shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:15 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2154 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 68, 69, 70, 71, 72
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2019 1:08 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 May 2018
Posts: 400
Location: Escondido, CA, USA
Nuck-TH wrote:
NoAffinity wrote:
Esp is stuck to the bottom of the gbs with some 3m velcro adhesive pads, just like it always has been.

ESP board antenna should be away from any metal plane like ground plane on bottom of GBS.

Well, the simple act of locating the esp about 1" away from the gbs - off to one side, and as far as my current wiring reaches - fixed it. Working flawlessly, no disruption in connectivity/control. And the image is looking fantastic, to boot!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:26 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
Lot's of delayed posts :p

themaxx2k:
The project is meant to be as versatile as possible. Working with lots of systems is the point ;)
You probably want to build a female SCART to VGA adapter. You can then plug your SCART cable into the adapter, and the adapter VGA end into the GBS.
Alternatively, you can build a female SCART receptor with 4 signals + ground going to the posts on the GBS. Electrically, the posts and the VGA input are the same.
Gbscontrol works best with 90s era home consoles (SNES, MD, Saturn, PSX, ..) and also very well with early 2000s stuff that uses Component Video (PS2, Wii, XBOX, ..).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:41 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
AtariBits:
Nice to see a new project!

You could speed up development a lot by getting an ESP8266 and build gbscontrol for it.
Connecting the setup to a PC, you can then use a terminal and read out all kinds of information from the running GBS.
It should quickly tell you in what ways you need to modify your preset loading routines.

The register map is not straight forward. You get a couple of sections, then some holes, then some more sections.
There are countless things to watch out for as well. It's not a good idea to just dump a preset into the registers and then expect it to work.
For example, you need to specify the analog input you want to use, and you need to select the correct sync processing for it.

It'll be much easier if you have a working gbscontrol setup to check how it should look like.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:21 pm 



Joined: 04 Sep 2019
Posts: 6
i found this project last week and it interested me to be able to try and clean my video up for my Geneve 9640 (outputs 15kHz)that is connected via RGB to the GBS8200 then out to VGA.

I have built the board based with a NodeMcu ESP8266 D1 Mini and followed the Wiki for hardware setup and uploading of the code.

I am using the standard Sync Stripper circuit with the LM1881

Image

I am powering it with a USB cable for testing purposes.

However I get a complete blank screen. I switched the SDA and SCL lines just in case but no difference. Disable the GBSControl and it all works when it uses the internal GBS8200 firmware.

starting
(WiFi): still connecting..
<reset>
Chip ID: 1A 1
G: 3B
R: 3B R: 3C R: 3D R: 3E R: 3F
B: 3B B: 3C B: 3D B: 3E B: 3F B: 40 B: 41
<reset>
<reset>
Scanning inputs for sources ...
(WiFi): STA mode connected; IP: 10.0.0.54
(WiFi): Access 'http://gbscontrol:80' or 'http://gbscontrol.local' (or device IP) in your browser
Activity detected, input: RGB
VSync: present
HSync: present
RGB/HV bypass
ADC offset: R:3F G:3B B:41
RGB/HV bypass on
```````````````<reset>

Any clues?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Location: North America, California
rama wrote:
AtariBits:
Nice to see a new project!

You could speed up development a lot by getting an ESP8266 and build gbscontrol for it.
Connecting the setup to a PC, you can then use a terminal and read out all kinds of information from the running GBS.
It should quickly tell you in what ways you need to modify your preset loading routines.

The register map is not straight forward. You get a couple of sections, then some holes, then some more sections.
There are countless things to watch out for as well. It's not a good idea to just dump a preset into the registers and then expect it to work.
For example, you need to specify the analog input you want to use, and you need to select the correct sync processing for it.

It'll be much easier if you have a working gbscontrol setup to check how it should look like.


Hi rama,

Yes that would probably be the right way to approach this, but on my first go around I used an ATTINY681 and the code I got from HERE. And it worked right out of the box giving me this image...

Image

However my projects kind of need to revolve around the use of a PIC chip, due to a cheap programmer board I developed that plugs into the joystick port on an Atari 8-Bit. This combined with an Atari executable flashing file, allows for an extremely easy method of flashing the PIC chips used in my projects using the same computer the projects are destined to upgrade, no PC required. So long story short I thought since the ATTINY681 was working, it should be a relatively easy matter to convert the code over to GCB (Great Cow Basic) and get it on a PIC chip. As it turned out not so easy after all, since my Arduino coding skills are non-existent trying to decipher the code was just not working for me, so I had to try and take an intuitive approach with poor results thus far.

This appears to be the guts of that Arduino code that knows how to deal with the holes and memory offsets required, but try as i might I just don't get what it's really doing in entirety...
Code:
bool writeProgramArray(const uint8_t* programArray)
{
  for(int y = 0; y < 6; y++)
  {
    writeOneByte(0xF0, (uint8_t)y );
    _delay_us(10);

    for(int z = 0; z < 15; z++)
    {
      uint8_t bank[16];
      for(int w = 0; w < 16; w++)
      {
        bank[w] = pgm_read_byte(programArray + (y*256 + z*16 + w));
      }

      writeBytes(z*16, bank, 16);

      _delay_us(10);
    }

  }

  return true;
}


Perhaps someone more versed in this style of code can describe it in a simple manner.

Once again I apologize for all the delayed posts, many of which in retrospect were more noise than useful. And I also hope that I haven't derailed this topic too much in the process. My intentions are to eventually get the PIC solution to work, and then to post the code and the gerber files associated with any boards I make running this for anyone to use. Having it in Basic should allow for an easier time if someone else later on wants to create a variant.

BTW, thanks go out to all the people that helped bring the GBS-Control into existence (dooklink, rama, ect.).
_________________
Michael from AtariBits


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:26 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
No worries ;p

I kind of remember that code with the "y*256 + z*16 + w" bits.
First of all, you need to be sure that your preset file matches the algorithm.
This is a big thing with my preset files, since they're stripped down and optimized for my use cases.
They won't work when used with older algorithms.

So anyway, I suggest you take a look at the first post in this thread, and find the Google Drive datasheet archive.
Download the Register Definitions pdf and take a look at the register map.
You can see where the segments are, and how long they are.
Now all you need to do is write some code that fits your preset file values into those segments.
Beware that when you see lots of 0 in the preset file, it often means an overdump, always at the end of a segment.
No meaningful registers exist there, but overdumping simplified the code.
It also helps you spot segment boundaries :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:53 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 31 Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Location: North America, California
rama wrote:
No worries ;p

I kind of remember that code with the "y*256 + z*16 + w" bits.
First of all, you need to be sure that your preset file matches the algorithm.
This is a big thing with my preset files, since they're stripped down and optimized for my use cases.
They won't work when used with older algorithms.

So anyway, I suggest you take a look at the first post in this thread, and find the Google Drive datasheet archive.
Download the Register Definitions pdf and take a look at the register map.
You can see where the segments are, and how long they are.
Now all you need to do is write some code that fits your preset file values into those segments.
Beware that when you see lots of 0 in the preset file, it often means an overdump, always at the end of a segment.
No meaningful registers exist there, but overdumping simplified the code.
It also helps you spot segment boundaries :)


Yes I already found and downloaded the TVia5725 Register and Programming pdfs, and have been using the visual Register Map as a reference. I also went back to the original preset table from that ATTINY681 code, and made it into a GCB table. In that table, I can see the segments and the overdumps in each one to make it an even 256 bytes per segment, and the presets in each segment always start at what would be the 0x00 position. So lots of wasted space with the preset table being a total of 1536 bytes in length. I then referenced the Map and could see how each segment in the table seemed to match up with the number of presets per segment, all except Segment 0 which was kind of odd, having 48 presets, then a 16 byte space (all zeros) and then 16 more presets. Looking at the Register Map, it looks like Segment 0 starts at 0x40 and then ends 32 presets later at 0x5F, then it continues at 0x90 with 16 more presets, ending at 0x9F. I assumed I would have to treat the Segment 0 data in a controlled way, placing two chunks of data starting at specific locations (0x40 and 0x90), but with that first chunk being defined with 48 presets instead of 32, it's rather baffling. Like I mentioned, all the other Segments in the table appear to have the correct number of presets as shown in the Map.

I'll do some more studying of the 5725 data sheets to see if I can figure out what's going on.
_________________
Michael from AtariBits


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:44 am 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
If it helps any, you can ignore the upper (0x90) segment. The segment just controls the built-in OSD.
So, out of the 0 segment, you really only need registers 0x40 to 0x5f.
0x40 might start with something like 0x7c or 0x3c (SDRAM clock and 648MHz PLL settings).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:01 am 



Joined: 05 Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Hi,
Thanks so much for this project.

I'm using this for a somewhat weird but apparently compatible purpose: to scale the CGA output of a Roland S-330 sampler for use on a 1024x768 VGA LCD. I'm finding it currently works best at 640x480, though I'd love to output the native res of the screen. Already it looks a thousand times better than the GBS8200 by itself, but Is there a way to output 1024x768? The resolution of the sampler output is 340x210, so 1020x630 would be the max integer upscale (3x) I could achieve within 1024x768.

Is this mode currently supported, or is there a way to specify custom resolutions?

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:16 am 



Joined: 15 Mar 2018
Posts: 50
rama - On my 2 GBS- boards I did replace the Sync on Green Capacitor Replacements. I now see that this is not needed. Can I leave the replacement caps in, or is it recommended to put the original values back in?

I am getting a NTSC N64 and planning to get a RGB board so i can get that setup. Annoying having such a poor picture output on this console as standard. The Tom Worthington RGB board looks good as it has a 'deblur' option to get a sharper picture and works on all N64 models.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:04 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
gzifcak:
Someone on Github requested the same.
https://github.com/ramapcsx2/gbs-control/issues/79

There isn't much to it to create such a new preset, but then it takes a lot of maintenance effort going forward.
Maybe I can improve my tools enough, so that I can write a small user's guide on how to do this themselves.

Higgy:
Just leave the caps as they are. As long as you don't see lots of sync issues, it is fine.
Sync issues in general should be at their lowest yet. I've managed to get the most signal out of whatever arrives on the pin ;p


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 2:00 pm 



Joined: 05 Sep 2019
Posts: 2
rama wrote:
gzifcak:
Someone on Github requested the same.
https://github.com/ramapcsx2/gbs-control/issues/79

There isn't much to it to create such a new preset, but then it takes a lot of maintenance effort going forward.
Maybe I can improve my tools enough, so that I can write a small user's guide on how to do this themselves.


Ooh I'd love to know a little bit about how to do this.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 3:48 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
I wrote some tools that take a simple argument and configures a few registers that are appropriate.
For example, if you look up that 1024x768 resolution (https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Modeline_Database), it uses 806 total lines.

So you can send this command over serial to the ESP8266: "wvt 806"
It will program all the vertical output registers appropriately.
Now that the vertical is set, you can send the command to correct the horizontal parameters to fit these new vertical timings: "."

And that's all to get something that your display recognizes as 1024x768.
But then there's many more things to configure to actually format the source stream to the new target, and I can't give a simple guide for that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:36 am 



Joined: 04 Sep 2019
Posts: 6
I have had extremely bad luck finding a GBS8200 that works. i have returned 5 to various vendores. different issues.

just trying to get it to work with the default internal firmware. i have had 2 that the geometry menu selection will not select, 3 that will not detect the rgb signal.

i have one that works fine on both internal and gbscontrol firmware.

I have bought 2 from ebay and 3 from Amazon from different vendors. Does anyone have a good source that they have had good luck?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:22 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
Five?

Well, that's certainly odd.
Did you test them all with gbscontrol?
I'm asking because the default firmware doesn't work with a lot of regular consoles, or only works in PAL or NTSC mode, or only interlaced or non-interlaced.
It's very picky.

Oh and the geometry menu is disabled for RGB/HV inputs and I think for YPbPr as well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:31 pm 



Joined: 04 Sep 2019
Posts: 6
i have made sure they were all setup exactly as the one I currently have working. I even just swapped harnesses from the one that works to the ones that did not. all i get is 'No Signal' even after I power up the console.

I did not see an option within the default firmware to disable/enable the Geometry based on the input. I am selecting the RGBS input.

I am trying to use it on a standard 80's era computer that accepts the 15kHz.

One of the units I had will see the RGB input but the screen goes green sometimes and at others there the screen will be readable and all but looks like it is divided into 4 quadrants.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:40 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
Oh yeah, don't expect the original firmware to work, lol :D

It will work with sources where it likes the timings (logic / programmatic part of the ofw), AND the physical signals (amplitude, CSync or H/V Sync, etc).
I don't think the firmwares differ between boards, but the sync signal path has minor to significant differences.
That is probably what makes your source work with only some boards.
What the firmware should do is adjust the sync processor to allow it to work around hardware differences, but it's not even trying..

If you put gbscontrol on it, you should get good results. Make sure to use CSync, if available.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:37 pm 



Joined: 04 Sep 2019
Posts: 6
my latest boards (2) came in today with date code of 20091204, one worked and the other just a solid green screen with default firmware. Loaded gbscontrol and hooked it up and the one that worked with default firmware works with gbscontrol but the other nope..

I saw there was a new 5.x version of GBS8200 out, will gbscontrol work with it?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:37 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
Please take a few picture of the board that doesn't work, view from top.
I need to see the (and be able to read) the labels around the analog input section (where the 3 potentiometers are) and the area south of the Myson controller (near the pin headers for gbscontrol).

My guess is that the board that isn't working has a resistor missing on the Myson CSync input pin.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 7:48 pm 



Joined: 04 Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Question about GBSControl. I have loaded it on 2 WeMos D1 Mini's successfully. But I have a couple of others that after I connect to the 'gbscontrol' wifi via my iPhone an get a IP address of 192.168.1.100 assigned to me when I try to go to any of the below it just times out

http://gbscontrol
http://gbscontrol.local
http://gbscontrol:80
http://192.168.4.1

However, if I connect via my windows desktop over wifi it works and I can see the WebUI. Keep in mind I have only coded the unit, it is not hooked up to a GBS8200 as of yet.

Anyone seen this, or know of a fix.

my config i am using to compile is:

Board: LOLIN(WEMOS D1 R2 & Mini)
Upload speed : 115200 (also tried 91200)
CPU Frequency: 80mhz
Flash Size: 4M (1M SPIFFS)
IwIP Variant : V2 Low Memory
Erase Flash : Sketch + WiFi Settings


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:27 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
What I can say is that every ESP8266 module should (does) behave the same with regards to protocol level TCP/IP.
Maybe the phone remembers the different MAC addresses all using the same (gbscontrol) hostname, and then does something weird?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:28 pm 



Joined: 04 Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Damn IOS update caused the issue. had to forget the network and reboot multiple times and finally got it working.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 7:53 pm 



Joined: 04 Mar 2018
Posts: 46
iOS13 can't connect to the DVR in my brother's car. Have to use an older device. They're definitely doing something funny that breaks device to device WiFi connections.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GBS 8200/8220 CFW Project
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2019 5:07 pm 



Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Posts: 924
Okay, then it's probably the OS applying some network filters for whatever behaviour gbscontrol does.
"Forgetting" / deleting stored WiFi credentials should fix that, and it would work as long as there aren't multiple devices active at the same time.
If I had to debug, I'd start by giving each device a unique hostname.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2154 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 68, 69, 70, 71, 72

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bratwurst, DirkSwizzler, Konsolkongen and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group