with native RGBHV output these days. Another idea would be to use a digitial processor with an output wider than 1920px. There are several solutions which support 2K (2048 px wide). Use one of those to pillarbox an actual 1920 px wide signal and output into a DAC that works with a 2K signal. This might solve the horizontal active vs. total pixel ratio issue.


This sheds some light on the situation, thanks for the great info. I wonder if the OSSC-Pro could help to pad a 1080p signal in such a manner.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:31 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1135
I thought of something if it hasn't been mentioned yet: every console has a slightly different clock, right? Like 59.874, 59.992, etc. I know the OSSC reads those out now.

If these are different for pretty much every console (just a little bit, but enough for the OSSC Pro to recognize), would it be possible to link a memory preset to that exact frequency and have it auto-load the preset when you change to that console? Just thinking out loud here, but that would be kinda amazing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 82
Is a framebuffer confirmed or in development for the Pro?
I don't care for 2 frames of lag anymore, I am just SO sick of losing game content until the flatpanel re-syncs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:22 pm 



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 200
Location: St Louis, IL, USA
James-F wrote:
Is a framebuffer confirmed or in development for the Pro?
I don't care for 2 frames of lag anymore, I am just SO sick of losing game content until the flatpanel re-syncs.


I'm not sure, but I think yes, based on this section:

3. Scaler
* higher flexibility via LPDDR2 utilization
* HQ deinterlacing
* non-integer scaling
* rotation
* refresh rate conversion

I'm no expert, but I think you may need it to do rotation.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 11:40 pm 



Joined: 21 Feb 2020
Posts: 5
I wonder if it'll have a passthrough mode with a consistent frame buffer. Would that be possible? For example, OSSC is in passthrough mode so it won't linedouble/triple/etc the input going to a 1080p buffer that stays on at all times, and when a game often switches between 240p and 480i, it would just take the new resolution and convert refresh to do as little processes as possible?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:07 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 784
Location: Finland
TyMiles2012 wrote:
I wonder if it'll have a passthrough mode with a consistent frame buffer. Would that be possible? For example, OSSC is in passthrough mode so it won't linedouble/triple/etc the input going to a 1080p buffer that stays on at all times, and when a game often switches between 240p and 480i, it would just take the new resolution and convert refresh to do as little processes as possible?
In the context of OSSC, passthrough means running output at the same horizontal and vertical rate than input. In general framebuffer is not needed there unless you do fancy stuff like rotation. I suppose you're talking about the functionality that will be provided by scaler mode in non-framelocked mode where you select a fixed output resolution + refresh rate and any input is then converted to that without interrupting the output stream.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 2:05 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2015
Posts: 144
Location: Salem OR
I just heard about the 1080i output and that sounds fantastic. Are there any plans to allow the hdmi port to be interlaced? For instance Nvidia Turing gpus and Nintendo switch don't support 1080i. Could someone send a 1080p signal through the OSSC pro and get 1080i?

Sent from my LM-Q710.FG using Tapatalk
_________________
Displays I currently own:
LG OLED 77C9, LG OLED 55CX
Apple Studio Monitor 21",JVC I'Art 36",SONY 34XBR960x3,TCL 43S405,CH-15DXA
Samsung UBJ590
Panasonic P50VT20
Toshiba 30HF85
JVC RS400,OptomaHD27HDR


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 10:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 784
Location: Finland
Bahn Yuki wrote:
I just heard about the 1080i output and that sounds fantastic. Are there any plans to allow the hdmi port to be interlaced? For instance Nvidia Turing gpus and Nintendo switch don't support 1080i. Could someone send a 1080p signal through the OSSC pro and get 1080i?
Yeah, both HDMI input and output support interlace. 1080i output presets (adaptive LM) already exist for 240p, 288p, 480i, 576i and 480p with 1080p->1080i being a trivial item to add.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2015
Posts: 144
Location: Salem OR
I'll be buying an OSSC Pro then. I was very worried I'd never be able to use RTX(Turing) gpus on my SONY 34XBR960 lag free.
_________________
Displays I currently own:
LG OLED 77C9, LG OLED 55CX
Apple Studio Monitor 21",JVC I'Art 36",SONY 34XBR960x3,TCL 43S405,CH-15DXA
Samsung UBJ590
Panasonic P50VT20
Toshiba 30HF85
JVC RS400,OptomaHD27HDR


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 10:13 am 



Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 162
Bahn Yuki wrote:
I'll be buying an OSSC Pro then. I was very worried I'd never be able to use RTX(Turing) gpus on my SONY 34XBR960 lag free.


I thought every HD CRT had digital processing so not lag free. Do light guns work on it?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 12:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1284
H6rdc0re wrote:
Bahn Yuki wrote:
I'll be buying an OSSC Pro then. I was very worried I'd never be able to use RTX(Turing) gpus on my SONY 34XBR960 lag free.


I thought every HD CRT had digital processing so not lag free. Do light guns work on it?

that's only a Sony thing, and even on the Sonys you can bypass it by toggling "HPDT" in the service menu

(only works with 1080i inputs)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2015
Posts: 144
Location: Salem OR
maxtherabbit wrote:
H6rdc0re wrote:
Bahn Yuki wrote:
I'll be buying an OSSC Pro then. I was very worried I'd never be able to use RTX(Turing) gpus on my SONY 34XBR960 lag free.


I thought every HD CRT had digital processing so not lag free. Do light guns work on it?

that's only a Sony thing, and even on the Sonys you can bypass it by toggling "HPDT" in the service menu

(only works with 1080i inputs)
Yes. If you enable HDPT on specific SONY HD Crts you will get 1080i lag free over component and HDMI. I have three SONY 34XBR960s which rival the image quality of my LG OLED displays while beating it in motion resolution @60hz.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
_________________
Displays I currently own:
LG OLED 77C9, LG OLED 55CX
Apple Studio Monitor 21",JVC I'Art 36",SONY 34XBR960x3,TCL 43S405,CH-15DXA
Samsung UBJ590
Panasonic P50VT20
Toshiba 30HF85
JVC RS400,OptomaHD27HDR


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 5:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1726
maxtherabbit wrote:
H6rdc0re wrote:
Bahn Yuki wrote:
I'll be buying an OSSC Pro then. I was very worried I'd never be able to use RTX(Turing) gpus on my SONY 34XBR960 lag free.


I thought every HD CRT had digital processing so not lag free. Do light guns work on it?

that's only a Sony thing, and even on the Sonys you can bypass it by toggling "HPDT" in the service menu

(only works with 1080i inputs)


Mitsubishi bypassed the processing for 1080i? I'm skeptical.
_________________
We apologise for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 8:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1284
orange808 wrote:

Mitsubishi bypassed the processing for 1080i? I'm skeptical.

Can't speak for Mitsubishi but my samsung scans out both 480p and 1080i with 0 lag


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:01 pm 



Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 162
Quote:
Yes. If you enable HDPT on specific SONY HD Crts you will get 1080i lag free over component and HDMI. I have three SONY 34XBR960s which rival the image quality of my LG OLED displays while beating it in motion resolution @60hz.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk


That's really cool. Was playing CoD Warzone today on my Sony W900 and looked pretty good. A lot softer compared to my LG OLED but still very nice none the less. Perfect motion though and zero lag. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 2:08 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Jan 2014
Posts: 974
maxtherabbit wrote:
orange808 wrote:

Mitsubishi bypassed the processing for 1080i? I'm skeptical.

Can't speak for Mitsubishi but my samsung scans out both 480p and 1080i with 0 lag


Hitachi Ultravision 36" was the same.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 7:48 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 324
maxtherabbit wrote:
orange808 wrote:

Mitsubishi bypassed the processing for 1080i? I'm skeptical.

Can't speak for Mitsubishi but my samsung scans out both 480p and 1080i with 0 lag


Can’t speak for Mitsubishi or Samsung but my Philips CRT scans out 240p, 480p and 1080i with 0 lag (measured with TimeSleuth).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 9:53 am 



Joined: 22 Jul 2020
Posts: 1
It will be possible to zoom the image? It would be of great help to control the horizontal size in order to make the image on the screen wider or narrower.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 1:38 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Oct 2015
Posts: 144
Location: Salem OR
It's nice to see I'm not alone in wanting 1080i. Seems that people out there have these HD CRTs and know how to feed it the proper signals in order to get lagless play. My Mister has the I/O board which gives me a second output. So one idea I have is to use HDMI to send it out over my projector(1080p/60hz) and place the YPbPr into the OSSC Pro to output 1080i. With the adaptive line mode, how much lag is it compared to the straight line multiplication of the original OSSC? I don't expect to be much but would want to know if I can play games without having to worry about in the back of my mind.

My projector does support a 1080p/120hz mode and wonder which mode on the OSSC Pro would allow analog sources ->1080p/120hz.
_________________
Displays I currently own:
LG OLED 77C9, LG OLED 55CX
Apple Studio Monitor 21",JVC I'Art 36",SONY 34XBR960x3,TCL 43S405,CH-15DXA
Samsung UBJ590
Panasonic P50VT20
Toshiba 30HF85
JVC RS400,OptomaHD27HDR


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 5:46 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 2330
Location: DFW area, Texas
marqs wrote:
Speaking of different displays, the adaptive line multiplication modes (ref. table a few pages back) are selected with the following display types in mind:

* SD CRT TVs (480p->240p, 480p->480i, 480i->240p etc.)
* HD CRT TVs (720p, 1080i output modes)
* 5:4 / 4:3 desktop monitors (1280x1024 and 1600x1200 output modes)
* 16:9 / 16:10 desktop monitors (1920x1080, 1920x1200, 1920x1440 output modes)
* HDTVs (720p, 1080p output modes)

About the schedule, we're now preparing second prototype round. Unfortunately the project has not been immune to the pandemic, though, and some rearrangements have been necessary. Late 2020 release is still possible if everything goes well from now on, but no guarantees.


Hey Marqs, a couple questions:

Have you looked at all the craze over the GBS project? I've watched some demos and the switch from progressive to interlace is the fastest I have yet seen since having a CRT do it. My second question is how will the OSSC Pro compare in that regard? Can it compete with what the customized GBS can do?
_________________
Web Site: http://www.firebrandx.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FBXGargoyle?lang=en


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12374
Location: Germany
The GBS normalizes the output refresh rate. It's doesn't lock to the input. There are other processors that will also switch seamlessly between 240p and 480i inputs, so we wouldn't expect anything less from the Pro - as long as you also allow it to unlock the refresh rate.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 9:01 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 784
Location: Finland
Below is table which hopefully answers some of recent questions:



Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 9:06 am 


User avatar

Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 82
Quote:
Seamless mode switch


WIN !!

I don't mind 1-2 frames of lag with double buffering, like on MiSTer.
I do mind losing 4-5 seconds of game content until my display wakes up.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: OSSC Pro
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:56 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Jan 2014
Posts: 974
Marqs, any progress / ETA updates? You are the man, keep up the incredible work.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 722 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eightbitminiboss, fernan1234, Opatus, ross, tacoguy64, Unseen and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group