shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 9:04 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:16 am 



Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Anyone else using a UltraHDMI modded N64 with a HDMI switcher ? Mine is not working at all. It only works when plugged directly into the TV.

I have several other systems plugged into said HDMI switcher (Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, HiDef Nes, framemeister...) and they all work fine.

Any settings I should be turning on (or off) in the UltraHDMI menus ? Maybe the cable/mini to HDMI adapter are too cheap ? Any other suggestions?

TV is Sony x690E and switcher is a powered Monoprice 8x1 HRM-2218F.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:47 pm 



Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 6
I’ve tried the UltraHDMI with a HDMI signal splitter : It won’t work.
I’m thinking it’s either the cable or the system itself.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 83
I have some vague memory about one of the pins for CEC being wired wrong on the ultra hdmi. I think it was fixed in a later revision. You may be able to cut a trace on the board to fix it iirc


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:08 pm 



Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Yeah, I saw that, but I have a newer version, not affected by that problem.

I’m waiting for a new mini HDMI to HDMI cable, better quality that my actual one.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:05 am 



Joined: 21 Jul 2014
Posts: 52
Location: UK
Mine is going into one of these with no issues

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B011KR ... ref=plSrch

I’ve had it nearly 2 years at this point so I believe it’s an early revision of the ultra hdmi and I don’t have a flash cart so have never updated the firmware.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:39 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2948
Location: UK
Mines going through this - http://www.aten.com/au/en/products/prof ... ss0hIjwYuU

Works fine, The one issue I had was that it sometimes auto switches to the N64 even if the N64 is only on at the wall but not powered on.

The output of that switch goes to an 8 way splitter too, no issues.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:15 pm 



Joined: 24 Jun 2015
Posts: 173
Location: Florida
maxtherabbit wrote:
I have some vague memory about one of the pins for CEC being wired wrong on the ultra hdmi. I think it was fixed in a later revision. You may be able to cut a trace on the board to fix it iirc

I think the issue was that there's an ESD protection diode on the CEC line, causing it to interact poorly with other HDMI devices plugged into the same TV/switch. It's fixable, but requires severing the CEC trace.
EnragedWhale wrote:
Mine is going into one of these with no issues

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B011KR ... ref=plSrch

I’ve had it nearly 2 years at this point so I believe it’s an early revision of the ultra hdmi and I don’t have a flash cart so have never updated the firmware.

I have the same switch sold under a different name https://www.amazon.com/Kinivo-501BN-Premium-wireless-adapter/dp/B0049SCB2Y and it doesn't work with my UltraHDMI, which I'm pretty sure is an earlier revision. Somewhat annoying, because it works with all my other HDMI devices, even my GBA HDMI prototype.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:07 am 



Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 6
I got a different cable, no big surprise, it didn’t change anything.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:11 am 



Joined: 05 Jul 2016
Posts: 12
I have same problem with my UltraHDMI from the latest batch. I have tried it with 2 different HDMI switches (one being Kinivo 501BN) and many different HDMI cords but it doesn't work. TV just tells me that the signal format is incorrect. Other HDMI devices like Xbox 360, Playstation 3 and OSSC plugged into same switches work great.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:37 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Try setting the output to 480p.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:14 pm 



Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 6
strayan wrote:
Try setting the output to 480p.


Unfortunately, that doesn’t change anything.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 12:25 am 



Joined: 04 Apr 2018
Posts: 6
Well well well ! Great news !

I got a new switcher, which claims HDCP 2.2, 4K 60Hz compliance... and it works!

This one is also from Monoprice Blackbird 4K pro.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 2:35 pm 



Joined: 09 May 2018
Posts: 1
Friend and I each have an UltraHDMI (mine is from an older batch, his on the most recent one), and we have the exact same HDMI switch (ordered together at the same time in the same shipment).

Mine works through the switch with no issues, his won't work through the switch (this one) and has to be connected directly.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UltraHDMI with HDMI switch problem
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 10:00 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2948
Location: UK
I recently changed to this HDMI switch - https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01HIPVY8G/

Everything worked with it, except, you guessed it, the HDMI modded N64.

Luckily I was able to fix the problem by adding a DR HDMI to the N64s output - https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00755DBCW/ ... W52542907/

This solved the problem now it works fine.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jayde6 and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group