shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:43 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1945 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:22 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1916
Unseen wrote:
Lawfer wrote:
Thanks, do you have any idea on the change(s) that 2.5 will be bringing?

One of the original plans was to autodetect Smash based on a checksum of the title screen and turn on a special a high-latency mode when it is detected. I'm not sure if that feature will fit though.


Thank you, so no fixes for the chroma issue thing then?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:31 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2018
Posts: 723
Unseen wrote:
Lawfer wrote:
Thanks, do you have any idea on the change(s) that 2.5 will be bringing?

One of the original plans was to autodetect Smash based on a checksum of the title screen and turn on a special a high-latency mode when it is detected. I'm not sure if that feature will fit though.

make it fit!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:16 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
Lawfer wrote:
Unseen wrote:
Lawfer wrote:
Thanks, do you have any idea on the change(s) that 2.5 will be bringing?

One of the original plans was to autodetect Smash based on a checksum of the title screen and turn on a special a high-latency mode when it is detected. I'm not sure if that feature will fit though.


Thank you, so no fixes for the chroma issue thing then?


Gamecube users can use Swiss which is now correcting this, though people using GCVideo on Wii are screwed for now. Is there a way to run Swiss on Wii? Well, that would solve Gamecube games (maybe can be done with Nintendont too), but Wii content will still have this problem.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1916
fernan1234 wrote:
Gamecube users can use Swiss which is now correcting this, though people using GCVideo on Wii are screwed for now.


Yeah I was asking for Wii.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
fernan1234 wrote:
Is there a way to run Swiss on Wii? Well, that would solve Gamecube games (maybe can be done with Nintendont too), but Wii content will still have this problem.

There is. That's originally how I got involved with the project, back when 576p was the new thing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:50 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
Extrems wrote:
fernan1234 wrote:
Is there a way to run Swiss on Wii? Well, that would solve Gamecube games (maybe can be done with Nintendont too), but Wii content will still have this problem.

There is. That's originally how I got involved with the project, back when 576p was the new thing.


Nice. Is it for GC discs only, or is there a way to use Swiss on Wii in combination with loading disc images through Nintendont or another image loader? I'd love to use the 960i mode.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:55 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
You can't run any homebrew through Nintendont, it's all based on SDK patches.

You usually use a cMIOS and a special loader, but you can also use most of the same methods for unmodified GameCubes.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:31 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
That's too bad that it would involve burning discs. I was just posting in another thread about how I hate dealing with optical media. 960i + image backups would be the ideal. Maybe some day it can happen.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:32 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
Huh? Burning discs? Swiss doesn't even support DVD-R's on Wii yet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:44 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 1916
fernan1234 wrote:
That's too bad that it would involve burning discs.


Does your Wii even support DVD-R? From what I am reading only early Wiis can read DVD-R, most Wiis can't.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 6:55 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
I guess I misunderstood. I always thought that a custom MIOS was for loading GC game backups (as in, burned discs). I do have an early Wii that reads DVD-Rs, or at least that's what I remember when I tried that about 10 years ago. More recently of course I've only used Nintendont. I still have no idea how one would use Swiss on Wii while running ISO files though.


Last edited by fernan1234 on Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:00 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
The same as on a GameCube: SD Gecko, IDE-EXI, USB Gecko, WASP/Wiikey Fusion, WODE.

You're just missing the Broadband Adapter as an option.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:09 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
Now I'm recalling some of those tools from the very early days of Wii/GC homebrew development. The Gecko stuff in particular. All that ancient stuff still has an important role to play, it turns out! I imagine they're hard to track down nowadays though.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:12 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
SD Gecko is very common and performs great in r634+ with alternate read patches.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 7:14 pm 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
I'll look into it. Thanks for the guidance.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 1141
Extrems wrote:
There is. That's originally how I got involved with the project, back when 576p was the new thing.

Just as a quick aside - an I right that 576p can only done at 50hz - i.e. with slowdown?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 10:43 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 434
andykara2003 wrote:
Just as a quick aside - an I right that 576p can only done at 50hz - i.e. with slowdown?


I don't think game speed is tied to refresh rate in many (any?) GC/Wii games.. the 3D ones at least. You will get a lower frame rate, but actual game speed should be the same.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 11:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
Most games are tied to refresh rate, but some games with higher internal resolution in 50Hz aren't. Metroid Prime 1 is my favorite example.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:02 am 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
I ordered one of these SDGecko clones https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BH ... UTF8&psc=1 and will try launching homebrew/swiss on a Wii with it and a WW disc I luckily kept around.

It sure would be nice if Swiss was ported as Wii homebrew and could read games from the Wii's SD card slot (or even better, from a USB drive).


Last edited by fernan1234 on Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:08 am 


User avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 434
Extrems wrote:
Most games are tied to refresh rate, but some games with higher internal resolution in 50Hz aren't. Metroid Prime 1 is my favorite example.


Shows what I know! Damn, that sucks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:30 am 



Joined: 16 May 2017
Posts: 60
GeneraLight wrote:
Did you have WiiConnect24 activated before it was shut down in 2012? Leaving WiiConnect24 on has been known to cause Wiis to overheat and damage the GPU, causing the video artifacts.


This both really annoyed me (as I'll have to go check my two Wii consoles for it now), and blew my mind; I had no idea. Thanks a lot for sharing the info.

So anyone wanting to get a Wii Dual mod should probably double-check the existing video out, as that mod taps into the GPU (is that right)? Sorry if I've gotten that complete wrong.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:44 am 


User avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2018
Posts: 62
Location: Arkansas
coderkind wrote:
GeneraLight wrote:
Did you have WiiConnect24 activated before it was shut down in 2012? Leaving WiiConnect24 on has been known to cause Wiis to overheat and damage the GPU, causing the video artifacts.


This both really annoyed me (as I'll have to go check my two Wii consoles for it now), and blew my mind; I had no idea. Thanks a lot for sharing the info.

So anyone wanting to get a Wii Dual mod should probably double-check the existing video out, as that mod taps into the GPU (is that right)? Sorry if I've gotten that complete wrong.

I definitely would. I didn't know that this was a possible problem but I did my own installation so I was able to move it to another Wii. If you send out a dying Wii for modification it would be a real shame.
_________________
plus ça change,
plus c'est la même chose,
The more that things change,
The more they stay the same.- RUSH- Circumstances

I install and sell mods at arthrimus.com | SNES RGB Bypass+Dejitter available now! | Watch me live stream my work on YouTube


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:04 am 


User avatar

Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 257
fernan1234 wrote:
I'll look into it. Thanks for the guidance.


SDGeckos are worthless. Heck, it looks possible to get one for 14 cents. :P
ebay is running a "Save $3.00 when you spend $3.01 or more." coupon code that should work on this.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/113132953178


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:48 am 



Joined: 19 Jul 2017
Posts: 1259
theclaw wrote:
fernan1234 wrote:
I'll look into it. Thanks for the guidance.


SDGeckos are worthless. Heck, it looks possible to get one for 14 cents. :P
ebay is running a "Save $3.00 when you spend $3.01 or more." coupon code that should work on this.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/113132953178

Depends on how quickly you want it. You could spend $0.14~$3.14 and end up waiting 2~4 weeks to get it from Singapore, or spend $7 and get it by Saturday.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 1141
Extrems wrote:
Most games are tied to refresh rate, but some games with higher internal resolution in 50Hz aren't. Metroid Prime 1 is my favorite example.

So this game can be run at 576/60? That would be fantastic!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:51 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
It runs in 576p50, but it's not slowed down.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 3:52 am 



Joined: 14 Aug 2017
Posts: 427
nmalinoski wrote:
Depends on how quickly you want it. You could spend $0.14~$3.14 and end up waiting 2~4 weeks to get it from Singapore, or spend $7 and get it by Saturday.


I paid 6.31 and will get it Friday thanks to the wonders of Amazon Prime.

Already set up my MC card and booted Swiss. Now that I understand how this works better I realize I was dumb to think loading from the Wii's SD/USB slots could ever be possible using this. It's fully in GC mode at that point.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:00 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 1141
Extrems wrote:
It runs in 576p50, but it's not slowed down.

Thanks - got to try this. Do you know where I can find a list of other games that can do this?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:07 am 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 339
I only have a list of games with higher internal resolution in 50Hz. I don't care enough to look for game speed, unless it's blatantly sped up in forced 60Hz.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:10 am 


User avatar

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 1141
Thanks, appreciate it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1945 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lukilla, Nuck-TH and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group