shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Jul 16, 2020 2:29 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:35 pm 



Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 403
Location: Woodinville, WA
https://www.analogue.co/dac/

It's finally available for preorder - $79.99. I'm still on the fence myself, since I have original systems already hooked up to my analog displays. I was surprised to see it doesn't support the Nt Mini (I regrettably don't have one however.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:43 pm 



Joined: 17 Jan 2017
Posts: 158
Why should it support the NT Mini? That already has analog output out of the box.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:45 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 986
Wish this worked with any source and not just their FPGA clone consoles. Could replace high quality but more expensive HDMI to analogue adapters like the HDFury's.

H6rdc0re wrote:
Why should it support the NT Mini? That already has analog output out of the box.


There would be use for the non-mini second edition NTs that can only output composite and HDMI.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 3:46 pm 



Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 403
Location: Woodinville, WA
H6rdc0re wrote:
Why should it support the NT Mini? That already has analog output out of the box.


Doh, you're right. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:12 pm 



Joined: 29 Apr 2015
Posts: 25
Shipping to New Zealand or Australia seems to be $89.99 which is more than the DAC itself

Sent from my INE-LX2 using Tapatalk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:28 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 469
Pardon my severe ignorance, as I don't own any Analogue consoles, nor have I heard of this device before. What exactly is its use and why does it only work with Analogue consoles?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 1221
Location: Southern California
fernan1234 wrote:
Wish this worked with any source and not just their FPGA clone consoles. Could replace high quality but more expensive HDMI to analogue adapters like the HDFury's.

^ Yup.
That’s an unfortunate business choice.
If it worked for any source I’d be all over it. But as is, you can get an original SNES and RGB cables for cheaper than this.
I’m sure their target market would quadruple if it worked with other sources. Having it only tied to their consoles just stifles/limits the overall success of this.
_________________
The Artcade blog


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 523
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Wishfully hopes for jailbreak firmware...
_________________
My gaming setup for automatic switching (with product links)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 4:57 pm 



Joined: 05 Mar 2017
Posts: 403
Location: Woodinville, WA
I hadn't initially considered it, but someone on Twitter asked if a switch could be put between the consoles and the DAC. If not, you potentially need two of them if you want a seamless setup.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 523
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
strygo wrote:
I hadn't initially considered it, but someone on Twitter asked if a switch could be put between the consoles and the DAC. If not, you potentially need two of them if you want a seamless setup.


I believe I heard that it goes into a special mode that's not really HDMI spec. Based on my ad hoc testing of switches. I wouldn't hold hope of an automatic switch working well in that scenario. Maybe a manual one though. Especially if it's just mechanical.
_________________
My gaming setup for automatic switching (with product links)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
It's shame that the demo units are out there and still no one tested this thing with a hdmi matrix switch or splitter.

I'd like to know how the communication between the two units works and what's neccessary to enable 240p output on the console side (just some special EDID is actually the FPGA on the other end being present?). With a matrix switch between the units (enabling the 240p output to other sinks than the DAC) it would be possible to try other HDMI to analogue converters.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2305
Location: Montréal, Canada
I had heard that MLiG tested it through an HDMI switch or something, and it worked, but I don't know the sort of compatibility or limitations it might have, or anything about the setup they were testing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:19 pm 



Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 155
What a dumb product. Talk about catering to the niche of the niche. And a 6 month pre-order on top of that after 2 years of teasing it. They'll be lucky if they sell 200 of these.

For 100$ I can go buy hd retrovision cables and an old snes. Ya I get it, it works with 2 systems.....wow?

Hey analogue, make a cheaper nt mini already how about selling a product people actually want?

that is all


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2014
Posts: 174
Does this thing only care about 960 / 1080p in?

Can this be used as a downscaler of 480p content I wonder?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:27 pm 



Joined: 07 Feb 2013
Posts: 269
well it does give support for the 32x i guess for the mega sg. and allows you to play zapper games.
other than that I don't see much purpose of it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:54 pm 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Elrinth wrote:
well it does give support for the 32x i guess for the mega sg. and allows you to play zapper games.
other than that I don't see much purpose of it.

Where is it officially confirmed that 32x is supported? I saw no mention of it


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:42 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2305
Location: Montréal, Canada
korpse413 wrote:
Does this thing only care about 960 / 1080p in?

Can this be used as a downscaler of 480p content I wonder?


This thing is a DAC, not a downscaler. The console is going to send it 240p or 480i and let the DAC convert that to the analog output format.

mario64 wrote:
Where is it officially confirmed that 32x is supported? I saw no mention of it
Confirmed via twitter. Smokemonster has demonstrated that use case in action.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:33 am 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 134
Guspaz wrote:
korpse413 wrote:
Does this thing only care about 960 / 1080p in?

Can this be used as a downscaler of 480p content I wonder?


This thing is a DAC, not a downscaler. The console is going to send it 240p or 480i and let the DAC convert that to the analog output format.

mario64 wrote:
Where is it officially confirmed that 32x is supported? I saw no mention of it
Confirmed via twitter. Smokemonster has demonstrated that use case in action.
I’m skeptical of any claims which aren’t officially documented on the product page and/or user manual. Neither mention 32x support that I can see


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:41 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 585
Location: Singapore
It's implied in the first of those 2 bullet points
Code:
Special Features
- Compatible with CRT only peripherals
- Works with light guns
_________________
My sales thread : 2019/07/14..MASTER.VER.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:41 pm 



Joined: 13 Dec 2015
Posts: 134
parodius wrote:
It's implied in the first of those 2 bullet points
Code:
Special Features
- Compatible with CRT only peripherals
- Works with light guns
That’s not the way I read it. Plus, 32x support would be a huge selling point. Why on earth would they just ‘imply’ it?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 12310
Location: Germany
Quote:
That’s not the way I read it. Plus, 32x support would be a huge selling point. Why on earth would they just ‘imply’ it?

because the cables required are not easily available and don't want to "support" that. You need a RGB cable running from the DAC's output to the 32X passthrough/mixing input.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:56 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2126
mario64 wrote:
Guspaz wrote:
korpse413 wrote:
Does this thing only care about 960 / 1080p in?

Can this be used as a downscaler of 480p content I wonder?


This thing is a DAC, not a downscaler. The console is going to send it 240p or 480i and let the DAC convert that to the analog output format.

mario64 wrote:
Where is it officially confirmed that 32x is supported? I saw no mention of it
Confirmed via twitter. Smokemonster has demonstrated that use case in action.
I’m skeptical of any claims which aren’t officially documented on the product page and/or user manual. Neither mention 32x support that I can see


It's because the Mega Sg is HDMI only and you can't "support" that since the 32X is supposed to be connected in an analog fashion only, you first need to change that from HDMI to analog and the DAC does just that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:12 am 



Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 243
Location: The Netherlands
I wonder ehat the case will be like, it looks a bit like the typical homebrew plexi sandwich style but it does seem closed and have proper cut holes. Not really fond of the transparent concept renders, it has a cheapass look.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:07 pm 



Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 155
A) Yes, it allows you to use 32x.

B) Who cares.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1240
tusecsy wrote:
A) Yes, it allows you to use 32x.

B) Who cares.

virtua racing, virtua fighter, star wars arcade, wrestlemania arcade


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 103
Location: New York
Regarding use of the DAC with the 32x: I wonder if it’d be possible (via some feature in the firmware) for the Mega Sg output (i.e., 32X input) pixels to be locked (or at least tuneable) to the same phase as the 32X’s rendered (foreground) pixels. This would finally allow for pixel-perfect 1:1 sampling of the 32X with the OSSC.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 8:42 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Posts: 65
Yeah this'll be a pass for me, I can't really see a lot of point in the device - if I'm using a CRT I'll just use original hardware at a fraction of the cost of a Super NT / Mega SG. I purchased the Analogue devices because I no longer have a CRT hanging around - I have tried to talk my wife into letting me get one on eBay for the spare bedroom (which is my sort of game room) so I can hook up a PS2 / Saturn etc, but I'm not allowed to bring anymore "junk" into the house - its probably not a good time to tell her about my increasing mid life crisis urge to buy an arcade cab :lol:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2019 5:36 am 



Joined: 01 Feb 2016
Posts: 83
Location: Tokyo
So is this device only for 240p output? It doesn't allow the SuperNT/MegaSG to output 480p/720p/etc to a VGA monitor?

The lack of digital audio output is also disappointing. The HDMI Fury 2 I got more than 10 years ago seems like a much better package overall.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:47 pm 



Joined: 17 Jun 2016
Posts: 155
DAC is back up for preorder, even though they said they weren't making more?

Kinda a good idea to have one in the future for Pocket shenanigans on analogue displays.



But most of note is Ghostly Super NT is "ghostly" back in stock without an annoucement...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Analogue DAC
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:03 pm 



Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Posts: 469
tusecsy wrote:
Kinda a good idea to have one in the future for Pocket shenanigans on analogue displays.


Ironic, considering you said this in September:

"What a dumb product. Talk about catering to the niche of the niche. And a 6 month pre-order on top of that after 2 years of teasing it. They'll be lucky if they sell 200 of these."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shadowman, shmupsman and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group