Denon x3400h OSSC 480i passthru problem

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
DarkRoastChris

Denon x3400h OSSC 480i passthru problem

Post by DarkRoastChris »

Hello all. This is my first time posting here although I frequent this forum quite often looking for answers and info. However considering I have yet to find a solution to this problem I figured there's no time like the present to start a new topic and start posting.

I recently purchased a Denon avr x3400h to use with my OSSC after watching the My Life In Gaming 4k video. Try said that the receiver played very well with the OSSC which was the main reason why I purchased it. After setting up the receiver I fired up my PS2 slim going through the OSSC and into the receiver and set it 480i passthru mode.

Now here's the issue. When using this mode the picture becomes massively zoomed in with large alternating black horizontal bars and is completely unplayable. This does not happen when I have the OSSC running directly into my TV. However when I switch to 480i 4x (bob) while still running through the receiver the picture returns to normal. The picture quality in 480i passthru is much better than the 480i 4x (bob) mode so that's why I was trying to use this mode while having it run into the receiver as that would work wonders for my setup.

On a whim I actually decided to comment on the My Life In Gaming episode about the problem I'm having and was surprised when I got a very quick response from Try himself. He said that he actually had the same problem but forgot to mention it in the episode because he stopped using 480i passthru mode.

I've scoured the internet looking for even the slightest mention of this problem but alas I've had no luck. So now I'm extremely curious as to why this strange phenomenon is happening which is the reason for this topic. If anyone has any guesses or advice that would be most appreciated, or if you can direct me to the a similar topic that would be excellent.

Cheers.