shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Feb 17, 2019 4:09 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
@Fudoh - The second screen on Darius Burst is flipped and a mirror is used to get that corrected within the game.. Do you know if the flip function on the Datapath X4 can be setup on the second screen on Darius Burst to correct the image and make it look normal? Does the flip option also introduces a frame of lag? Darius Burst native resolution seems to be at 1360 × 768 how do I configure that on the software?

The Darius Burst Game reads the drivers of the Taito's Monitors - I am planning on using two DVI - EDID emulators to copy the Taito's LCD EDID and use two TV or monitor(s).

My setup should look like this..
2 TVs or Monitor(s) or Dell P4317Q display multiple video inputs--> datapath x4 - 1 output flip second monitor --> 2 DVI-EDD emulators --> Taito Type X2 system.

thanks for the feedback..
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11486
Location: Germany
Quote:
The second screen on Darius Burst is flipped and a mirror is used to get that corrected within the game..

oh really? I always assumed the Burst cap was using two regular LCDs in standard orientation. And if the cab is using a mirror (to get rid of the screen gap), doesn't the PCB offer the option to use an un-mirrored output as an alternative?

Quote:
Do you know if the flip function on the Datapath X4 can be setup on the second screen on Darius Burst to correct the image and make it look normal? Does the flip option also introduces a frame of lag? Darius Burst native resolution seems to be at 1360 × 768 how do I configure that on the software?

flip and mirror is available on many processors. Certainly no need to shell out the money for a Datapath unit. But yes, you're looking at a fixed lag here. The processor won't care what you actually do and will instead buffer a frame of video. The solution would be to delay the other screen as well by using the same processor twice. The resolution is fine. You can configure the output resolution to be identical with the source resolution.

Quote:
The Darius Burst Game reads the drivers of the Taito's Monitors - I am planning on using two DVI - EDID emulators to copy the Taito's LCD EDID and use two TV or monitor(s).

and how does the board react if it sees regular monitors instead ?

Quote:
My setup should look like this..
2 TVs or Monitor(s) or Dell P4317Q display multiple video inputs

The 49" 32:9 screens available from Samsung, Dell and Philips would be nice for that setup. I have a NEC 12:3 LCD (true 3x 4:3) for the classic Darius games and was definitely planning on getting one of the 49" ones for a Darius Burst setup.

But I have to ask: with a PC home version available (which offers the arcade mode in 32:9 res), is it worth it to spend that kind of money and effort on the arcade version?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:02 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
@Fudoh - thanks for the quick reply and feedback..

The cab uses one normal monitor and a mirror next to that monitor..on the floor is a second monitor with a flip image. The PCB does not offer the option to use an un-mirror output as an alternative or let you mess with the game or OS. There might be some private hack version out there that has been modify to display the second monitor properly but I am not aware of this because I am not a VIP.


"flip and mirror is available on many processors"
Could you please recommend a device that can do this.. I wish that we had a current LCD that had this built in..

"how does the board react if it sees regular monitors instead ?"
The Taito Type X2 system will boot to a different resolution and screen with a "test of the day" error.

"The 49" 32:9 screens available from Samsung, Dell and Philips"
do you happen to have model number for those? do they take and display two inputs signals at the same time? ideally, i want to display the game on one monitor without frame:)

"PC home version available (which offers the arcade mode in 32:9 res), is it worth it to spend that kind of money and effort on the arcade version?"
Probably NOT but I love the game and have it on all format versions:)..
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11486
Location: Germany
Quote:
"flip and mirror is available on many processors"
Could you please recommend a device that can do this.. I wish that we had a current LCD that had this built in..

not really. I've seen it on so many units, but since I never found any use for it, I didn't really pay attention. On VPs it's used for ceiling mounting projectors or to put the projector behind the screen. MANY (if not most) presentation scalers (Kramer stuff for example) should have this. Maybe look for something affordable first and then check the documentation for the feature.

Quote:
"The 49" 32:9 screens available from Samsung, Dell and Philips"
do you happen to have model number for those? do they take and display two inputs signals at the same time? ideally, i want to display the game on one monitor without frame:)

US model numbers tend to differ from ours, just check a few reviews on Youtube. Yes, I they can display two inputs next to each other. Last year's 49" models have 3840*1080 screen. This year you can get 5120*1440 models. The Samsung is about 850 EUR over here.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:03 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1020
I've been playing around with tate mode stuff and a 4:4:4 test pattern today.

Looks like the Datapath x4 is a full 4:4:4 machine. :)

Very nice.
_________________
We apologize for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
@Fudoh - thanks for all the feedback..

Many TVs claim to be able to present two pictures but it usually from different inputs or over windows software but I have only seen the Dell monitor that does that.. My Samsun TV for example claims that it can see two inputs but not if both are coming from the HDMI out puts.. I also, have a Dell monitor with the same feature, but agin not both from the same source. It would be nice to know the USA model TV that can place two video source from the HDMI side by side and at the correct ration and screen size..

There were TVs that could flip the image back during the Darius released which could be found in Japan.. but now, I don't know of any current ones...It would be nice to know of a particular model device that can flip the image without lag...
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11486
Location: Germany
I know, but the 49" 32:9 ones are basically made to replace 2-monitor setups and they can display two sources borderless next to each other.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
Fudoh wrote:
I know, but the 49" 32:9 ones are basically made to replace 2-monitor setups and they can display two sources borderless next to each other.

Could you give me your region model to see if I can find the USA version. Thanks
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11486
Location: Germany
Check this review here
https://www.forbes.com/sites/mitchwalla ... 65b6d7735e

It starts with a screenshot of the Samsaung 49" running a PS4 and XBOX at the same time next to each other.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
Thanks.. I took a look but for the love of Jebus, why curved..a flat version please:)
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1117
Location: Australia
The steam version of this game on an ultra wide curved monitor is pretty awesome.

Playing it across 2 screens without the mirror setup sucks as alot of gameplay is in the center. I tried it and moved on.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11486
Location: Germany
At 4ft in width you learn to appreciate the curve. I didn't think so at first, but I can understand the reasoning now. The Dell 49" will be my next desktop monitor. The Dell also has a considerably lighter curve than the Samsung, but it's more expensive.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:34 am 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
@Fudoh ....this guy??

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... -_-Product
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:20 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11486
Location: Germany
yes, will replace my 2x24" setup, but I need a new desk first, so not before the summer...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
I was googling Mame games that support more than one monitor and got a link to an old post of yours.. I will be getting the monitor for Darius Burst PC at some point and worry about the Arcade Version later since this monitor would be good for the arcade version as well.. The only thing that I would have to worry about it the flipping the second monitor image part and the UI DVI emulator.

I took a look at a few reviews and the curve does not seem to be as severed as the Samsun and others curved monitor versions but one thing that I did not like was the 60hz part which might be a problem for future proof of newer games that might use the 36:9..


viewtopic.php?f=1&t=22529&start=5
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3037
Location: UK
Ever since I played Darius Burst at Arcade Club I really wanted to get the experience in my own home. Those 32:9 screens seem the best way to do it in the home, although, I did Google search and you can buy the whole cabinet for surprisingly little, like 3k or so (plus shipping and install costs I would expect). Now, that's not exactly an impulse purchase, but if you could effectively use that lovely 4 player joystick and dual screens for other games too...

So I'm thinking, if you did own the cab, what's to stop you replacing the Taito PC inside the cab with a steam PC and simply flipping the output of the second screen using Nvidia or ATI's software?
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:38 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
For most people the problem is space....that cab is, last name mongous, first name huggggge........Hugggggemongous:)
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3037
Location: UK
I know but a guy can dream right? Do you know how the joysticks connect up, are they USB or some kind of proprietary design?
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:26 am 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
The joysticks and buttons connect to two Taito JVS fast I/Os.. from there there is a nextwork RJ45 type of cable that goes to the Taito Type X2 system PCI fast I/O Card..
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:25 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3037
Location: UK
Wow, I thought they'd just be USB.
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Datapath x4 flip screen Darius Burst Question @Fudoh
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Location: zip code 20151 USA
BuckoA51 wrote:
Wow, I thought they'd just be USB.

People would hack it quickly if it had.. Taito implemented quite a bit of security in this game.

The game needs
TTX2 system with Fast I/O
HD with the Darius game
USB stick with the game key
Two fast I/O
Game check for monitors drivers software
_________________
The Future Is Now


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobrocks95, Brad251, dreadnought, maxtherabbit and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group