shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:59 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 195 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:01 pm 



Joined: 19 Oct 2013
Posts: 438
Location: Riverside, CA
Cracked neckboards are super repairable. You should be able to get it up and running no problem if that's the only issue :).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Location: MN
That's good to hear. The monitor is so clean inside, and I see lots of promising things on-screen when I fire it up. So I'm pretty hopeful that's all it needs. If I could only get the damn screws out. :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 7:53 pm 



Joined: 22 Dec 2010
Posts: 197
Try a few different screw drivers, they might all seem the same but you will find that some grip the screws better than others. That's what I had to do and out of all my phillips head screwdrivers only one of them was able to grip the screws well enough to easily turn them. If the odd one or two are really stubborn then a pair of pipe grips from the side should work also.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Location: MN
Thanks. Yeah I tried about 4 screwdrivers til I found one that gripped, but am still having trouble with some of them. I'm going to borrow my Dad's portable impact wrench and see if that will be a good fit without rattling the whole monitor apart. I was also thinking of maybe slotting the screws so I can get more torque with a flat-head, and then just finding replacements later. I dunno.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:38 pm 



Joined: 02 May 2013
Posts: 210
aaronmjr wrote:
NightSprinter wrote:
PS2, if you can get a cable that does Sunc On Luma and a sync stripper circuit, you can set it to output RGB. Just bear in mind, the PS2 uses Sync on green for games that support 480p or higher.


As long as you have the dip switch set to automatic sync detection it should work no problem.


Indeed it should. Still find it unusual my Extron RGB202 Plus makes video-as-sync and Sunc on Luma work on this monitor?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 12:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Location: MN
NightSprinter wrote:
Indeed it should. Still find it unusual my Extron RGB202 Plus makes video-as-sync and Sunc on Luma work on this monitor?


I don't know anything about the RGB202 Plus.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:47 am 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Just a couple of quick questions on these NEC monitors.

I heard someone say that the XP37 doesn't accept 240p RGB? When I look through the posts here I see no mention of that.

I know these NECs require a specific cable for some kinds of RGB input, I mainly use a CRT-Emudriver 15khz emulator PC. Could I just feed in 240p RGB via the dsub or do I need to go through RGBS bnc inputs with the sync stripper cable inbetween?

Thanks,
_________________
https://twitter.com/Crayfis


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:37 pm 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
Crayfish wrote:
I heard someone say that the XP37 doesn't accept 240p RGB? When I look through the posts here I see no mention of that.

I know these NECs require a specific cable for some kinds of RGB input, I mainly use a CRT-Emudriver 15khz emulator PC. Could I just feed in 240p RGB via the dsub or do I need to go through RGBS bnc inputs with the sync stripper cable inbetween?

Thanks,


Are you able to confirm the exact model that you inquiring about? E.g. XP-3790

Some NEC XM/P 37" model's don't accept a 15KHz native signal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 43
xga wrote:
Are you able to confirm the exact model that you inquiring about? E.g. XP-3790

Some NEC XM/P 37" model's don't accept a 15KHz native signal.


Not yet, speculative question, but do you have a list of the ones that do - don't?
_________________
https://twitter.com/Crayfis


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:56 pm 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
Crayfish wrote:
xga wrote:
Are you able to confirm the exact model that you inquiring about? E.g. XP-3790

Some NEC XM/P 37" model's don't accept a 15KHz native signal.


Not yet, speculative question, but do you have a list of the ones that do - don't?


The XM-3750 and XP-3778 models will not accept a 15KHz signal via the RGB inputs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:07 pm 



Joined: 01 May 2018
Posts: 45
Hi all, this has been discussed before but it didn't seem to go anywhere. I'm trying to figure out if there is a way to increase the width/height amplitude on the xm29 so that I can fill the entire screen with consoles like Dreamcast and PS2. Below is a picture of PS2 running in 480p with a black border all around, that is as far as I can stretch the image.

https://ibb.co/i46mhz

Reading through this thread, Hoagtech mentioned fixing the same issue on his Mitsubishi monitor by adjusting the SUB width in the service menu. SpiderWaffle said "There is most likely a pot that will do large scale H-size adjustment. The tech that set that up that monitor and adjusted that pot probably set it to ~90% (or slightly less) like the XM/XP manuals say to do; and with difference signal source parameters it will change a fair amount on these NEC, they seems more susceptible to difference signal source parameters than most CRTs." Calling all xm29 owners to see if we can get our heads together and tackle this issue!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:17 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 43
xga wrote:
The XM-3750 and XP-3778 models will not accept a 15KHz signal via the RGB inputs.


Thanks.
Is there any way to get 15khz RGB into them? Is it just the BNC inputs or is there no way to get it in?

Does the G make any difference? XM3750G?
_________________
https://twitter.com/Crayfis


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 158
Location: Tampa FL
My XM37 Xtra worked great with 15khz 240p. It worked just like XM29 Plus in every aspect but with the added component feature. I used the same scart to BNC breakout cable with a sync stripper and played all my consoles on it without issue
_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 12:54 am 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
Yardley wrote:
Hi all, this has been discussed before but it didn't seem to go anywhere. I'm trying to figure out if there is a way to increase the width/height amplitude on the xm29 so that I can fill the entire screen with consoles like Dreamcast and PS2. Below is a picture of PS2 running in 480p with a black border all around, that is as far as I can stretch the image.

https://ibb.co/i46mhz

Reading through this thread, Hoagtech mentioned fixing the same issue on his Mitsubishi monitor by adjusting the SUB width in the service menu. SpiderWaffle said "There is most likely a pot that will do large scale H-size adjustment. The tech that set that up that monitor and adjusted that pot probably set it to ~90% (or slightly less) like the XM/XP manuals say to do; and with difference signal source parameters it will change a fair amount on these NEC, they seems more susceptible to difference signal source parameters than most CRTs." Calling all xm29 owners to see if we can get our heads together and tackle this issue!


What is the full number of your model? e.g. XM-2950

It will be listed on the back of the monitor.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 12:59 am 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
Crayfish wrote:
xga wrote:
The XM-3750 and XP-3778 models will not accept a 15KHz signal via the RGB inputs.


Thanks.
Is there any way to get 15khz RGB into them? Is it just the BNC inputs or is there no way to get it in?

Does the G make any difference? XM3750G?


Not without upscaling the signal. Some people have tried the 120Hz trick using a Mame PC and that has provided scanlines.

I believe 15KHz singals on the composite and s-video inputs is just line doubled or upscaled to 31KHz.

The "G" designates that it is for a different region (usually Europe), so usually has a different tube to compensate for the hemisphere and sometimes different power input e.g. 220V.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:01 am 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
ELabit wrote:
My XM37 Xtra worked great with 15khz 240p. It worked just like XM29 Plus in every aspect but with the added component feature. I used the same scart to BNC breakout cable with a sync stripper and played all my consoles on it without issue


XM37 Xtra = XM-3761. The XM-3761 will accept a native 15KHz signal via the BNC RGB inputs without issue.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:23 am 



Joined: 01 May 2018
Posts: 45
xga wrote:
Yardley wrote:
Hi all, this has been discussed before but it didn't seem to go anywhere. I'm trying to figure out if there is a way to increase the width/height amplitude on the xm29 so that I can fill the entire screen with consoles like Dreamcast and PS2. Below is a picture of PS2 running in 480p with a black border all around, that is as far as I can stretch the image.

https://ibb.co/i46mhz

Reading through this thread, Hoagtech mentioned fixing the same issue on his Mitsubishi monitor by adjusting the SUB width in the service menu. SpiderWaffle said "There is most likely a pot that will do large scale H-size adjustment. The tech that set that up that monitor and adjusted that pot probably set it to ~90% (or slightly less) like the XM/XP manuals say to do; and with difference signal source parameters it will change a fair amount on these NEC, they seems more susceptible to difference signal source parameters than most CRTs." Calling all xm29 owners to see if we can get our heads together and tackle this issue!


What is the full number of your model? e.g. XM-2950

It will be listed on the back of the monitor.


XM-2950


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:29 am 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
Yardley wrote:
xga wrote:
Yardley wrote:
Hi all, this has been discussed before but it didn't seem to go anywhere. I'm trying to figure out if there is a way to increase the width/height amplitude on the xm29 so that I can fill the entire screen with consoles like Dreamcast and PS2. Below is a picture of PS2 running in 480p with a black border all around, that is as far as I can stretch the image.

https://ibb.co/i46mhz

Reading through this thread, Hoagtech mentioned fixing the same issue on his Mitsubishi monitor by adjusting the SUB width in the service menu. SpiderWaffle said "There is most likely a pot that will do large scale H-size adjustment. The tech that set that up that monitor and adjusted that pot probably set it to ~90% (or slightly less) like the XM/XP manuals say to do; and with difference signal source parameters it will change a fair amount on these NEC, they seems more susceptible to difference signal source parameters than most CRTs." Calling all xm29 owners to see if we can get our heads together and tackle this issue!


What is the full number of your model? e.g. XM-2950

It will be listed on the back of the monitor.


XM-2950


With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:43 pm 



Joined: 01 May 2018
Posts: 45
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.


Wow thanks I have to try this! Are there any side effects to doing this and can you point me in the right direction to locating the def sub board?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:49 pm 



Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 175
Yardley wrote:
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.


Wow thanks I have to try this! Are there any side effects to doing this and can you point me in the right direction to locating the def sub board?


As long as you note the positions of the pots before you adjust them (perhaps with a permanent marker), then you can always return them to their original position if it causes an issue. You may get side pincushion distortion when adjusting the horizontal width. If so, that will need to be adjusted too.

The DEF-SUB PWB board looks like this:

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:00 pm 



Joined: 01 May 2018
Posts: 45
xga wrote:
Yardley wrote:
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.


Wow thanks I have to try this! Are there any side effects to doing this and can you point me in the right direction to locating the def sub board?


As long as you note the positions of the pots before you adjust them (perhaps with a permanent marker), then you can always return them to their original position if it causes an issue. You may get side pincushion distortion when adjusting the horizontal width. If so, that will need to be adjusted too.

The DEF-SUB PWB board looks like this:

Image



Thanks so much!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 6:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 43
xga wrote:
Not without upscaling the signal. Some people have tried the 120Hz trick using a Mame PC and that has provided scanlines.

I believe 15KHz singals on the composite and s-video inputs is just line doubled or upscaled to 31KHz.

The "G" designates that it is for a different region (usually Europe), so usually has a different tube to compensate for the hemisphere and sometimes different power input e.g. 220V.

Thanks for the reply again.
Could you please describe the '120hz' trick, is that like running a custom 240p resolution at 120fps?

So even 15khz images on the composite / s-video wont have scanlines when upscaled?
Is that the same thing as 100khz upscaling some TVs do?
_________________
https://twitter.com/Crayfis


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:35 pm 



Joined: 02 May 2013
Posts: 210
Crayfish wrote:
xga wrote:
Not without upscaling the signal. Some people have tried the 120Hz trick using a Mame PC and that has provided scanlines.

I believe 15KHz singals on the composite and s-video inputs is just line doubled or upscaled to 31KHz.

The "G" designates that it is for a different region (usually Europe), so usually has a different tube to compensate for the hemisphere and sometimes different power input e.g. 220V.

Thanks for the reply again.
Could you please describe the '120hz' trick, is that like running a custom 240p resolution at 120fps?

So even 15khz images on the composite / s-video wont have scanlines when upscaled?
Is that the same thing as 100khz upscaling some TVs do?


Yes, the 120Hz trick indeed does involve that. Emulators like GroovyMAME and RetroArch are capable of running in this manner. Though I can say sometimes the image is a good bit brighter than a proper 15KHz one. You'll need to either make custom resolutions and refresh rates (important, since some arcade games, and some home consoles/computers can run at lower or slightly-higher than 60Hz), or have a compatible Radeon card and the CRTEmu Drivers.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 8:58 am 


User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Interesting, thanks, I will look into this.
_________________
https://twitter.com/Crayfis


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 523
Location: Bellingham, WA
xga wrote:
Yardley wrote:
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.


Wow thanks I have to try this! Are there any side effects to doing this and can you point me in the right direction to locating the def sub board?


As long as you note the positions of the pots before you adjust them (perhaps with a permanent marker), then you can always return them to their original position if it causes an issue. You may get side pincushion distortion when adjusting the horizontal width. If so, that will need to be adjusted too.

The DEF-SUB PWB board looks like this:

Image


Congrats XGA And xm29 owners.

You guys finally are able to adjust for full screen.

This is huge for NEC owners.

I am now on the hunt for an NEC.
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:33 am 



Joined: 01 May 2018
Posts: 45
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.



I want to confirm that these adjustments do work! I just tried it on my XM-2950 and I extremely excited to finally be able to have more wiggle room for h/v amplitude adjustment. Thanks xga!

BTW, do you have any other adjustments/documentation for the XM-29 you can share with us?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:49 am 



Joined: 12 Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Hi All.
I've recently started collecting the necessary equipment to connect my consoles to my NEC XM29 Xtra with RGB.
My Saturn, Super Nintendo and PS2 work fine with RGB.
My PSOne and Genesis Model 1 and Model 2 have sync issues. Which from my research appears to be expected with the NEC 29/37 line. My PVM 1354Q has no sync issues with either console and I don't need the PA 250 either.

Equipment:
Male SCART to BNC breakout from Wookiewin
Generic Genesis Model 2 to male SCART cable
Genesis Model 1 to male SCART cable from Retro Gaming Cables
Hama SCART switch
Extron PA 250
Extron DVS 304 A
Extron RGB 440 (without the necessary 9 pin input cable)
Genesis release Non-TMSS model
Genesis Model 2 3/4 variant

My setup is Console to Switch to Extron PA 250. Only the HV sync port is connected, the V jack is not connected to anything on the PA 250 or the monitor
The PA 250 solves the PSOne sync issues
Unfortunately, it doesn't fix the sync issues on the Genesis Model 1 or 2.
I've tried the 75 ohm and High settings on the monitor, no change
I've tried random DIP switches on the monitor and the PA 250.
I'm thinking the low-budget SCART switch may be the issue.
In the beginning of the gaming session, the Genesis picture appears normal but then starts to degrade into rolling vertical lines.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pics when I picked up my XM29 Xtra from the swap meet
I can't believe I've lurked here for more than a decade and haven't created an account for the forum.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:48 pm 



Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 179
Location: germany
Yardley wrote:
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.



I want to confirm that these adjustments do work! I just tried it on my XM-2950 and I extremely excited to finally be able to have more wiggle room for h/v amplitude adjustment. Thanks xga!

BTW, do you have any other adjustments/documentation for the XM-29 you can share with us?


Just looked into my xm2950 to adjust both vertical and horizontal height.
how the f*** did you guys reach out to both potis while the monitor is turned on? I mean, its just installed right in the middle of the monitor and surrounded by everything else that is installed in there. I am kind of afraid to reach for them with a screwdiver


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:03 pm 



Joined: 01 May 2018
Posts: 45
svensonson wrote:
Yardley wrote:
xga wrote:

With horizontal width set to maximum, adjust pot VR9004 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired width.

With vertical height set to maximum, adjust pot VR4002 on the "DEF-SUB PWB" PCB until you get the desired height.



I want to confirm that these adjustments do work! I just tried it on my XM-2950 and I extremely excited to finally be able to have more wiggle room for h/v amplitude adjustment. Thanks xga!

BTW, do you have any other adjustments/documentation for the XM-29 you can share with us?


Just looked into my xm2950 to adjust both vertical and horizontal height.
how the f*** did you guys reach out to both potis while the monitor is turned on? I mean, its just installed right in the middle of the monitor and surrounded by everything else that is installed in there. I am kind of afraid to reach for them with a screwdiver



Remove the fan that is in the way and there’s plenty of space. The fan is held in place by a thumb screw and the bracket slides out once that is removed. Just move it out of the way and keep it connected. Take a pic of the rear without the cover I meant to do that but forgot!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NEC XM/XP 29/37 Pro/Xtra Thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:20 pm 



Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 179
Location: germany
Yes, I already had the fan removed. I asked my gf to adjust it while I was screaming at her from the other site of the monitor. thanks guys


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 195 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bobrocks95, Ryoandr and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group