Extron ONLY for h and v pos centering?

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
Taiyaki

Extron ONLY for h and v pos centering?

Post by Taiyaki »

I've never used an Extron unit before so I'm interested in gathering some info before jumping in.

My only reason in going for Extrons is because of the horizontal pos changes that occur with rgb connections. I have a dozen consoles with varying syncs (composite video, csync, luna on sync etc) as well as some component connections (and Groovymame via VGA to Component transcoder) and I only play on traditional 15khz consumer crt's.

Since I have no need for a lot of the other benefits provided by the 201 or 203 rxi units when coupled with xrgb and other devices outputting to lcd's, I was looking at those other models that have the h positioning knob such as the RGB 108, 108 plus etc.

My setup is basically
gscartsw > rgb to component encoder > crt
component switch box > crt

I unplug one for the other when swapping. This was done to avoid having the gscartsw go into another switch box and reducing the picture quality of the former.

Would those units work in my setup? My impression is that the Extron is at the end of the chain, and I would therefor have the gscartsw go into it and the component switch box go to it and just unplug one for the other when needed.

I read they add no lag, but do they change colors in any way? Anyone have other models they might recommend instead? Any opinions or experiences with Extrons to share? Any advice would be appreciated. :)
nmalinoski

Re: Extron ONLY for h and v pos centering?

Post by nmalinoski »