shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:40 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:43 pm 



Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 1159
does anyone have one of those cheap 1080 HDMI switches from monoprice? do they work good?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:45 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 279
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
HDMI is voodoo. What works for one person's setup may work terribly for another.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:35 am 



Joined: 24 Apr 2018
Posts: 9
mvsfan wrote:
does anyone have one of those cheap 1080 HDMI switches from monoprice? do they work good?


I have an expensive on off Monoprice (https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24180) and it gets confused by the NESRGB/OSSC and often needs power cycling :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 2:41 am 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 301
I have one from Monoprice and another from Smartooo or something like that. Neither likes the OSSC, but otherwise they both have worked pretty much flawlessly provided I use good HDMI cables. At least for 4k content. They auto switch, which is really handy.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 7:47 pm 



Joined: 06 Oct 2012
Posts: 1159
thats what i wanted to hear thanks. I wont be using the ossc with it so it should be fine.

Im planning to use nes/snes classic with it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:12 am 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jul 2018
Posts: 8
On a related note, is there an HDMI switch that plays nice with the OSSC? I'm assuming automatic switches are out of the question, but do manual switches mitigate the HDMI voodoo?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:33 pm 



Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Posts: 10
I have used this one Kinivo 501BN for years and it works with the OSSC.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:03 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 279
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
airco wrote:
On a related note, is there an HDMI switch that plays nice with the OSSC? I'm assuming automatic switches are out of the question, but do manual switches mitigate the HDMI voodoo?


I've had reasonable success using https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B06VWB823B to switch between a framemeister and ossc. But there are some subtleties that I'm not fully recalling at the moment. I think it mostly works if the thing I'm using is the only thing that's on. It's definitely not bulletproof.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:51 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Posts: 218
Location: United States
I am surprised there isn't a recommended one. All I need one for is to switch between a Xbox 360,Wii U,PS3, and Switch.

Luckily I have three HDMI ports.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:02 am 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
I got a 'Ligawo 3090064 HDMI Switch'. It's an inexpensive 5:1 automatic switcher with a remote, bought it on Amazon. I used it with an OSSC, 360, PS3, PS4, Wii U, MacBook, Raspberry Pi, etc. The switch is running 24/7, never had any issues with it. No compatibility problems, no dropouts, no A/V glitches, never needed to be restarted / have stuff re-plugged, never failed to autoswitch to a device that's turning on or accidentally switched back to a previous device.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:37 am 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 478
ASDR wrote:
I got a 'Ligawo 3090064 HDMI Switch'. It's an inexpensive 5:1 automatic switcher with a remote, bought it on Amazon. I used it with an OSSC, 360, PS3, PS4, Wii U, MacBook, Raspberry Pi, etc. The switch is running 24/7, never had any issues with it. No compatibility problems, no dropouts, no A/V glitches, never needed to be restarted / have stuff re-plugged, never failed to autoswitch to a device that's turning on or accidentally switched back to a previous device.

What's the automatic switching behavior like? If it's already showing an active input, will it switch to a different input that becomes active, or will it stay on the current active input?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:30 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 279
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
ASDR wrote:
I got a 'Ligawo 3090064 HDMI Switch'. It's an inexpensive 5:1 automatic switcher with a remote, bought it on Amazon. I used it with an OSSC, 360, PS3, PS4, Wii U, MacBook, Raspberry Pi, etc. The switch is running 24/7, never had any issues with it. No compatibility problems, no dropouts, no A/V glitches, never needed to be restarted / have stuff re-plugged, never failed to autoswitch to a device that's turning on or accidentally switched back to a previous device.


Have you tried it with all the line multiplication modes? I've found that a genesis or sega saturn tended to give me the most problems with HDMI devices as I went through different multiplications.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:41 pm 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
nmalinoski wrote:
What's the automatic switching behavior like? If it's already showing an active input, will it switch to a different input that becomes active, or will it stay on the current active input?


Always auto switches to a new source. For instance, my RetroPie is always on so when I select the switch I get that, when I turn a console it goes over to that and back to the RetroPie when I turn the console off. I was concerned with false switches, like going back to another devices while the current one has a mode change, but never had that happen.

DirkSwizzler wrote:
Have you tried it with all the line multiplication modes? I've found that a genesis or sega saturn tended to give me the most problems with HDMI devices as I went through different multiplications.


I quickly settled on 240pX4, 480pX2 and 480i passthrough for my setup and those worked with my JP Saturn Model 2 and MD Mk2 (PAL -> NTSC modded). I honestly don't remember what other settings I tried when I had the OSSC running through the switch. In any case, I guess most people have 3-5 HDMI ports on their TVs, probably makes sense to just connect the OSSC directly and put the unproblematic devices like PS3, 360, Wii U etc. behind a switch instead.

Oh, and the switch supposedly does 4k60 and HDR, but I couldn't test that because I'm still rocking ancient TV tech.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:23 pm 



Joined: 21 Aug 2016
Posts: 301
ASDR wrote:
In any case, I guess most people have 3-5 HDMI ports on their TVs, probably makes sense to just connect the OSSC directly and put the unproblematic devices like PS3, 360, Wii U etc. behind a switch instead.


That is what I have done. I have a rather complicated setup where retro/analog systems go to the OSSC which goes into HDMI 1 on my TV; most modern systems (PS4, Xbox One, 360, and Steam Link) into a 5-input, 4k HDMI switch that goes into HDMI 2 on the TV; and Switch and Wii U into a 3-input HDMI switch that goes into the TV input on my receiver which then goes into HDMI 3 on my TV (which is also the ARC input, hence how I get audio for everything else). The Switch and Wii U are only separate because they only output PCM audio, so I can't get surround via ARC, meaning they have to go directly into the receiver. It is complicated on paper but in practice means that I just pick an input on the TV (labeled as "Retro," "Modern," and "Switch/WiiU") and turn on a console and I'm good to go. A little annoying having two extra things that need power, but it's not like they use a lot of power, so whatever. I'm sure my entertainment center is a fire hazard at this point, though...


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hdmi switch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:40 pm 



Joined: 12 Aug 2017
Posts: 269
thebigcheese wrote:
ASDR wrote:
In any case, I guess most people have 3-5 HDMI ports on their TVs, probably makes sense to just connect the OSSC directly and put the unproblematic devices like PS3, 360, Wii U etc. behind a switch instead.


That is what I have done. I have a rather complicated setup where retro/analog systems go to the OSSC which goes into HDMI 1 on my TV; most modern systems (PS4, Xbox One, 360, and Steam Link) into a 5-input, 4k HDMI switch that goes into HDMI 2 on the TV; and Switch and Wii U into a 3-input HDMI switch that goes into the TV input on my receiver which then goes into HDMI 3 on my TV (which is also the ARC input, hence how I get audio for everything else). The Switch and Wii U are only separate because they only output PCM audio, so I can't get surround via ARC, meaning they have to go directly into the receiver. It is complicated on paper but in practice means that I just pick an input on the TV (labeled as "Retro," "Modern," and "Switch/WiiU") and turn on a console and I'm good to go. A little annoying having two extra things that need power, but it's not like they use a lot of power, so whatever. I'm sure my entertainment center is a fire hazard at this point, though...


Yeah, it gets messy real quick, sounds actually very much like my setup ;-)

I don't have a good solution for surround with Wii U / Switch. I have all audio going over optical. All modern-ish consoles with optical out, PS3, PS4, 360, PS2, OG XBox go into an optical switch that goes to the receiver. All analog consoles go into the OSSC and then directly into the TV. TV has an optical out that also goes into the optical switch. Problem is, my TV is too old to receive DD 5.1/DTS over HDMI and then send that out over optical, so all I get from the latest Nintendo consoles is stereo. I was looking into HDMI audio extractors or maybe an HDMI switch with an optical out, but I figure my next TV can hopefully just send 5.1 out of the optical out. My receiver doesn't do HDMI etc., was never interested in upgrading as I have no use for Atmos or lossless audio and the entire routing video through the receiver thing just seems like a hassle.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Einzelherz, GeneraLight, mario64 and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group