shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Apr 24, 2018 6:39 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 850 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ... 29  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:46 am 



Joined: 15 Feb 2012
Posts: 162
JVS definitely uses USB ports, just not the wiring/protocol. Not really sure it's a fair comparison though, JVS isn't really consumer hardware.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:06 am 


User avatar

Joined: 24 Jun 2014
Posts: 358
Location: Netherlands
Thamiel wrote:
JVS definitely uses USB ports, just not the wiring/protocol. Not really sure it's a fair comparison though, JVS isn't really consumer hardware.


Don't think the SSD3 is also really consumer HW :mrgreen:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:12 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 696
Location: Australia
Did the JVS come with said cable?? Lol


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:45 am 



Joined: 15 Feb 2012
Posts: 162
You cheeky fuckers haha.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 3648
azmun wrote:
Has anyone tried using HD Retrovision's component cables with this device and/or in combination with OSSC? Wondering if you'll encounter similar issues as these various SCART cables.


Sorry to quote you without an answer but I'm also wondering about this. Has anyone tried the HD Retrovision cable yet?

I got my order in pretty quick on day 1 but my unit still hasn't shipped. I'm in no hurry & am kinda hoping it's because they're working out some kinks in the video issue.
_________________
Now that's galactic dancin'


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:35 pm 



Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 78
8BA wrote:
azmun wrote:
Has anyone tried using HD Retrovision's component cables with this device and/or in combination with OSSC? Wondering if you'll encounter similar issues as these various SCART cables.


Sorry to quote you without an answer but I'm also wondering about this. Has anyone tried the HD Retrovision cable yet?


A guy over on the NG forums had this to say:
Quote:
I just hooked by SD3 and played a few games. I'm running it on a SD Wega set using HD Retrovision component cables.

First of all, the sound comparison. Audio from the SD3 is actually slightly louder than the same audio played through my IFUs audio out. It sounds good. I heard no hum or distortion.

The HD Retrovision cable works great with it. Setting the brightness switch to low is the correct position for this. I do see some noise in darker solid colors, it's pretty minor but it is there. If we get this fixed then it will look better than my RGB mod going through my converter.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 5:40 pm 



Joined: 24 Dec 2017
Posts: 14
FYI:

http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthrea ... -Statement


TL:DR

Fix is coming. Production of new boards needed.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Posts: 232
Location: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Awesome.
_________________
Image If at first you don't succeed, you fail.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jan 2016
Posts: 222
There we go guys. That is a really professional response and compromise from the neosd team. I will send mine along for the upgrade when the new pcb is ready.
Maybe some of the mudflingers will have a little remorse for how they behaved. This thread was unbelievable at times.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:40 pm 



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 59
Likewise, a great response, respect due!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:58 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2005
Posts: 3648
Ah, excellent. Thanks for the response you guys & thanks to NeoSD/Terraonion for going the extra mile to ship a quality product.
_________________
Now that's galactic dancin'


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:15 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 24 Jun 2014
Posts: 358
Location: Netherlands
Good to hear and kudos to the replacement decision. Quite professional.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
_________________
My Arcade collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:58 pm 



Joined: 19 Jan 2018
Posts: 23
Great to read the plan. Looking forward to this again! :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 653
Thank you, neodev/neosd. Your efforts are appreciated.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2929
Location: UK
btw if you NeoSD folks need an OSSC to test with I'm happy to donate one from the next batch, due in any day now.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:41 pm 



Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 7748
So how does the Arcade CD-Rom2 shmup of Ginga Fukei Densetsu Sapphire fare/play on the Super SD System 3? Does it load up faster than with a typical PCE Duo-RX setup (especially with the cool opening intro sequence)?

PC Engine Fan X! ^_~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 10:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 2929
Location: UK
Well I never played it on original hardware but it works pretty sweet on my Super SD.
_________________
https://www.evolvehq.com/players/buckoa51
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 5
I ordered mine on dec 10. I would be glad to take a "defective" board if I could get it. I'd rather get it now and do any repairs needed myself then wait for a hardware revision. I'd email T.O. but I doubt they need any more emails to read through.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:58 am 



Joined: 25 Jan 2018
Posts: 2
neozeed wrote:
I ordered mine on dec 10. I would be glad to take a "defective" board if I could get it. I'd rather get it now and do any repairs needed myself then wait for a hardware revision. I'd email T.O. but I doubt they need any more emails to read through.


They have said that repairs would not be possible on the old boards due to the board being 4 layers, and they also don't want two versions of the boards out in the wild.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:35 am 


User avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 5
toaks wrote:
neozeed wrote:
I ordered mine on dec 10. I would be glad to take a "defective" board if I could get it. I'd rather get it now and do any repairs needed myself then wait for a hardware revision. I'd email T.O. but I doubt they need any more emails to read through.


They have said that repairs would not be possible on the old boards due to the board being 4 layers, and they also don't want two versions of the boards out in the wild.


Ahh, 4 layers, nevermind. I sometimes forget what year it is :|


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Jun 2015
Posts: 22
Location: Warrington
Been lurking and following this thread with interest. I've been looking for a solid state solution to play PC Engine CD games for a long time now. As I play via RGB on a PVM monitor the quality of the RGB output is very important to me. If the RGB problems get sorted out I definitely will be buying one of these. :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:07 am 



Joined: 25 Jan 2018
Posts: 2
crabfists wrote:
Been lurking and following this thread with interest. I've been looking for a solid state solution to play PC Engine CD games for a long time now. As I play via RGB on a PVM monitor the quality of the RGB output is very important to me. If the RGB problems get sorted out I definitely will be buying one of these. :)


The problem has been sorted already. They redesigned the PCB to correct the problems.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:03 pm 



Joined: 29 May 2016
Posts: 9
Mine was ordered on 27th Dec, long before the 1st batch. It hasn't shipped yet but hopefully, it will be the new fixed version.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 17 Jan 2016
Posts: 222
It will be, they are not sending anymore of the old version


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:02 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5274
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
Hmm..I haven't been really keeping up with this.

Can you just get this, and run CD games off of it, and not mess around with your current RGB modding? I already have my systems modded, so unless it looks "oh my gawd" better, I'd probably just leave it alone.
Seems like there's some problems with that, from what I gather from skimming this thread.

How's the compatibility?
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:43 am 



Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 78
evil_ash_xero wrote:
Hmm..I haven't been really keeping up with this.

Can you just get this, and run CD games off of it, and not mess around with your current RGB modding? I already have my systems modded, so unless it looks "oh my gawd" better, I'd probably just leave it alone.
Seems like there's some problems with that, from what I gather from skimming this thread.

How's the compatibility?


You can run CD and cart games off of it. It offers a new RGB output port on device itself. You can keep your current video output, if you wish, but you'd need to pull audio off of the device (since it is emulating the CD audio).

There have been some reports of compatibility issues. The best advice we've seen is to turn off the "return to SSD3 main menu" option, which adds a few opcodes into the VBlank to check for a button combo being held. There will likely be a firmware update or two to spot-fix specific games.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5274
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
SavagePencil wrote:
evil_ash_xero wrote:
Hmm..I haven't been really keeping up with this.

Can you just get this, and run CD games off of it, and not mess around with your current RGB modding? I already have my systems modded, so unless it looks "oh my gawd" better, I'd probably just leave it alone.
Seems like there's some problems with that, from what I gather from skimming this thread.

How's the compatibility?


You can run CD and cart games off of it. It offers a new RGB output port on device itself. You can keep your current video output, if you wish, but you'd need to pull audio off of the device (since it is emulating the CD audio).

There have been some reports of compatibility issues. The best advice we've seen is to turn off the "return to SSD3 main menu" option, which adds a few opcodes into the VBlank to check for a button combo being held. There will likely be a firmware update or two to spot-fix specific games.


OK, sounds interesting. I'll probably give it a couple of months for people to find and work out the kinks. Not so great to be an early adopter, sometimes.
How is the video quality? I know there have been problems, but has it been fixed? If so, about how good is it?

This seems like a pretty wild upgrade. It seems to do everything.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:54 pm 



Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 78
evil_ash_xero wrote:
OK, sounds interesting. I'll probably give it a couple of months for people to find and work out the kinks. Not so great to be an early adopter, sometimes.
How is the video quality? I know there have been problems, but has it been fixed? If so, about how good is it?

This seems like a pretty wild upgrade. It seems to do everything.


A fix, with input from knowledgable external parties, has been declared but to my knowledge no one has posted a side-by-side comparison. The fix will require scrapping the old boards and issuing a hardware revision. By all accounts, they have identified the root cause(s) and this should take care of the issues.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5274
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
SavagePencil wrote:
evil_ash_xero wrote:
OK, sounds interesting. I'll probably give it a couple of months for people to find and work out the kinks. Not so great to be an early adopter, sometimes.
How is the video quality? I know there have been problems, but has it been fixed? If so, about how good is it?

This seems like a pretty wild upgrade. It seems to do everything.


A fix, with input from knowledgable external parties, has been declared but to my knowledge no one has posted a side-by-side comparison. The fix will require scrapping the old boards and issuing a hardware revision. By all accounts, they have identified the root cause(s) and this should take care of the issues.


I figure they will. But it seems best to wait. It does sound like a tremendous device (when it starts working correctly).
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Super SD System 3
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 5274
Location: Where the fish lives, WV
All the pics and vids of this show a device that hooks onto the back of a standard PC Engine.

How would you go about hooking this up to a PC Engine Duo or Duo R? In terms of where it is at, on the machine.
_________________
My Collection: http://www.rfgeneration.com/cgi-bin/col ... Collection


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 850 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ... 29  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CastingDreams, Fudoh, Smile_Kaiser, werk91 and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group