shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:11 pm View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 70, 71, 72, 73, 74
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 7:52 am 



Joined: 22 Oct 2018
Posts: 44
strayan wrote:
bobrocks95 wrote:
Edit: I see Extrems himself recommends simply using a cheap HDMI to YPbPr converter. Pretty silly since it's going right back to digital with the OSSC


Huh? The OSSC was designed to take analogue signals and output digital.


Yup, but the idea is to get an analogue YPbPr signal from the GC into the OSSC so outside of the OEM component cables (or the Insurrection industries ones) the best way to do that is to use a GCVideo based HDMI solution and convert it back to YPbPr so the OSSC can work its magic.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 8:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1431
Location: Australia
Ummm GCVideo outputs YPbPr.

Why would anyone wanting to output YPbPr to ossc do so via a HDMI to YPbPr converter?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 11:36 am 



Joined: 22 Oct 2018
Posts: 44
Syntax wrote:
Ummm GCVideo outputs YPbPr.

Why would anyone wanting to output YPbPr to ossc do so via a HDMI to YPbPr converter?


Sorry I’m obviously a little behind the times but what are the options to send a YPbPr signal to an OSSC? Wouldn’t you need to use a GCHD and some component cables or like extreme suggested use a converter with the Carby?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 12:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 309
Unseen wrote:
[*]BUT: This does not come for free, support for the separate VSync output and the undocumented mode switch pin had to be disabled on WiiDual. This should affect only a tiny minority of users.

Since the WiiDual 1.0 and 1.1 board revisions have different hardware ID's (and since the 1.0 revision is apparently quite rare) would it be possible for the standard GCVideo releases to only disable VSYNC if using the 1.0 board revision?

citrus3000psi wrote:
Hardware WiiDual and WiiDual 1.1 are labeled on the boards. From what I remember without looking back at my notes the initial WiiDual I used an input only IO on one of the H/V sync outputs. So on HW1.1, I swapped pins from the VData[0] to fix the problem.

To keep these separate I created my own hardware ID's for compiling.

So if you previously installed a 3.0 build from one of my compilations you can grab 3.0e from here: http://dansprojects.com/firmware/WiiDual/

The initial WiiDual 1.0 is pretty rear most units are rev 1.1

Just curious, since the GCVideo 3.0 releases hoped to merge support for all hardware types, what are the main differences between the standard GCVideo 3.0e releases and the 3.0e releases on your site? Is the only difference now that your versions still support the H/V Sync outputs on the WiiDual, whereas the standard GCVideo releases dont currently support any VSYNC output?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 12:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 620
Link83 wrote:
Since the WiiDual 1.0 and 1.1 board revisions have different hardware ID's

They don't, at least not since some people flashed one of the pre-3.0e releases from me to their board with an external tool, ran into weird problems and reported them on my Github page.

Quote:
(and since the 1.0 revision is apparently quite rare) would it be possible for the standard GCVideo releases to only disable VSYNC if using the 1.0 board revision?

No, the two functions require incompatible I/O standards and that cannot be changed at runtime.
_________________
GCVideo releases: https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo/releases


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 1:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2417
Location: Kentucky
Syntax wrote:
Ummm GCVideo outputs YPbPr.

Why would anyone wanting to output YPbPr to ossc do so via a HDMI to YPbPr converter?


I didn't clarify, but I already have an HDMI modded GameCube, and was looking for a component output solution. Unfortunately the best option seems to be a converter (just not wanting another wall wart power adapter...).

Hopefully the OSSC Pro will resolve this whenever it's out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 2:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2017
Posts: 1431
Location: Australia
Listai wrote:
Syntax wrote:
Ummm GCVideo outputs YPbPr.

Why would anyone wanting to output YPbPr to ossc do so via a HDMI to YPbPr converter?


Sorry I’m obviously a little behind the times but what are the options to send a YPbPr signal to an OSSC? Wouldn’t you need to use a GCHD and some component cables or like extreme suggested use a converter with the Carby?


A scart to component breakout would work fine id imagine.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 2:11 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 1324
bobrocks95 wrote:
Pretty silly since it's going right back to digital with the OSSC

what do you think is happening inside of the carby comp cables?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 2:30 pm 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 340
maxtherabbit wrote:
bobrocks95 wrote:
Pretty silly since it's going right back to digital with the OSSC

what do you think is happening inside of the carby comp cables?


Exactly.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2020 3:28 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2417
Location: Kentucky
maxtherabbit wrote:
bobrocks95 wrote:
Pretty silly since it's going right back to digital with the OSSC

what do you think is happening inside of the carby comp cables?


Just as silly until the OSSC Pro comes around, but at least they were an all-in-one solution without a separate power supply or anything.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:07 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2417
Location: Kentucky
Sorry to double post, but does anyone else have the high fidelity version of GBI working with an OSSC and GCVideo-DVI 3.0d + an HDMI to YPbPr Converter? Doesn't want to sync for me.

These settings in particular: https://www.gc-forever.com/wiki/index.php?title=Game_Boy_Interface/High-Fidelity_Edition#Open_Source_Scan_Converter


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 2:40 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 452
Unseen, I've got a curveball for you: https://github.com/extremscorner/libogc-rice/commit/4749717318970d540c0099637e0c9ed4ed6cc38c


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:17 am 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 620
Extrems wrote:

Do you know how much space I have left in hardware and software to detect stuff like that?

Also, 96kHz is useless: 48kHz is already enough to exceed the bandwidth of human hearing.
_________________
GCVideo releases: https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo/releases


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:00 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 1027
Unseen wrote:
Also, 96kHz is useless: 48kHz is already enough to exceed the bandwidth of human hearing.


In your opinion all upsampling is useless? Nowadays you have audiophile gear advertising the ability to upscale and upsample up to 11.2 MHz :lol: Some people swear it sounds better!

The one benefit that seems realistic is that gear can have an easier time processing (needing less filtering?) with higher sample sources, but who knows.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:30 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 452
Unseen wrote:
Also, 96kHz is useless: 48kHz is already enough to exceed the bandwidth of human hearing.

But how am I supposed to pass through more of the high frequency garbage a real Game Boy has? :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:37 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 620
fernan1234 wrote:
In your opinion all upsampling is useless?

No, upsampling before D/A-conversion is a very common (and useful) method to simplify the design of the required reconstruction filter. If you have a 44100 Hz signal and convert it without upsampling, you need a reconstruction filter that "closes up" at 22050 Hz (half sample rate) but still lets everything pass at around 20kHz - designing such a filter is quite hard. By upsampling the signal before conversion to e.g. 88200Hz, you now just need a filter that passes everything at 20kHz and closes at 44100Hz - if the upsampling is done properly, there is no signal present between 22050 and 44100Hz because there wasn't any in the original signal either. Such a filter is much easier to design and implement because the curve is much flatter.

It gets even better: If upsample even more and apply some mathematical trickery, you can generate a signal that only needs a single-bit DAC instead of a 16 bit one - you might remember CD players advertisements talking about "1-bit DACs". This works by ensuring that the noise introduced by reducing the signal from 16 to just 1 bit is concentrated in the part of the spectrum that is higher than the original signal and letting the reconstruction filter remove it. This technique is called delta-sigma-modulation and is the basis for almost any high-quality audio ADC and DAC on the market today.

But for storage or transmission it's just a waste of bits and can even introduce audible artifacts due to intermodulation. This video has some nice demonstrations.

Quote:
The one benefit that seems realistic is that gear can have an easier time processing (needing less filtering?) with higher sample sources, but who knows.

Yes, some kinds of processing can benefit from higher sample rates - but you would upsample at the point of processing.

Extrems wrote:
But how am I supposed to pass through more of the high frequency garbage a real Game Boy has? :(

Maybe Nintendo expected the speaker/headphone to act as a low-pass filter? =)
_________________
GCVideo releases: https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo/releases


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:44 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 1027
Thanks for that post, really informative stuff in there I hadn't considered that precisely.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:29 am 


User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 3
How did you do that to the ColecoRGB board? Where did you add the potentiometer on that board?
https://imgur.com/dGSlk4p


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 7:47 am 



Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Posts: 340
Extrems wrote:
I'm guessing it's a GTF vs CVT thing? Both are VESA, mind you.


Ended up solving this problem buy buying a DVI to VGA adapter (the oldest looking one I could find) instead of using a HDMI to VGA adapter and it now works perfectly.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 1:21 am 



Joined: 29 Apr 2016
Posts: 202
If I'm using the official component cables, should I set the swiss "AVE Compatibility" setting to "CMPV-DOL"?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:35 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 452
Yes.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 70, 71, 72, 73, 74

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Ryoandr and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group