shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:09 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5637
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
Anyone have an image of the scanlines at 480?

Any idea of they'll fix the issue?

I just updated the firmware to my Super NT Mini, and now I can only have the color changing light, or the white light. Screwy.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
Quote:
Can someone chime in on the interpolation? Is it about the same as Super NT's? That's pretty crucial for me.

yes, the scaling options are identical. The MD usually uses a higher horizontal resolution (320 px instead of 256 px), so in terms of resolution the MD looks a bit better.

Quote:
Also, from just glancing at some of the posts, there's problems with 480 scanlines?

no, they look fine. 720p is bugged.

Quote:
Is there ever going to be a method for scanlines to look as good as they do as 720p when using 1080p output?

can be done with shaders and maybe by altering the processing order of "scanlining" versus scaling versus interpolating.

In my opinion the key to proper scanlines is scaling. 720p scanlines look good because the display is rescaling the machine's output, but this scaling could be moved to the system instead. Another good start would be not to use just single a single line for the scanlines on 4x or 5x output. Everything manageable in software.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 11:14 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5637
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Can someone chime in on the interpolation? Is it about the same as Super NT's? That's pretty crucial for me.

yes, the scaling options are identical. The MD usually uses a higher horizontal resolution (320 px instead of 256 px), so in terms of resolution the MD looks a bit better.

Quote:
Also, from just glancing at some of the posts, there's problems with 480 scanlines?

no, they look fine. 720p is bugged.

Quote:
Is there ever going to be a method for scanlines to look as good as they do as 720p when using 1080p output?

can be done with shaders and maybe by altering the processing order of "scanlining" versus scaling versus interpolating.

In my opinion the key to proper scanlines is scaling. 720p scanlines look good because the display is rescaling the machine's output, but this scaling could be moved to the system instead. Another good start would be not to use just single a single line for the scanlines on 4x or 5x output. Everything manageable in software.


Thanks.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 1:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 617
Location: Rome
Out of curiosity, is there a way to change the scanline thickness?

I've seen several devices just alternating the scanlines which to me is perfectly fine when line doubling, but for 4x is dead wrong.

To make this clear, if you have a 480p output it should be like


V
S

V
S


where V = video line and S = scan line

but for 4x, 960p output (or 1080p with black borders), it should be


V
V
S
S

V
V
S
S

V
V
S
S

V
V
S
S


and not


V
S
V
S

V
S
V
S

V
S
V
S

V
S
V
S


Because this leads to scanlines which are too thin and just don't make any sense, IMHO, and still this is what I've seen most devices doing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:34 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
Quote:
Out of curiosity, is there a way to change the scanline thickness?

no, you currently only get single line scanlines, no matter what your output resolution is set to.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:20 am 


User avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2015
Posts: 2310
Location: DFW area, Texas
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Out of curiosity, is there a way to change the scanline thickness?

no, you currently only get single line scanlines, no matter what your output resolution is set to.


Hence, people that gotta have scanlines will have to use 720p output for better ratios.
_________________
Web Site: http://www.firebrandx.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FBXGargoyle?lang=en


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:14 pm 



Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 191
Location: UK
Anyone else notice a glitch in 480p resolution? There's sometimes a weird horizontal line top right of screen when the background scrolls (and some other cases). Can be produced using the 240P Test Suite scroll test. I've got to go out now, but will take a screenshot later if required.
_________________
Don't bomb. DON'T BOMB.
Damn! Should have bombed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
480p output is hardly useable atm, since a bug is preventing a horizontal integer 2x scale (320x2=640px) scale.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:57 pm 



Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 198
Location: The Netherlands
FBX wrote:
Fudoh wrote:
Quote:
Out of curiosity, is there a way to change the scanline thickness?

no, you currently only get single line scanlines, no matter what your output resolution is set to.


Hence, people that gotta have scanlines will have to use 720p output for better ratios.


This is confusing, didnt i read a few posts back that 720p scanlines are broken?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
not completely broken, but bugged. Doesn't change the fact that the output for halfway proper looking scanlines should always be 720p. If you're ok with rather light scanlines, then the bug on the SG won't even bother you and if you want stronger scanlines there's an easy (while not ideal) workaround.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1314
Location: Bedfordshire, England.
Guess its almost impossible to have a 'HDMI scanline dongle' type device that would sit between the device and TV to add scanlines?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:19 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 1737
Location: Denmark
Is there an option to automatically force 60Hz on EU cartridges, or does this involve digging through menus each time?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 1:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
Quote:
Is there an option to automatically force 60Hz on EU cartridges, or does this involve digging through menus each time?

with the automatic region detection disabled, the video defaults to the set output resolution (and refresh), doesn't it ? Or was it vice versa ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 1737
Location: Denmark
I don’t have one yet so I don’t know. But it would be a major oversight if it wasn’t able to switch automatically. I’m specifically thinking of those games that have to be booted in 50Hz and then switched to 60. Like the Konami games.

How did the Super Nt handle this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:58 pm 



Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 198
Location: The Netherlands
lettuce wrote:
Guess its almost impossible to have a 'HDMI scanline dongle' type device that would sit between the device and TV to add scanlines?


Not sure if you’re serious, but if you google for “hdmi scanline generator” you can have one for a few bucks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2016
Posts: 406
Konsolkongen wrote:
How did the Super Nt handle this?


The SuperNt does nothing to circumvent register region locks. You can just switch between PAL and NTSC but then you are stucked with 50Hz or 60Hz gameplay, respectively. Some games check for region periodically so you cannot even change it after initial checkup. Other games even don't have the region check; with these games you are lucky.
In my opinion this is not region free! I pointed that out very early - even before release with the first reviews - on several points (forum, mail to Analogue, pn to Kevtris, etc.) but nobody cares until now.
_________________
Visit my projekts: GitHub, OSH Park


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:04 pm 



Joined: 29 Apr 2016
Posts: 177
Mega Sg Jailbreak


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:11 pm 



Joined: 25 Jun 2016
Posts: 319
copy wrote:

supports colecovision wtf


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:20 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2018
copy wrote:


Well that was fast, thank you very much.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:36 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 542
Jailbreak for these clone consoles is a given. I bet most people who bought were willing to pay their price under the assumption that there's going to be a jailbreak.

It is nice that it's out so quickly though, and the colecovision stuff is a neat bone to throw. It's also a reminder that many other cores could fit in there.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
Does anybody know if japanese Mark III carts work using the Retrofreak Mark III to MD adapter ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 12:11 am 



Joined: 25 Jun 2016
Posts: 319
I told myself I would never buy another Analogue product after they didn't port the nt mini cores to the SNT (preservationists my ass, they don't even sell the Nt mini anymore) but if the MSG gets the rest of them I'll pick it up.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:23 am 


User avatar

Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 1737
Location: Denmark
borti4938 wrote:
Konsolkongen wrote:
How did the Super Nt handle this?


The SuperNt does nothing to circumvent register region locks. You can just switch between PAL and NTSC but then you are stucked with 50Hz or 60Hz gameplay, respectively. Some games check for region periodically so you cannot even change it after initial checkup. Other games even don't have the region check; with these games you are lucky.
In my opinion this is not region free! I pointed that out very early - even before release with the first reviews - on several points (forum, mail to Analogue, pn to Kevtris, etc.) but nobody cares until now.


That’s insane :( Maybe this is something that could be corrected in the jailbreak firmware?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Jan 2012
Posts: 879
Location: San Jose, CA
Wolf_ wrote:
copy wrote:

supports colecovision wtf

Holy shit I'm on it

EDIT: So I tried the jailbroken firmware and the CV core works very well. I think it's the same core used in the jailbroken Nt mini firmware so I'm not surprised. The one game I ran into problems with was Choplifter which had graphical glitches, but there are better ports of the game anyway. CV controllers also won't work (which might be fortunate or unfortunate depending on how you view the CV controllers), but you can use the Y and Z buttons with the D-pad to simulate keypad buttons.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Jan 2016
Posts: 520
Location: San Jose, CA
This "jailbreak" that "definitely came from a third party" seems to work well. My only complaint is that I was able to get it in a state where it wouldn't load any more games, and was stuck on a black screen, necessitating a power cycle. This has happened a few times.
_________________
Making Gimmick! exAct * Mix
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:37 am 



Joined: 28 Mar 2019
Posts: 9
Has anyone run into any issues playing Sega CD games with a Model 2 attached to the Mega Sg? I regularly get a glitch with Final Fight CD where the sprites for the enemies or my character freeze which then prevents me from continuing the game. Also, when Silpheed crashes (which is does regularly on original hardware as well) instead of taking me back to the menu and giving me an extra life and letting me continue with the game like it should it just gives me a black screen. My Model 2 Sega CD could very well be dying but all the other Sega CD games I've tried on it work perfectly so I'm curious if there are others who have experienced odd glitches with Sega CD games on the Mega Sg.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:29 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 2778
Location: Germany
GameLifter wrote:
Has anyone run into any issues playing Sega CD games with a Model 2 attached to the Mega Sg?

I have a Mega CD 2 attached and I haven‘t experienced problems like those. I only have 3 CD games to test, though, namely Keio Flying Squadron, Lords of Thunder, and Robo Aleste. These all seem to work fine, but I haven‘t played them all the way through. It‘s possible they glitch later on.

The only glitches in connection with the Mega CD were in a couple of Master System games, but the latest firmware seems to have fixed that problem.

I do have a different problem. I can‘t select 720p or 480p, even though the Mega SG states that my screen supports them right underneath the options. I can‘t select anything else than 1080p.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:11 am 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Germany
Quote:
I do have a different problem. I can‘t select 720p or 480p, even though the Mega SG states that my screen supports them right underneath the options. I can‘t select anything else than 1080p.

Contrary to everything else in the menu you have to select the resolution using the START button. Maybe you just missed this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 2778
Location: Germany
Fudoh wrote:
Contrary to everything else in the menu you have to select the resolution using the START button. Maybe you just missed this?

Indeed I did. Thank you for pointing it out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mega Sg (FPGA Genesis)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:00 pm 



Joined: 17 May 2013
Posts: 146
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
GameLifter wrote:
Has anyone run into any issues playing Sega CD games with a Model 2 attached to the Mega Sg? I regularly get a glitch with Final Fight CD where the sprites for the enemies or my character freeze which then prevents me from continuing the game. Also, when Silpheed crashes (which is does regularly on original hardware as well) instead of taking me back to the menu and giving me an extra life and letting me continue with the game like it should it just gives me a black screen. My Model 2 Sega CD could very well be dying but all the other Sega CD games I've tried on it work perfectly so I'm curious if there are others who have experienced odd glitches with Sega CD games on the Mega Sg.

I do not have my SG hooked up to a Sega CD but Smokemonster mentioned a few bugs different from yours (the two I can recall are Mickey Mania and something in Snatcher--bummer!). It might be a good idea to shoot Analogue a message with your particular games' issues, this is probably their time to continue squashing bugs,


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BazookaBen, Bratwurst, Extrems, sparksterz and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group