Setting up BVM-D24E1WU

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
Wolf_PM

Setting up BVM-D24E1WU

Post by Wolf_PM »

I managed to get one of these things, but I'm still new to learning about everything you need set up for retro gaming, and I was wondering if I could find some assistance here. I have the monitor and the control unit under-mounted, and I only have the default analog board, which is all I think I need for most systems anyways? I have 4 separate 75 ohm terminators, but that's it.

I know I have to buy a couple of RCA to BNC adapters, but there's a 4th spot on the board for SYNC In and Out, do I need to connect anything to that? I'm primarily going to be using my Wii over component cables, and playing some games through the VC on that in 240p. If I don't need to connect anything to the sync in and out ports, then do I need anything other than 3 rca to bnc adapters and just plug the 3 component cables right in?

I didn't get a power cord with this, I'm assuming any power cord that I use to plug into any other monitors I have would be fine right? And for storage, is it a bad idea to have it on a carpet floor?

Sorry for asking some really silly questions, but I've tried researching with the little free time I have on my own and I haven't been able to figure it all out since everyone's setups seem to depend on which type of monitor they have.
Aelius

Re: Setting up BVM-D24E1WU

Post by Aelius »

The Wii component cables carry the picture's sync data over the green cable (Y). You will not be using external sync, don't worry about leaving that plug empty. You may need to select YPrPr in the D24's input settings, because the Wii is not putting out RGB.

Any power cord is probably fine, but I would choose your thickest one. The manual says 16-18 AWG is ideal, and if you're uncertain about the ones you have laying around, these are not expensive: https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=27285