shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:27 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 9:08 pm 



Joined: 01 Aug 2014
Posts: 29
Hrm, I was super excited for the CPS1 version, but that looks very precarious. I'm guessing you have no intention of a more CPS1-specific board which isn't going to jut out so far from the PCB form factor?


BTW, I tried to capture footage from my CPS2HDMI via a black magic intensity and it was completely hopeless at locking onto the signal. Do we have a list of capture solutions which support the CPS2HDMI? Including audio+video


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2019 10:54 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
fluxcore wrote:
Hrm, I was super excited for the CPS1 version, but that looks very precarious. I'm guessing you have no intention of a more CPS1-specific board which isn't going to jut out so far from the PCB form factor?
At least for pre-assembled boards it's most convenient and economical to stick with one common design even though it's not most optimal fit for CPS1/3. That's assuming majority of the buyers are installing it to CPS2, so things might change if there's suddenly a massive interest in a model optimized for CPS1.

fluxcore wrote:
TW, I tried to capture footage from my CPS2HDMI via a black magic intensity and it was completely hopeless at locking onto the signal. Do we have a list of capture solutions which support the CPS2HDMI? Including audio+video
The only "non-standard" charastetistic is 59.64Hz, otherwise the output should be de-facto 1080p. Perhaps that's out of the range supported by black magic intensity which would be a bummer but hardly surprising consideríng the inflexibility of capture cards (compared to TVs/monitors).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2019 7:25 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Posts: 63
Location: Arkansas
RGB wrote:
Installed my CPS2 digital AV, it works a charm!

Image

If anybody's looking for a solution to interface the HDMI modded CPS2 without a supergun, I started this project - https://homearcadesystem.wordpress.com/cps2ioi/

The design files and BOM are also available at OSH Park - https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/Zjf0XU71

Image

Do you have a part number for the through hole JAMMA connector on this board. I can't seem to find one for the life of me.
_________________
plus ça change,
plus c'est la même chose,
The more that things change,
The more they stay the same.- RUSH- Circumstances

I install and sell mods at arthrimus.com | SNES RGB Bypass+Dejitter available now! | Watch me live stream my work on YouTube


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2019 9:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
Arthrimus wrote:
Do you have a part number for the through hole JAMMA connector on this board. I can't seem to find one for the life of me.
This seems like a suitable one, but I can't confirm.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Posts: 63
Location: Arkansas
marqs wrote:
Arthrimus wrote:
Do you have a part number for the through hole JAMMA connector on this board. I can't seem to find one for the life of me.
This seems like a suitable one, but I can't confirm.

Yes that one works. Thanks for tracking it down, don't know why I was having so much trouble finding it.

Incidentally the PCB house that I used to manufacture the I/O board for me has a minimum order quantity of five copies of the PCB, so I went ahead and assembled five of the I/O boards and kick harnesses. I only need one so if anybody else wants one I have four more I/O boards and Kick Harness adapters available. PM if interested.
Image
_________________
plus ça change,
plus c'est la même chose,
The more that things change,
The more they stay the same.- RUSH- Circumstances

I install and sell mods at arthrimus.com | SNES RGB Bypass+Dejitter available now! | Watch me live stream my work on YouTube


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:55 am 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
Preliminary code and instructions for CPS1 installation are now in repo. Adaptation for CPS1 video is complete, as well as for YM2151 OPM. The remaining part is to figure out the best place to extract MSM6295 voice audio (which unfortunately isn't used on the board I have).

Minor changes to cps1_adapter will be made as well (there is also an option to make a L-shaped adapter PCB to prevent anything sticking outside of CPS1 A-board boundary). It should be also noted that the current adapter board can be properly mounted on certain A-board revisions only (89626A-4 and probably its DASH version too). A different adapter would be needed for 88617A revisions.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 6:13 am 



Joined: 18 Mar 2018
Posts: 1
@Arthrimus, I'd like to snag one of those boards from ya. Can't PM you. Maybe it's because I'm new?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:30 pm 



Joined: 01 Aug 2014
Posts: 29
marqs wrote:
Preliminary code and instructions for CPS1 installation are now in repo. Adaptation for CPS1 video is complete, as well as for YM2151 OPM. The remaining part is to figure out the best place to extract MSM6295 voice audio (which unfortunately isn't used on the board I have).

Minor changes to cps1_adapter will be made as well (there is also an option to make a L-shaped adapter PCB to prevent anything sticking outside of CPS1 A-board boundary). It should be also noted that the current adapter board can be properly mounted on certain A-board revisions only (89626A-4 and probably its DASH version too). A different adapter would be needed for 88617A revisions.


Nice, nice!

I'm guessing due to the way you've written this, that the clock differences between DASH and non-dash (i.e. 10MHz vs 12MHz) won't cause issues for the HDMI device?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2019 6:43 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
fluxcore wrote:
I'm guessing due to the way you've written this, that the clock differences between DASH and non-dash (i.e. 10MHz vs 12MHz) won't cause issues for the HDMI device?
The PPU clock is still 16MHz so I don't expect any difference in video timings.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:11 pm 



Joined: 01 Jul 2019
Posts: 1
I wouldn't mind grabbing one or two of those IO and kick harnesses off you Arthrimus. Do you have any left?

Arthrimus wrote:
marqs wrote:
Arthrimus wrote:
Do you have a part number for the through hole JAMMA connector on this board. I can't seem to find one for the life of me.
This seems like a suitable one, but I can't confirm.

Yes that one works. Thanks for tracking it down, don't know why I was having so much trouble finding it.

Incidentally the PCB house that I used to manufacture the I/O board for me has a minimum order quantity of five copies of the PCB, so I went ahead and assembled five of the I/O boards and kick harnesses. I only need one so if anybody else wants one I have four more I/O boards and Kick Harness adapters available. PM if interested.
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
I'm working on my install and have a question about hooking up +5v and Ground. In the instructions they are using an unused ccx terminal. On my motherboard all of the CCX terminals are populated. Can I still just solder them up to the legs of the cap on that spot?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
Danexmurder wrote:
I'm working on my install and have a question about hooking up +5v and Ground. In the instructions they are using an unused ccx terminal. On my motherboard all of the CCX terminals are populated. Can I still just solder them up to the legs of the cap on that spot?
Yes, that's OK. There are also many other places to tap +5V and GND in case those are cumbersome with the caps populated.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
marqs wrote:
Danexmurder wrote:
I'm working on my install and have a question about hooking up +5v and Ground. In the instructions they are using an unused ccx terminal. On my motherboard all of the CCX terminals are populated. Can I still just solder them up to the legs of the cap on that spot?
Yes, that's OK. There are also many other places to tap +5V and GND in case those are cumbersome with the caps populated.


Thanks for the info! I almost just ran the wires to the through holes on above the Jamma edge but just ended up soldering to the legs of the capacitor. I wrapped up the rest of the soldering last night. Looking forward to putting it all back together and trying it out tonight or tomorrow. Going to install a Gelid Silent 6 fan while I've got it open.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 3:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
I finished my install and got it up and running last night! It really looks phenomenal on my 4K panel.

The only issue I ran into was that I wasn't getting audio over HDMI. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Edit:

My jumpers are bridged and I checked continuity with a multimeter.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 4:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
Danexmurder wrote:
The only issue I ran into was that I wasn't getting audio over HDMI. Any suggestions?
Can you check whether analog audio still works? There was one strange case in which audio (both digital and analog) stopped working after installation which was subsequently resolved by changing coax cable to a better quality one.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
marqs wrote:
Danexmurder wrote:
The only issue I ran into was that I wasn't getting audio over HDMI. Any suggestions?
Can you check whether analog audio still works? There was one strange case in which audio (both digital and analog) stopped working after installation which was subsequently resolved by changing coax cable to a better quality one.


I haven't checked the analog audio yet. Good call. I'll try that out tonight and report back. If you have a source for particularly good coax cable please let me know. I just grabbed what I could find on amazon.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
marqs wrote:
Danexmurder wrote:
The only issue I ran into was that I wasn't getting audio over HDMI. Any suggestions?
Can you check whether analog audio still works? There was one strange case in which audio (both digital and analog) stopped working after installation which was subsequently resolved by changing coax cable to a better quality one.


I checked into the analog audio last night and can confirm that it doesn't. I have no audio at all.

This is what my Coax installation looks like.

Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:12 am 



Joined: 05 Aug 2017
Posts: 12
Is the X68000 hardware similar enough to the CPS to make an internal CPS2AV type mod a possibility?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
Danexmurder wrote:
I checked into the analog audio last night and can confirm that it doesn't. I have no audio at all.

This is what my Coax installation looks like.
Try disconnecting the coax below oscillator and ensure that analog audio is restored. RG-174 or similar coax should be good for the mod.
xterc wrote:
Is the X68000 hardware similar enough to the CPS to make an internal CPS2AV type mod a possibility?
The board is designed for systems with up to 16bit parallel video data and serial (I2S) audio, I'm not sure how close that is to signals you can extract from X68000 internally.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:14 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
marqs wrote:
Danexmurder wrote:
I checked into the analog audio last night and can confirm that it doesn't. I have no audio at all.

This is what my Coax installation looks like.
Try disconnecting the coax below oscillator and ensure that analog audio is restored. RG-174 or similar coax should be good for the mod.
xterc wrote:
Is the X68000 hardware similar enough to the CPS to make an internal CPS2AV type mod a possibility?
The board is designed for systems with up to 16bit parallel video data and serial (I2S) audio, I'm not sure how close that is to signals you can extract from X68000 internally.


I disconnected below the oscillator and can confirm audio works. I did use RG-174 but I’ve got another coax cable I can try. Should I just do that?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 15 Dec 2012
Posts: 654
Location: Finland
Danexmurder wrote:
I disconnected below the oscillator and can confirm audio works. I did use RG-174 but I’ve got another coax cable I can try. Should I just do that?
Yes, you could try that, and try also to keep cable length at minimum. Can you also check where the clock trace leads on your board? If there is a buffer before some sinks, its output might be a better place to tap clock signal.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Feb 2018
Posts: 47
Location: Frederick, MD
marqs wrote:
Danexmurder wrote:
I disconnected below the oscillator and can confirm audio works. I did use RG-174 but I’ve got another coax cable I can try. Should I just do that?
Yes, you could try that, and try also to keep cable length at minimum. Can you also check where the clock trace leads on your board? If there is a buffer before some sinks, its output might be a better place to tap clock signal.


I desoldered the old RG-174 and put in some RG-316 instead. I fired it up and it worked right away. Not sure why it didn’t like the other one but that did the trick!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPS2 digital AV interface
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:50 am 


User avatar

Joined: 28 Feb 2015
Posts: 614
Location: Rome
Try using only RG59 cables for digital audio. Everything else will be slightly to completely out of spec and may introduce various issues.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: naz, Steamflogger Boss, svensonson and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group