shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:20 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 227 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2020 4:29 pm 



Joined: 22 Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Spoiler: show
Image


Success! Don't think it looks too bad. Button isn't as 'clicky' as the original, but far better than having to stick a finger in.

I noticed the original power button had sort of a metal connection on it, picture:

Spoiler: show
Image


Any idea what it is, and if it's something to worry about?

Final question, does anyone happen to know which slot on the input board the tally light goes into? I've got two, marked J and S3, it's the only thing I didn't make a note of. I think it's J.

Cheers


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 10:54 am 



Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 84
Location: Denmark
drojman wrote:
...button stuff...


Looks like some sort of ESD discharge thing the way it's positioned. Never noticed it myself.

Which button design did you end up using?
_________________
www.immerhax.com


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:30 pm 



Joined: 22 Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Used the one from your site, just had to slightly widen the mount part, but it works great.

Anyone any idea on the tally light?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:16 pm 



Joined: 14 Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Hey Guys ,

I have recently picked up a Jvc dtv 1710 monitor it has a fantastic picture when using my Neo Geo Aes and GameCube , But when I try connecting my sigma raijin supergun for arcade boards I get a bend in the picture at the top of the screen , I have an rgb scart cable from the supergun going straight to a female scart to rgb with sync separator , Any help or suggestions are welcome to try resolve this issue .

Thanks ,

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 1:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 1325
Location: Bedfordshire, England.
I have a JVC BM-H2000PND PVM monitor which i haven't touched for over a year and was fine last time i used it. Turned it on today and its making a clicking sound which is accompanied with the screen jolting ever so slightly every now and then, a similar click sound the monitor makes when the screen refresh rate changes. It had kept doing it for 45 minutes so i decided to go in the service menu and try resetting all values back to default via the manual as i thought maybe one of the settings might have been over driving a component inside the TV and causing it to fail, half way through me setting the values back to default i lost picture altogether on the screen, even when i change input do i not see the input label appear on screen, altering the brightness and contrast dials on the front doesn't alter the raster at all just stays completely black!!

After some help from The UK Video Collectors forum (http://www.ukvac.com/forum) and testing certain points on the boards inside the JVC the consensus is the flyback is shot, but my argument with that is should i still be getting glow from the necktube and static when i run my hand over the screen after turning the monitor on!?

So my question is, could a setting i changed in the service menu actual of cause me to lose picture and is there an easy way to reset the service menu back to factory settings, i know how to reset the main menu settings but can seem to find how to reset the service menus??


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:25 pm 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
I'm just getting into the details of my newly acquired DT-V17, with a few questions, points, and brags:

    - 2200 hr on a 2005 tube, with RGB card. Decent price, pretty happy with the find;
    - Packing wasn't great, some bezel damage on what was a pristine home studio monitor. The flight case it came in was obv too small.
    - Which means a broken and mangled JVC logo - anyone have a source on where to get a replacement? It's looking pretty janky :(
    - Waiting for a BNC clone for my TM-H (I already have the SCART) to daisy chain to either have dual screen or permanent tate on the TM-H
    - I know the clone is out there but what is the market for these official RGB cards? Thinking to recoup some expenditure by selling it.
    - What is 720p supposed to look like? Outputting CPS-2 Digital AV > HDMI > VGA (passive converter) > BNC brings the picture to a small square in the centre of the screen, no adjustment stretches it to the edge. Is this normal? Ditto with SNK Arcade Stick Pro;
    - 240p from CPS2 Digital AV is coming up as 480/60i on the screen. Am I doing something wrong here? Is there an actual 240/60p mode on the DT-V?
    - Is there a way to know which external sync is being used? RGBHV or RGBs? Is there a way to toggle between the two?
    - Corio2 downscaling is not coming back with any useful results but I haven't played with this much yet. Blank screen, no sync apparently, TBD.
    - No success with MiSTer, even with Direct Video and reduced resolution in the .ini. Has anyone had any luck with getting these to output to DT-V?

Overall a happy camper, would be much happier with the MiSTer showing a picture.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:43 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 262
Location: USA
emenelopee wrote:
- 240p from CPS2 Digital AV is coming up as 480/60i on the screen. Am I doing something wrong here? Is there an actual 240/60p mode on the DT-V?


That's normal. 240p sources always show as "480/60i" on the OSD but it definitely supports 240p.

Quote:
- No success with MiSTer, even with Direct Video and reduced resolution in the .ini. Has anyone had any luck with getting these to output to DT-V?


I sold my DT-V a while ago, but it worked with the MiSTer. Do you have an I/O board? you might want to try sync on green. On my monitor, the picture was jittery unless I used an extron RGB interface, and also used sync on green instead of csync or HV sync. Also, if you use sync on green make sure you change the sync to INT sync in the menu


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:11 pm 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
cyborc wrote:
emenelopee wrote:
- 240p from CPS2 Digital AV is coming up as 480/60i on the screen. Am I doing something wrong here? Is there an actual 240/60p mode on the DT-V?


That's normal. 240p sources always show as "480/60i" on the OSD but it definitely supports 240p.


That's what I thought, good to know.

cyborc wrote:
emenelopee wrote:
Quote:
- No success with MiSTer, even with Direct Video and reduced resolution in the .ini. Has anyone had any luck with getting these to output to DT-V?


I sold my DT-V a while ago, but it worked with the MiSTer. Do you have an I/O board? you might want to try sync on green. On my monitor, the picture was jittery unless I used an extron RGB interface, and also used sync on green instead of csync or HV sync. Also, if you use sync on green make sure you change the sync to INT sync in the menu


I'm on a Corio2, no dice with RGsB. The closest I'm getting is the scaler splash screen at RGBHV 720p, and then it flickers on and off losing sync. There must be something different between the CPS2 HDMI output and Corio2 that's not playing ball.

I heard the DT-V can be a pain with sync but I didn't realize it would be this stubborn.

EDIT: I switched out the output from the Corio2: rather than DVI > VGA (passive cable) > BNC, I'm going DVI > HDMI (passive cable) > VGA (active converter adapter) > BNC. Picture's coming out very narrow at 240p but I think that's a Corio2 thing.

EDIT2:

Quote:
Do you have an I/O board?


No I/O board, just Terasic HDMI and Direct Video toggle with dongle.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 4:55 pm 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
paul79 wrote:
Hey Guys ,

I have recently picked up a Jvc dtv 1710 monitor it has a fantastic picture when using my Neo Geo Aes and GameCube , But when I try connecting my sigma raijin supergun for arcade boards I get a bend in the picture at the top of the screen , I have an rgb scart cable from the supergun going straight to a female scart to rgb with sync separator , Any help or suggestions are welcome to try resolve this issue .

Thanks ,



I have both a TM-H and DT-V. I get the top wobble from CPS2 from Minigun into SCART RGB clone card (RGBs) into the DT-V, but no wobble with the TM-H with same setup. Both have a noisy signal, I think due to the DIN 9 to SCART cable I have. DT-V is apparently more sensitive to sync.

DT-V picture is perfect with the CPS2 Digital AV through HDMI to VGA converter into BNC. I haven't tried the TM-H with any HDMI signal.

Make of that what you will.

How are you connecting your Neo Geo and Raijin into your DT-V?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:49 pm 



Joined: 19 Apr 2016
Posts: 15
I can get a DT-V1710CG with very low hours on it, and great condition. Or a DT-V1900CG.
But I am a little bit scared of all that "sync issues" being reported from a lot of user.
I would like to use my Mister with I/O board (I am currently using it via VGA to Scart cable and BNC to SCART converter on a BVM monitor) on it.
Could anybody confirm that the Mister will work with the standard cores (NES/SNES/MD/Neo Geo/PCE etc.), or what would I need to get it work without sync/display issues?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:45 pm 



Joined: 12 Jun 2017
Posts: 213
From my experiments with my DT-V1710, if you feed it a proper RGBHV signal, it'll have a clean straight image with no upper skew, even with some known problematic sources.

Using an LM1881 and using it's vertical output will not work, but using a GBS8200 with GBS Control in passthrough mode will work.

You should be able to use your mister with VGA and a simple VGA-5BNC cable directly connected.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:45 pm 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
guut wrote:
I can get a DT-V1710CG with very low hours on it, and great condition. Or a DT-V1900CG.
But I am a little bit scared of all that "sync issues" being reported from a lot of user.
I would like to use my Mister with I/O board (I am currently using it via VGA to Scart cable and BNC to SCART converter on a BVM monitor) on it.
Could anybody confirm that the Mister will work with the standard cores (NES/SNES/MD/Neo Geo/PCE etc.), or what would I need to get it work without sync/display issues?


I have great results with DT-V1710CG and MiSTer Direct Video through Tripp Lite P131-06N. Perfect image, no colour or geometry issues.

I tried the Rankie HDMI-VGA but that one needed the 5V power which the Tripp Lite doesn't.

Ryoandr wrote:
From my experiments with my DT-V1710, if you feed it a proper RGBHV signal, it'll have a clean straight image with no upper skew ...


^same as my (limited) observations.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Mar 2009
Posts: 262
Location: USA
in my experience with the DT-V, even when using RGBHV, all 240p sources had this "micro jitter" problem that drove me crazy. I eventually found the solution was to use an Extron RGB 109xi and output RGsB. This completely eliminated the micro jitter and also fixed any skew problems that certain systems had.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:25 am 



Joined: 14 Apr 2014
Posts: 2
emenelopee wrote:
paul79 wrote:
Hey Guys ,

I have recently picked up a Jvc dtv 1710 monitor it has a fantastic picture when using my Neo Geo Aes and GameCube , But when I try connecting my sigma raijin supergun for arcade boards I get a bend in the picture at the top of the screen , I have an rgb scart cable from the supergun going straight to a female scart to rgb with sync separator , Any help or suggestions are welcome to try resolve this issue .

Thanks ,



I have both a TM-H and DT-V. I get the top wobble from CPS2 from Minigun into SCART RGB clone card (RGBs) into the DT-V, but no wobble with the TM-H with same setup. Both have a noisy signal, I think due to the DIN 9 to SCART cable I have. DT-V is apparently more sensitive to sync.

DT-V picture is perfect with the CPS2 Digital AV through HDMI to VGA converter into BNC. I haven't tried the TM-H with any HDMI signal.

Make of that what you will.

How are you connecting your Neo Geo and Raijin into your DT-V?


I am connecting the neo geo using a rgc rgb scart cable straight into to a female to bnc rgc scart directly to the monitor rgb and h for sync first four BNC connectors from top down .
For the sigma raijin I also have a rgc made rgb scart and have also connected to a female scart to bnc one with sync separator and one without and I get the same fault , I have also tried connecting the sigma via an extron unit and I still get the skew , But in order to get a picture from the extron unit I need to connect the H and V sync to the monitor , I’m a bit lost as to what I should try next to resolve the issue .


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 5:27 am 



Joined: 09 May 2020
Posts: 17
The setup is coming along with the latest addition of an Extron Crosspoint.

Still not fully debugged but I'm not getting a picture from my CPS2 Digital AV on my DT-V. The TM-H displays the signal fine, DT-V can't seem to find a sync signal, shows a black screen with the white line typically displayed with no input. Both are good with MiSTer in Direct Video through the Crosspoint. Direct CPS2 Digital AV > VGA > BNC > DT-V also works great at both 240p and 480p. Something in the Crosspoint is causing a blockage. I've tried two sets of VGA>BNC, two HDMI>VGA, resistance switches on the back of the Crosspoint, and a lot of scouring through the manual. I thought these boxes could clean up signals, not block them.

Any thoughts?

(Crosspoint Ultra 88)

Still to check:

- Crosspoint Firmware update
- Other outputs.
- PC software.
- um ... ?

UPDATE:

I'm not 100% sure what happened but there has a been a miracle and suddenly everything works beautifully. I disconnected everything to dust/hoover the insides of the CRTs, and after re-connection everything seemed fine and dandy. My guess is I had the CPS2 Digi AV unseat a little, from tugging on the HDMI, which was causing discoloration on the TM-H (blacks that weren't 000 were coming through as brown/burghundy) and no signal on the DT-V. Again the DT-Vs showing the alleged sensitivity to inputs. The TM-H is a trooper though.

Dimahoo in tate, straight from CPS2 with some repaired old Soundsticks, was delicious after everything was working.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:44 am 



Joined: 03 Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Hi, what difference there are between the models dt-v 1710 and dt-v 1700?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: JVC TM-H and DT-V thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:38 am 



Joined: 19 Apr 2016
Posts: 15
Although I was very sceptical about the monitor at first, I now got myself a 1710CG. It was in such good condition that I told myself that such a chance might not come back so quickly.

Now that the monitor is at my place and I have tested the first consoles on it, I have to admit: The DT-V is absolutely fantastic.
I like the colours a bit better than on my BVM2010P or BVM20F1E.
The geometry is by far the best of all CRTs I own. Even text boxes on RPGs are completely straight, and not warped. I have always noticed this with my other tubes.

The JVC has only a little over 100 hours (Hours Meter x100 = 1), the coating layer has no scratches whatsoever, and year of manufacture is 2008.

I got an Extron RX201 for free with the monitor (I've been looking for one of these for a long time), but didn't even use it yet.
I haven't noticed any of the sync problems that many people report. I have only tested SNES, Mega Drive and Sega Saturn so far, however. With all three of them I get a rock solid picture.

The only thing I still wish for is the whole thing one size bigger. Maybe one day I will find a 1910 in a similar good condition.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UVjaVF ... sp=sharing


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1gsxr8K ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FflU3t ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HmlxGB ... sp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1gtwyAb ... sp=sharing


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 227 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shmupsman and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group