shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sun Sep 20, 2020 12:06 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 267 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 12:50 am 



Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 9
Epyc wrote:
I had this happen in previous firmwares also but it went away after a while. In new firmware revisions I noticed it was much better and non-existent after a few minutes of play. Maybe silicon lottery is playing a factor when we're close to maxing out the FPGA? Does it happen at lower resolutions?


Yes it happens on all resolutions. I left this on a little bit and it's not going away.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 8:26 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 795
Location: Finland
The issue is clearly related to the sampling edge as mentioned on the last page. One of the things that possibly makes difference between installations is the length and type of the clock wire as it affects the skew between CPS2 and cps2_digiav board.

@Kavas: Can you confirm whether 07/2019 version of the firmware works without issues? Once the menu is in place, it probably makes sense to provide an option for sampling edge selection as it seems it might be tough to find a value that works perfectly for all (although I don't recall hearing about this issue on that 07/2019 version).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2020 9:29 pm 



Joined: 21 Dec 2017
Posts: 9
Image

I can confirm your older firmware resolves the issue! :)

I will button up my case and wait until the issue is resolved. I'm actually happy, I thought I had botched the installation. Glad I wasn't crazy when I tested it out. This thing usually sits in my dedicated CPS2 dynamo cabinet. Only use the HDMI when taking it otg.

The weird scaling is back tho.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2020 2:39 am 



Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 11
@marqs after I installed the firmware, I noticed that the left side is missing the first vertical set of pixels, but there’s some pixels showing on the right. Not sure if its the installation, but it works perfectly on the jamma out. Here are some pictures as I might not explaining very well.

https://imgur.com/a/e0OQvhH

Image

Image

Image

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2020 2:55 pm 



Joined: 26 May 2020
Posts: 1
Hi,

Has anyone else had issue with getting the Magewell USB Capture HDMI, or some picky HDMI screens, to display the content coming out of the CPS2 Digi AV?

I swear I had this working at one point but I've just tried it with both the new firmware and the 07/2019 firmware and neither are being picked up by it or my PC screen. It is being picked up by my front room LG TV and my other PC screen though.

Anyone have any thoughts?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2020 2:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 795
Location: Finland
dannahan wrote:
@marqs after I installed the firmware, I noticed that the left side is missing the first vertical set of pixels, but there’s some pixels showing on the right. Not sure if its the installation, but it works perfectly on the jamma out. Here are some pictures as I might not explaining very well.
It seems that picture has shifted 1px to left which may be caused by the same sampling edge inconsistency as mentioned earlier. I wonder if the 16MHz clock would be avalable closer to the mod board as I've seen installations with different tap points (directly from OSC or after buffer) and different coax types/lengths, all potentially affecting clock delay.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 8:40 pm 



Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 11
marqs wrote:
dannahan wrote:
@marqs after I installed the firmware, I noticed that the left side is missing the first vertical set of pixels, but there’s some pixels showing on the right. Not sure if its the installation, but it works perfectly on the jamma out. Here are some pictures as I might not explaining very well.
It seems that picture has shifted 1px to left which may be caused by the same sampling edge inconsistency as mentioned earlier. I wonder if the 16MHz clock would be avalable closer to the mod board as I've seen installations with different tap points (directly from OSC or after buffer) and different coax types/lengths, all potentially affecting clock delay.


I've installed it similar to how Rosewood had installed his system: https://retrostuff.org/2019/10/07/capco ... nterfaces/
Image
However, I used a stripped down VIDEO RCA yellow cable.

Notice that when he updated his firmware, his dot cross hatch looked normal:
Image
https://retrostuff.org/2020/03/29/capco ... re-update/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 795
Location: Finland
dannahan wrote:
I've installed it similar to how Rosewood had installed his system: https://retrostuff.org/2019/10/07/capco ... nterfaces/
However, I used a stripped down VIDEO RCA yellow cable.

Notice that when he updated his firmware, his dot cross hatch looked normal:
Could it be that A-board revision or B-board (game) has minor effect on the horizontal offset? If this is the case, then it'd make sense to add an option to tweak it on the upcoming menu.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:51 pm 



Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 11
marqs wrote:
dannahan wrote:
I've installed it similar to how Rosewood had installed his system: https://retrostuff.org/2019/10/07/capco ... nterfaces/
However, I used a stripped down VIDEO RCA yellow cable.

Notice that when he updated his firmware, his dot cross hatch looked normal:
Could it be that A-board revision or B-board (game) has minor effect on the horizontal offset? If this is the case, then it'd make sense to add an option to tweak it on the upcoming menu.


I'm not sure. However, my B-Board is -3 and has the latest Darksoft CPS2 Multi if that helps?
Image

More Details
https://imgur.com/a/Hj7ESZE

Here's my A-board setup just for info
Image

Image

Image

More Details
https://imgur.com/a/DlXQx8O

I hope this helps


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 10:58 pm 



Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 11
@marqs - I ended up flashing to the latest firmware and it fixed the issue!

Thank you so much! :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 11:09 pm 



Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 11
Are these still for sale? And if so how do I get one?

I’ve been having issues with my CPS2 Board. My super gun sends component out and the HDTV loses signal intermittently. I’m wondering if this would fix that issue!?!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:44 am 



Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 11
Any of these for sale?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2018
Posts: 626
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
Vgp has them: https://videogameperfection.com/product ... e-diy-kit/

^^it really depends on the source of the problem. Are you able to plug the board into a jamma cab or other interface, to isolate the problem to either the supergun or the board?
Even if it's at the board, it really depends on where the problem is originating. Hdmi kit taps signals at the digital sources.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:23 pm 



Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 11
@marqs is there anyway to default a certain resolution (1600 x 1200 for example) every time the CPS2 boots up? If not, could this be possible on the next firmware update? Thanks again!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 2:26 pm 



Joined: 09 Jun 2020
Posts: 11
NoAffinity wrote:
Vgp has them: https://videogameperfection.com/product ... e-diy-kit/

^^it really depends on the source of the problem. Are you able to plug the board into a jamma cab or other interface, to isolate the problem to either the supergun or the board?
Even if it's at the board, it really depends on where the problem is originating. Hdmi kit taps signals at the digital sources.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk



I figured it out, it was my TV! So I went with the component to retroktink route and it’s working like a champ! Thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:39 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Posts: 425
Location: BW, Germany
cps2_digiav installation on Dogyuun (Toaplan2 hardware series):

Image

Illustration of hookup points: JPG
Mounting tape placement: JPG

First time SMD soldering (with regards to the cps1_adapter board), glad it worked out. The 1.2mm chisel tip fit the task quite well, next time I might switch from .5mm to .35mm solder though, and I need a finer pair of tweezers. I was going to use RG-58 coax cable at first, but considered it a bit too stiff, so I went with RG-174.

Very happy with the result, many thanks to marqs and all other contributors who made this possible! :)

Here's a video capture (1600x1200 output mode): YouTube
Note that the footage was first compressed by me, and once again by YouTube, so there are artifacts in the video which are not part of the live HDMI signal. Here are a few lossless screenshots for reference (click for full size):
Spoiler: show
Image
Image
Image
Image


I also recorded footage off of a patched program ROM where the sync signal quirk is removed (more info in this thread). This effectively simulates a game that doesn't exhibit the anomaly (slightly different sync timing as a consequence), showing that it works with these games as well: YouTube

Velyks wrote:
Has anyone else had issue with getting the Magewell USB Capture HDMI, or some picky HDMI screens, to display the content coming out of the CPS2 Digi AV?
I'm using the Magewell USB Capture HDMI Plus, and all video output modes work fine (with the Toaplan2 installation).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:33 pm 



Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 207
Location: St Louis, IL, USA
Wow, expensive PCB to test this on! Congrats for completing it!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 1:10 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Posts: 425
Location: BW, Germany
Thanks! The Teki Paki I recently found would have been more suitable as a test object I suppose, on the other hand I'm expecting more playtime from Dogyuun, so it'll be more worthwhile.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Here's my attempt at making the install look a little cleaner on a CPS3.

Image

Image
_________________
Blog - GitHub - Store


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:23 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 795
Location: Finland
ModGirl wrote:
Here's my attempt at making the install look a little cleaner on a CPS3.
That's nice, it should make CPS3 installations more straightforward. Any idea whether the resistor arrays are in the same place across all board revisions?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2020 8:18 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Apr 2020
Posts: 4
So far, every one ive seen has had the same spacing and layout of the RN's. This was a prototype. I have a new version on the way, ill post pics and source once its all tested.
_________________
Blog - GitHub - Store


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:29 am 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Heres the current revision, i think this is about as clean as i can make it. I have a bunch of kits for sale if anyone is interested (ill post gerber files on my gitgub shortly too).

Image

Image

Image
_________________
Blog - GitHub - Store


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 593
Location: Singapore
Very nice.
_________________
My sales thread : 2020/07/20..MASTER.VER.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 7:28 pm 



Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Posts: 11
Hi @marqs! Just wondering when the next firmware update would be to keep the previous settings as well as bringing back scanlines. Again, thank you so much for this! I'm planning on purchasing another DIGITAL AV for the CPS1.

Hi @modgirl! That's a pretty good solution for the CPS3! wished I could have purchased your kit instead since it looks pretty robust.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2020 5:36 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 795
Location: Finland
dannahan wrote:
Hi @marqs! Just wondering when the next firmware update would be to keep the previous settings as well as bringing back scanlines. Again, thank you so much for this! I'm planning on purchasing another DIGITAL AV for the CPS1.
I've planned to start working on the OSD soon which is more or less a prequisite for these other features.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:44 pm 



Joined: 27 Aug 2019
Posts: 1
ModGirl wrote:
So far, every one ive seen has had the same spacing and layout of the RN's. This was a prototype. I have a new version on the way, ill post pics and source once its all tested.


Hey, I recently got my third board and planning to do install on CPS3 I would love to use the kit you made, is it posible that I can get 1? I will pay for that


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:19 am 


User avatar

Joined: 22 Apr 2020
Posts: 4
RickyTTT wrote:
Hey, I recently got my third board and planning to do install on CPS3 I would love to use the kit you made, is it posible that I can get 1? I will pay for that


Yes, I'm currently in production at the moment. Keep checking videogameperfection.com or lovegood.dev to see when stock is available.
_________________
Blog - GitHub - Store


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 267 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group