Question about Sony PVM (total newbie inside)

The place for all discussion on gaming hardware
johnwoo14

Question about Sony PVM (total newbie inside)

Post by johnwoo14 »

Hi everybody,
recently I've been searching for a good crt to play my old console (mainly Saturn, Dreamcast, AES, Gamecube) and, since I have space problems on my desk, I was keeping an eye to 14" monitors.
BMVs monitors are unfortunately too pricey for me but I found a PVM-14N1E that I could take for 50€. Since I'm a total newbie when it comes to monitors (I've always connected my consoles to CRT TVs via RGB scart cables), I have some question I would like to be answered before I make the deal:
1 - Is this a good quality monitor for retrogaming? Is the price right?
2 - I noticed the monitor has video input via bnc and s-video connectors. My idea is to connect my consoles using s-video cables. Is this a good idea? Will I get a good image quality?

Thanks you in advance for your advice! :wink:
mchay

Re: Question about Sony PVM (total newbie inside)

Post by mchay »

You need to locate a monitor with RGB inputs. Especially when you mention having been used to connecting your console via RGB - it would be a step down to do composite/s-video.
darcagn

Post by darcagn »

S-video is good quality but it would be much better to go through RGB. RGB gives you the best quality possible via an analog connection. It would be a step down to buy a PVM and then hook up your consoles via S-video cables.

If you already have RGB SCART cables, great! Find a PVM in your price range that supports RGB, then use an RGB SCART to BNC cable like this one to connect your consoles.
johnwoo14

Post by johnwoo14 »

Thanks for your answers!
I think the pvm model I spotted does not support RGB, since it only has these connectors:

Am I right?

Thanks!!
Einzelherz

Post by Einzelherz »

Correct.

From left to right: S-Video in/out, composite in/out, audio (mono) in/out, and line b has all three, in only.