shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:35 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:04 am 



Joined: 03 Jun 2018
Posts: 19
That seems useful, thanks.

In my case it was just bad flash RAM on the main board returning 0x00 for the region, which no carts would match.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:10 am 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 7478
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Yeah, if it's returning zero it might just be bad flash in general.
_________________
Image
@trap0xf | daifukkat.su/blog | scores | FIRE LANCER
<S.Yagawa> I like the challenge of "doing the impossible" with older hardware, and pushing it as far as it can go.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:55 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 515
Location: Singapore
trap15 wrote:
Today I've released a patch that will allow you to restore your motherboard to the original region (or whatever region you want, really). I made it because I had this exact same problem, hopefully less people will have to deal with it.

https://bitbucket.org/trap15/spi_revive/

For what it's worth "checksum error" and "hardware error" both mean the region/game ID is corrupt. One means the region doesn't match, the other means the power was turned off in the middle of update and the region and/or game ID have been corrupted (I forget which is which).


Huzzah! I will soon have 2 JP mobos instead of 1 JP and 1 German :o

It might be useful to more people if you created a dedicated topic ?
_________________
My sales thread : 2019/07/14..MASTER.VER.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:52 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Feb 2005
Posts: 915
trap15 wrote:
Today I've released a patch that will allow you to restore your motherboard to the original region (or whatever region you want, really). I made it because I had this exact same problem, hopefully less people will have to deal with it.

https://bitbucket.org/trap15/spi_revive/

For what it's worth "checksum error" and "hardware error" both mean the region/game ID is corrupt. One means the region doesn't match, the other means the power was turned off in the middle of update and the region and/or game ID have been corrupted (I forget which is which).


Awesome. Many thanks for this!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:28 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Location: South Korea
First off, thank you very much for this tool to revive spi mother board.
I am currently running rdf1(korean), rdf2(korean), and rdftjet(jap).

All of my motherboard were Korean versions so I swapped pgr epprom (of Jet) to bypass region check.
Problem is that I accidentally changed region of rest of motherboards with Jet, as a result, all of my motherboards became JAP.

Question is am I able to change region of motherboard back to Korean to use Raiden fighters 1&2 by using your tools? Because in pre-build release file, it only has hex file for Jap version. Would it be ok to use that jap hex file with 4 roms from Korean version?

Thank you very much for your help in advance.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Raiden Fighters 2 arcade board "checksum error 6561"
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:47 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Location: South Korea
trap15 wrote:
Today I've released a patch that will allow you to restore your motherboard to the original region (or whatever region you want, really). I made it because I had this exact same problem, hopefully less people will have to deal with it.

https://bitbucket.org/trap15/spi_revive/

For what it's worth "checksum error" and "hardware error" both mean the region/game ID is corrupt. One means the region doesn't match, the other means the power was turned off in the middle of update and the region and/or game ID have been corrupted (I forget which is which).



Got answer by email.
Thank you very much for your support!!!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group