shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:05 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 290 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:01 pm 



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Thats just what my crt supports


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:49 pm 



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Do you know what settings I need for 480i?
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 4:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1725
858 total hor
720 active hor
480 active vert
525 total vert

check the interlaced box

refresh rate should be about ~59.94

negative sync on both should be fine.

Adjust your porches to center the image.

https://www.epanorama.net/documents/vid ... iming.html
_________________
We apologise for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:43 pm 



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:06 pm 



Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 11
I wasnt able to get those settings to save but I was able to load that preset file but editing what firmware I had and version of the corio2.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:57 pm 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
So a quick evening testing out the JVC DV-T, nothing coming out the Corio2 but I have yet to try USB programming.

RE: earlier discussions on scanlines - idk how the whole thing works but the 480i (CPS-2 Digital AV > HDMI > VGA > BNC RGBHV) looks the same, scanline-wise, as my JVC TM-H at 240p (supergun > SCART RGBs), not what I expected and totally counter to my intuition on beam thickness. v :?v


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1725
kerryking wrote:
I wasnt able to get those settings to save but I was able to load that preset file but editing what firmware I had and version of the corio2.


Good to hear. You might want to stick with predefined timings.

You were feeding your display 2049i @ 7.5Hz before. :)
_________________
We apologise for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:29 am 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
So I'm having a terrible trouble with 750 into JVC DT-V. At the start of the evening I was getting flashes of the Corio2 splash screen before clicks and fuzz to black, then back to splash and back to black. Nothing stable, and uncomfortable degauss noises at each switch.

After firmware update and flashing the .xml, I have nothing, just degauss/freq change fizzing every few seconds without latching onto anything. Apparently not seeing the sync.

I figured out that I don't need to go through the OSD and I can control the Corio2 with the software and USB in the Basic screen which lets me switch between presets. Alternate LCD monitor works fine, coming up with the Corio2 splash screen, and switching outputs through the software rather than OSD is effective.

Running HDMI > C2 750 > DVI to VGA > VGA to BNC RGBHV > JVC RGB/Component card.

Toggling RGBs and all the others does not help.

DT-Vs are apparently picky on the syncs, anyone else had and overcome this problem? I'd be happy with any functional picture coming through at whatever resolution and go from there.

EDIT: trying to get an actual input/output into the monitor gets a picture (720p > 720p) washes out the colours, as if it were seeing a sun-bleached poster. Splash screen seems fine, though I can't seem to toggle between the available splash screens so I don't even know if I'm controlling anything in the settings. It's a mystery...

EDIT2: Successful output achieved! I'm not sure of the reason but I changed up the connections. The Corio2 splash screen was fazing in for a second before disappearing, I figured it's me trying to take a VGA signal out of the 750 though a passive adapter (DVI to VGA) which was killing some sync. Took the DVI to HDMI (passive cable) into active HDMI-VGA dongle (needs the 5V plugged in) into the DV-T through BNC. The 240p picture is coming in narrow, pretty much 1:1 rather than 4:3, height is good. Not sure if it's the source or Corio2 but I'm getting closer! All in RGBHV afaict.

Not sure if it helps anyone but tl;dr: getting a VGA out from C2 750 is proving to be a problem, for me it's better to go through an HDMI-VGA adapter between the C2 750's DVI out and JVC's VGA/BNC in.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:20 am 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
Hello, I’m new here. I'm having issues with my 1T-C2-400. I get errors and it fails after I try flashing the firmware. I’m not sure what are causing the issues. I attached pictures to show when it fails. Any help/ suggestions?

Image

Image


Image


Last edited by DJtheGamer on Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:06 am 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
DJtheGamer wrote:
Hello, I’m new here. I'm having issues with my 1T-C2-400. I get errors and it fails after I try flashing the firmware. I’m not sure what are causing the issues. I attached pictures to show when it fails. Any help/ suggestions?

Image

Image


Image


Can anyone please help?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 854
Location: Italy
If the installation doesn't start at all, it is probably exactly what it says - a communication error. Make sure you have selected the correct port or, if you're using a serial adapter, that it works (try it with some other equipment, if you've got any).

Why are you trying to reflash the firmware? If your unit is functional, there's no real need to. Any version will do, and you can set up a 240p profile manually as well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:44 pm 



Joined: 02 Mar 2017
Posts: 1135
Also search this topic for .NET Framework (I think it's called). Prevented me from updating mine I think (sorry, it's bee way too long - memory is hazy).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:51 pm 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
Xer Xian wrote:
If the installation doesn't start at all, it is probably exactly what it says - a communication error. Make sure you have selected the correct port or, if you're using a serial adapter, that it works (try it with some other equipment, if you've got any).

Why are you trying to reflash the firmware? If your unit is functional, there's no real need to. Any version will do, and you can set up a 240p profile manually as well.


Hello, yes I’m using the recommended serial to usb cable in the original post. I don’t think I have any equipment to try out the cable with. How do I select the right port?

I recently purchased the item. I don’t think it has been flashed with the 240p profile yet. I was following instructions to do a firmware update/ clean install before flashing the 240p profile.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:53 pm 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
Dochartaigh wrote:
Also search this topic for .NET Framework (I think it's called). Prevented me from updating mine I think (sorry, it's bee way too long - memory is hazy).


Hello, do I search for .NET Framework within these forums or google?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1725
DJtheGamer wrote:
Dochartaigh wrote:
Also search this topic for .NET Framework (I think it's called). Prevented me from updating mine I think (sorry, it's bee way too long - memory is hazy).


Hello, do I search for .NET Framework within these forums or google?


.NET is a set of Microsoft libraries and frameworks that helps devs build common elements and features into their projects without "reinventing the wheel". If a program uses .NET, you need to download it on your machine to run the program. I don't know if the Corio2 firmware update program uses .NET or not.

Check out the Microsoft website to get it. In some cases, a program uses an old (aka legacy or depreciated) version of the .NET framework and you need an older version of .NET installed on your machine to run the program.

As a general rule, I follow the old "if isn't broken, don't fix it" mantra with video processor firmware. If you don't have a specific issue that a newer firmware will patch, it's often better to skip the update entirely. Is there something specific in the changelogs that you need?
_________________
We apologise for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 12:06 am 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
orange808 wrote:
DJtheGamer wrote:
Dochartaigh wrote:
Also search this topic for .NET Framework (I think it's called). Prevented me from updating mine I think (sorry, it's bee way too long - memory is hazy).


Hello, do I search for .NET Framework within these forums or google?


.NET is a set of Microsoft libraries and frameworks that helps devs build common elements and features into their projects without "reinventing the wheel". If a program uses .NET, you need to download it on your machine to run the program. I don't know if the Corio2 firmware update program uses .NET or not.

Check out the Microsoft website to get it. In some cases, a program uses an old (aka legacy or depreciated) version of the .NET framework and you need an older version of .NET installed on your machine to run the program.

As a general rule, I follow the old "if isn't broken, don't fix it" mantra with video processor firmware. If you don't have a specific issue that a newer firmware will patch, it's often better to skip the update entirely. Is there something specific in the changelogs that you need?


I was following instructions in the original post to do a firmware update/ clean install before flashing the 240p profile.

I cannot use the firmware update or the software program, I get an error. How do I select the correct comm port?

I have Windows 10, which .NET framework legacy should I download?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:35 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2016
Posts: 1725
DJtheGamer wrote:
.

I cannot use the firmware update or the software program, I get an error.


To be honest, I think your problem is the USB to serial adapter you have. Get a different one.

.NET problems often throw specific error messages that provide information about what's missing. Superficially, the errors I see look like a cable issue.

Better yet, skip the update. It should be just fine.

If you bought a device that's bricked, try a different power supply. If the power supply doesn't fix it, return it. I don't believe there are any bugs on any C2 firmware that would cause a brick.
_________________
We apologise for the inconvenience


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 4:37 am 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
orange808 wrote:
DJtheGamer wrote:
.

I cannot use the firmware update or the software program, I get an error.


To be honest, I think your problem is the USB to serial adapter you have. Get a different one.

.NET problems often throw specific error messages that provide information about what's missing. Superficially, the errors I see look like a cable issue.

Better yet, skip the update. It should be just fine.

If you bought a device that's bricked, try a different power supply. If the power supply doesn't fix it, return it. I don't believe there are any bugs on any C2 firmware that would cause a brick.


Any recommendations on different brand of cable?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 5:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Jul 2020
Posts: 1
I'm looking onto a C2-3350. According to its manual https://www.manualslib.com/manual/69189 ... =20#manual It may be (or not) capable of downscaling.

But... Since the price on these things are quite high... especially where I live... If someone could confirm if it works, I would be really grateful. Thank you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: TUTORIAL for TVOne Corio2 240p Downscalers
PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:14 am 



Joined: 17 Jul 2020
Posts: 7
Update, I bought a new cable by a different brand, and installed NET Framework and I’m still getting errors.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 290 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ApolloBoy, inno, naz, RoboArmy, shmupsman and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group