HORI fighting commander review

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
heli

HORI fighting commander review

Post by heli »

HORI fighting commander review :

I am new to the PS4 shmups so i needed a new gamepad that dont make my left-thumb tired like the original PS4 dpad does.
I am used to play on sega saturn, it has the perfect SHMUP gamepad if you ask me.

This HORI fighting commander is for PS4, PS3 and PC compatible, very usefull.

I directly noticed the directional pad is not good, it is like a dreamcast, very bad.
If you press in reaction down, and need to avoid bullets by going sideward, it wont go sideward because you press down to hard,
this is because of the shape of the dpad.
What it should be : like sega saturn, a light moving round thing, not a heavey cross.

Compared to the PS4 you dont have to press that hard, only the reaction is sometimes not there with moving 2 directions,
while the PS4 controller has 4 loose individual buttons, that can all be pressed together because it is not connected in a cross shape.
It is a fighting commander not a SHMUP commander, so maybe it is good in tekken or streetfighter, only i dont play that, you might miss a few combos.

It has a nice long cable and no joysticks ( that break the first ), no accu that dies after a while, so it should be long lasting.

The X square triangle and circle buttons are very good, nice big, good pushable, many times better then the original PS4, and better then saturn controller buttons.
It dont has L3 and R3 buttons, only if you configure a switch that sets replaces R1 and R2 on top and configuring the L1 and L2.
Auto fire i dont use, might come in handy sometime.

You can not power the PS4 up with pressing the PS button, you need to use another controller before it works.
There is no options button, if you press the PS button twice you still can get into the pause menu in battle garegga.