shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:13 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:03 am 



Joined: 16 Feb 2017
Posts: 1
I have a PVM 20L5 with the BKM-HD142 optional card, which adds HD SDI input.

I’m unable to get 720p to work through the HDSDI, only 1080i. I can get 480p, 720p, 1080i through component, but only 1080i will sync through the HD142 card, which is kind of weird...

That means newer consoles with no component or interlace have no way to hook up to my PVM without doing a digital to analog convertion, which I’m trying to avoid.

I’m wondering if someone here have been through this and experienced the same thing?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 5:27 pm 



Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 132
This is not a solution to your problem, but I would highly recommend using a PC CRT like a Sony GDM if you want to play Switch on a CRT. I have mine hooked up to my GDM-FW900 and it looks amazing. And you get 1080p, which is not possible on your PVM. Use one of those $15 Tendak HDMI to VGA converters.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:47 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1205
andy251203 wrote:
This is not a solution to your problem, but I would highly recommend using a PC CRT like a Sony GDM if you want to play Switch on a CRT. I have mine hooked up to my GDM-FW900 and it looks amazing. And you get 1080p, which is not possible on your PVM. Use one of those $15 Tendak HDMI to VGA converters.

This

The Switch has too many games above 720p to be playing on a PVM/BVM CRT.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:15 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 725
Location: Italy
Yep, OP might want to give away his 20L5 'couse GDM-FW900 Sony's actually grow on trees :roll:

Anyway, I can't be of much help. Maybe check on the spec sheet that your SDI converter outputs a standard signal (SMPTE 296M).

In any case, converting the signal to analog won't be detrimental to picture quality - on the contrary, it might be superior to HD-SDI (which is downscaled to 4:2:2).


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:54 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 1574
Switch probably looks pretty sweet on a 20L5. Besides, many games aren't 1080p anyway, they're 900p and scaled up. So running at 720p, you won't be missing out as much as you think.

That said, I play Switch on a PC CRT and I love it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Has anyone tried the Switch in 480p on CRTs? Do most games support 4:3 at all? I know the ACA titles and things like Wild Guns and SF 30th should be fine but what about say Mario Kart? Been wondering whether to try mine with HDMI to component converter on the BVM.. Just for quick sessions of arcade type games when living room TV is in use. And I'm after 480p since its full screen, not too crazy about the black bars top and bottom that 720p has on my monitor.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:27 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 1574
werk91 wrote:
Has anyone tried the Switch in 480p on CRTs? Do most games support 4:3 at all? I know the ACA titles and things like Wild Guns and SF 30th should be fine but what about say Mario Kart? Been wondering whether to try mine with HDMI to component converter on the BVM.. Just for quick sessions of arcade type games when living room TV is in use. And I'm after 480p since its full screen, not too crazy about the black bars top and bottom that 720p has on my monitor.


Every game on the Wii U was 16:9. So I doubt anything on the Switch will support 4:3.

You need to get used to the black bars.

Your (and my) only hope nowadays is PC. Many PC games still support 4:3 (and 16:10, and 21:9, and 5:4, and so on)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:28 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Thank you for clarifying! Maybe the black bars won't be so bad if I had the 16:9 bezel that you can clip on the monitor's screen. Doubt I'll ever find that for sale though :) Here's someone on Reddit playing Switch on same monitor as mine but 17" size: r/crtgaming. The widescreen bezel definitively helps with the whole look.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 1574
Dude why does it make a difference whether you have a bezel or not? You're looking at the image on the screen, no the black bars.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:08 pm 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 853
I would think that bezel would be moot/useless if you intend to switch back and forth between 16:9 and 4:3 content, otherwise you're continually installing and uninstalling it, risking damage to a rare part.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Has anyone successfully hook up a Switch to BKM-HD142?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jun 2012
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Its just an OCD thing guys :mrgreen: Can agree that it'll be impractical to constantly switch it out, and obviously not owning the bezel won't stop me from trying it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: donluca, FinalBaton, Google [Bot], svensonson, Unseen, Xer Xian and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group