shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:44 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:13 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
AKURA DREAMCAST HDMI BOX WITH SCANLINER

Our much anticipated secret project AKURA is finally ready for production.
It's an HDMI video box for your beloved Dreamcast console. As our other legendary products, it has a Scanliner function as well. Just like the Toro or Hanzo, you don't need to modify your console,it's a plug 'n play solution.
Here is a video proof of our pre-production sample

https://youtu.be/C1TfWrrlgJc

https://flic.kr/p/QeTAc8
https://flic.kr/p/QeTzVg
https://flic.kr/p/Q1Yugf

We will start to take Pre-orders from mid January... Prices TBA...


Thanks for your support.



Team Beharbros
http://www.beharbros.com


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2124
Location: Montréal, Canada
So it's basically an analog-RGB-to-HDMI transcoder with a built-in line doubler?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:24 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
It is not an upscaler. 1:1 video converter with scanline generator.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:36 pm 



Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 410
Looks cool!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 607
Location: Indiana
Guspaz wrote:
So it's basically an analog-RGB-to-HDMI transcoder with a built-in line doubler?


Nevermind


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:56 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2124
Location: Montréal, Canada
beharius wrote:
It is not an upscaler. 1:1 video converter with scanline generator.


This only works on 480p games, then? AFAIK many (most?) TVs do not support 480i over HDMI.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:38 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Yes, other games can work with the VGA switch trick, however still some games are not VGA 480p compatible.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:57 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11834
Location: Germany
Nice effort!

Did you pay attention to the proper sampling and A/D conversion ? As you know the DC does output a 640x480p signal inside a 720x480p border, which causes a resolution loss on almost all VGA to HDMI converters. Does the Akura report as 640x480p/VESA or 480p/SMPTE to the display ?

Can you please take a snapshot of a 1-pixel checkerboard pattern (e.g. the energy/power bars on GGX) ? If you set the display to 4:3 as long as you do the proper sampling, you get a 1:2 integer pixel scale on your 1080p display (1280 active columns on a 1440 columns area).

And do you integrate scanlines on a digital level or analogue prior to the A/D conversion ?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:40 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Thanks. It shows 640x480. It can't fix that resolution issue. Because it's a general purpose converter, just like the Hanzo&Toro an extra scanliner cable enables VGA input for it, so you can use other consoles and PC with it. 480p,720p and 1080p resolutions are supported.
OK, I will take a photo tomorrow.
Scanlines are integrated before the conversion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:23 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11834
Location: Germany
That's ok, but you should make buyers aware of this when they place their (pre)orders. Advertised like this one might expect the same quality the OSSC would deliver (where you can manually switch between the two sampling rates).

Fun fact about all those "general purpose" VGA to HDMI converters: most of the ICs used on these are actually able to detect the proper SMTPE timing of the input resolution if they're fed with a component signal (even if they don't offcially support YUV inputs), so my hope would be that the ICs can be forced to apply sampling matching the SMTPE timing while working with a RGBHV signal.

If you have the proper equipment on hand, do a comparison yourself. If you transcode the DC's VGA signal to component first and then use a component to HDMI converter (can be as cheap as it gets), it will suddenly resolve the full resolution (which you can easily spot on any 1-pixel checkerboard pattern).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:01 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Thanks for your advice. It can be done with an fpga and some coding.
OSSC is in a different league so it's pricier.
There is always a tradeoff. The IC we are using is capable of component conversion too, but the image quality of rgb -> ypbpr-> hdmi is worse than direct rgb to hdmi when we tested.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2124
Location: Montréal, Canada
If you're really sampling a 720 pixel wide image using only 640 samples, I think that the quality loss from the misaligned sampling (introducing effectively a big horizontal blur) is going to be much worse than anything the colourspace conversion might cause.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:00 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 11834
Location: Germany
marqs explained the numbers somewhere in the OSSC thread and I created this graphic http://pms.hazard-city.de/ossc_sampling.jpg trying to explain the difference between the two sampling modes.

You're effectively losing 43 columns of resolution, BUT to be fair: the very same thing happens on EVERY TV with a native VGA input and instead of blurring the whole image you only end up with a regular pattern of slightly blurred columns. Hence my advice to check it with a 1-pixel checkerboard pattern.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:26 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2124
Location: Montréal, Canada
True, depending on how precise the Dreamcast's analog output is, you would only perceive a blur when the sample was taken close enough to the pixel boundary. So if the Dreamcast has very sharp analog output, a relatively small number of samples would show up as blurry.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:52 am 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Testing Guilty Gear X DC

https://youtu.be/kHmWDWJe-q4

https://flic.kr/p/QkdBko


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:09 am 


User avatar

Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 2455
Location: Brooklyn NY
This looks great, but I have a Hanzo is what I am saying right now.

Super interested in one of these though.
_________________
"Yes, That Should Work."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 3097
Location: UK
Quote:
This only works on 480p games, then? AFAIK many (most?) TVs do not support 480i over HDMI.


240p usually not, but I'm sure 480i is in the HDMI spec.
_________________
OSSC Forums - http://www.videogameperfection.com/forums
Please check the XRGB Wiki before posting about the OSSC, XRGB Mini or XRGB3 - http://junkerhq.net/xrgb/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:03 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
For RGB 480i games you need to try the VGA switch trick. While booting immediately change the RGB/VGA switch from RGB to VGA works with most of these games. Some games can be playable with VGA patches too.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 2124
Location: Montréal, Canada
BuckoA51 wrote:
Quote:
This only works on 480p games, then? AFAIK many (most?) TVs do not support 480i over HDMI.


240p usually not, but I'm sure 480i is in the HDMI spec.


Not as far as I can tell, although the specs are annoyingly secret (behind a licensing paywall, anyhow). IIRC I tried the OSSC's 480i passthrough on my Dell U2711 monitor and found that it was able to sync, but with a very messed up image (half height). That's a monitor that seems to support all the OSSC's esoteric timing modes (like 240x3 and 480x2).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:37 am 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Playing Guilty Gear X on a 21.5" PC monitor

https://youtu.be/wYZ9pMw-e2c


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:42 pm 



Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 66
Location: USA
awesome!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:51 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Akura working with System Board Y2 KOF 2002
https://youtu.be/aZN6lhMovcc


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:13 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Akura will be sold for $85 including shipping.
Preorders will be taken from February 7th...
Deliveries will start in March.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:48 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 634
Location: Bellingham, WA
Does the hdmi transcoder scale to 1080p output or just digital 480p.

If you could scale the output to 1080p you could probably also scale resolution to properly display a 2x scale 960 in a 1080p frame.

Also you could bypass my tvs scaler helping my input lag

The current workaround is to plug it in to my framemeister and use the smart 2x.

just a couple questions/wishlist. I love your TORO btw I just wish it had proper aspect scaling built into the unit somehow.
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 3:57 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
It's not upscaling, it can only output 480p.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:24 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 634
Location: Bellingham, WA
beharius wrote:
It's not upscaling, it can only output 480p.


Since your here. I would love to know what you suggest for most people using your device on their tvs to correct their aspect?

Most tvs wide zoom over correct and I would love to hear it from the owner
_________________
Copyright 1987


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:30 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
It's adjusted automatically, I haven't found a way yet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:49 pm 



Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 460
Hoagtech wrote:
I would love to know what you suggest for most people using your device on their tvs to correct their aspect?

Try this: https://segaretro.org/List_of_Dreamcast ... reen_codes


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:58 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Let's get ready to rumble!
http://www.beharbros.com/akura


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:17 pm 



Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Akura reviewed by Adam Koralik
https://youtu.be/zosZPMWQ_ZQ


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dexster, Suicyco and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group