shmups.system11.org

Shmups Forum
 
* FAQ    * Search
 * Register  * Login 
It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:27 am View unanswered posts
View active topics



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1680 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 52, 53, 54, 55, 56
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 5:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 117
nmalinoski wrote:
Link83 wrote:
It clearly has a VGA port...
...
I am curious though if the encoder is outputting RGBS with CSYNC being separated into HSYNC and VSYNC by another chip, or if the encoder is actually capable of outputting HSYNC and VSYNC directly over some unused pins.

Is it actually outputting RGBHV over the DE-15, or is it outputting RGBS?

I imagine it would have to be outputting 480p RGBHV over DE-15 (Standard VGA) to be compatible with arcade monitors of the time, but without clearer pictures of both sides of the board its impossible to be sure.


Last edited by Link83 on Wed May 23, 2018 6:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 5:46 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 165
https://files.extremscorner.org/wii/apps/calibrator/pr0ton.zip

Load 480p-b.dol and probe around.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 1:11 pm 



Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 34
citrus3000psi wrote:
pyroman512 wrote:
I assembled the GCPLug.. It was intense to say the least but it looks like everything went well. I do have one problem though...

To test out the connector I verified that it displays output, and even tested the progressive scan. The problem is that the image flickers on and off randomly. I don't know if it is a settings thing since I haven't gotten a remote yet but I'm not sure where to look. All my connections appear fine, my best guess is that after soldering the connector to the board a few (1 to 3) pins don't spring up as easily perhaps not making contact with the gamecube well enough.

Anyone experience this issue or suggest what to look at?


Before anything, just try another tv, just to be sure.

I would blame the pins in the plug. Make sure they are sticking down far enough. Also looking down the barrel of the plug, push the pins up and make sure they retract all the way back down without getting stuck.

Congrats on getting it built 8)



Thanks man! I replaced a pin and adjusted a few others and all seems good now. When I tried again I had the same problem but it appears to have gone away since I switched to enhanced dvi. (I switched back and it still worked so I dunno). All looks pretty good except I was trying with Wind waker and I got checkerboard like vertical lines while sailing. I tried two tvs and then I tried a bunch of other games and they all were fine. So I assume Wind waker is a special case with GCVideo?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 3:06 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Location: Indiana
pyroman512 wrote:


Thanks man! I replaced a pin and adjusted a few others and all seems good now. When I tried again I had the same problem but it appears to have gone away since I switched to enhanced dvi. (I switched back and it still worked so I dunno). All looks pretty good except I was trying with Wind waker and I got checkerboard like vertical lines while sailing. I tried two tvs and then I tried a bunch of other games and they all were fine. So I assume Wind waker is a special case with GCVideo?


No wind walker should work fine. My guess is still connectivity issues with the plug to the gamecube still. Make sure your gamecube pads on the digital connector are clean as well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 4:01 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 165
The vertical lines is the horizontal scaling interacting with the dithering. They're visible even with composite video.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 5:21 pm 



Joined: 14 Jan 2017
Posts: 34
Extrems wrote:
The vertical lines is the horizontal scaling interacting with the dithering. They're visible even with composite video.


So that means theres nothing I can do about it? So the framemeister appears to hide that on svideo. Is there a way to clean it up from the GCvideo or is it just something I have to deal with?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 5:36 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 2067
Location: Kentucky
pyroman512 wrote:
Extrems wrote:
The vertical lines is the horizontal scaling interacting with the dithering. They're visible even with composite video.


So that means theres nothing I can do about it? So the framemeister appears to hide that on svideo. Is there a way to clean it up from the GCvideo or is it just something I have to deal with?


I remember first noticing it in Wind Waker when borrowing a friend's component cables. I believe Skyward Sword has the same issue, and I'd guess Twilight Princess too (I assume they all use the same engine).


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 5:59 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 165
Swiss could disable the horizontal scaling and/or dithering. I'll get around to it someday.

I'll just leave this here:
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:40 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Posts: 23
Location: Ontario, Canada
Just got my GCMax 1.2 PCBs in from OSHPark last night, and man has it got me excited to get started! Unfortunately, some of the components are still eluding me... the FPGA is backordered for another month on DigiKey and that looks like about the soonest it's going to be available from anywhere else, too. Also of all things, I can't find any suitable caps for C19/25; no one seems to have 10μF 0402 ones rated for 10V in stock at the moment. Never expected to have something so simple in short supply!

Citrus, if you'll pardon my continued pestering, I also had a look around for an alternative to the GP1FD310TP, since even AliExpress came up empty for that. My forte's more in software than hardware, so I can't be sure, but I think the Cliff FCR684204T could work: http://www.cliffuk.co.uk/products/optic ... 84204T.pdf. If I'm reading the datasheet right, the measurements and pinout seem to match up. It's still on the scarce side, but Newark and a few European stores seem to have it in stock. Does that look feasible? Finally, from my attempts to assemble the Hirose connector, I think it needs the 4mm versions of the cable clamp and bushing rather than the 5.8mm ones.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:05 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Location: Indiana
AetherSmyth wrote:
Just got my GCMax 1.2 PCBs in from OSHPark last night, and man has it got me excited to get started! Unfortunately, some of the components are still eluding me... the FPGA is backordered for another month on DigiKey and that looks like about the soonest it's going to be available from anywhere else, too. Also of all things, I can't find any suitable caps for C19/25; no one seems to have 10μF 0402 ones rated for 10V in stock at the moment. Never expected to have something so simple in short supply!

Citrus, if you'll pardon my continued pestering, I also had a look around for an alternative to the GP1FD310TP, since even AliExpress came up empty for that. My forte's more in software than hardware, so I can't be sure, but I think the Cliff FCR684204T could work: http://www.cliffuk.co.uk/products/optic ... 84204T.pdf. If I'm reading the datasheet right, the measurements and pinout seem to match up. It's still on the scarce side, but Newark and a few European stores seem to have it in stock. Does that look feasible? Finally, from my attempts to assemble the Hirose connector, I think it needs the 4mm versions of the cable clamp and bushing rather than the 5.8mm ones.



6.3V caps will work. 10V just have a safer tolerance. Don't let caps hold you back. Send me a PM I can send you an FPGA and the GP1FD310TP.

You are right, but the 5.8mm parts fit with some love and caress. I went with the larger size because of the cable I used. But you are welcome to try out the 4mm version and let me know how it goes :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 11 Dec 2016
Posts: 23
Location: Ontario, Canada
Oh, well if 6.3V will work for those, then great! Like I said, circuit design is never really something that's clicked for me, so I was hesitant to go against your recommendation in the instructions.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:33 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Location: Indiana
I have a handful of GCDuals available if anybody is interested https://shop.dansprojects.com


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 3:33 pm 



Joined: 16 Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Location: US, MI
I recently bought and installed a GCDual in my Gamecube. This kit really is the ultimate video upgrade for the Gamecube. I couldn't recommend it more. If you are on the fence about doing this upgrade it really does deliver and is beyond worth it in my opinion.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:37 pm 



Joined: 25 Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Does anyone have the GCVideo 2.4 .bit or .mcs file? I noticed the bin directory had been taken down from Unseen's github, but I'm tearing my hair out trying to compile the VHDL files.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:13 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Location: Indiana
Marmotta wrote:
Does anyone have the GCVideo 2.4 .bit or .mcs file? I noticed the bin directory had been taken down from Unseen's github, but I'm tearing my hair out trying to compile the VHDL files.


Binaries can be found in the releases section.

https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo/releases


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:53 pm 



Joined: 25 Mar 2016
Posts: 11
citrus3000psi wrote:

Binaries can be found in the releases section.

https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo/releases


How did I miss that?! Now I just feel silly :oops:.

While I'm here, may as well ask, I was considered trying to program one of these development boards as a cheap and basic way of building a GCHDMI. Is there any reason that wouldn't work, like pin conflicts due to the different package type?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/XILINX-SPARTAN ... 2243053522


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:29 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 407
Marmotta wrote:
While I'm here, may as well ask, I was considered trying to program one of these development boards as a cheap and basic way of building a GCHDMI. Is there any reason that wouldn't work, like pin conflicts due to the different package type?

It is unlikely that you can get away with using the existing bitstream because these things are not simply sythesized for a certain FPGA type but also for the specific IC package. Saving the settings in GCVideo won't work because the flash chip on that module is very different compared to a standard SPI flash.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:50 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 117
Extrems wrote:

Extrems, I just wondered if this post was in response to mine about Wii arcade hardware outputting 480p RGB? If so is there any chance you can expand further?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:03 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 165
Yes, and... I don't see how I can expand on that.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:21 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 117
Extrems wrote:
Yes, and... I don't see how I can expand on that.

Well i'm guessing that means you found an option for 480p RGB from the stock Wii video encoder? :shock:
If so can the Wii be forced to use this mode for all software? Also does the Wii include CSYNC output ? Or does the encoder have unused HSYNC/VSYNC pins that we would need to use?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:04 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 165
I don't know where sync is, that's why you need to probe.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:00 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Location: Indiana
Link83 wrote:
Extrems wrote:
Yes, and... I don't see how I can expand on that.

Well i'm guessing that means you found an option for 480p RGB from the stock Wii video encoder? :shock:
If so can the Wii be forced to use this mode for all software? Also does the Wii include CSYNC output ? Or does the encoder have unused HSYNC/VSYNC pins that we would need to use?


Check this out:

https://bitbuilt.net/forums/index.php?t ... -1-1.2176/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:09 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 30 Jan 2016
Posts: 165
Oh, good.

The mystery is finally solved after all these years.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:56 pm 



Joined: 07 Apr 2016
Posts: 1130
Nice


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:11 am 



Joined: 30 Apr 2018
Posts: 20
Can I Comission Somebody to Make a GameCube RGBs or RGsB Cable for Playing in 480p on a PVM?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:09 am 



Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 63
I got my GCDual installed, and I noticed that I can hear my monitor switching into 480i every time I boot up. Is that intended behavior? I don't seem to see this happening with my other 480i devices. I would fully expect the switch going from 480i to 480p (which also happens) but the initial change from booting up the Gamecube is odd to me. It takes about 3 seconds to complete, so it's not a big deal, but just curious if this is intended behavior.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 6:41 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 07 Jun 2017
Posts: 96
Roboplodicus wrote:
Can I Comission Somebody to Make a GameCube RGBs or RGsB Cable for Playing in 480p on a PVM?

You can use a SNES scart cable wired for csync and a scart to BNC cable or adapter to get RGBs into your PVM.

There are also these really nice SNES to BNC cables that will work.
https://retro-access.com/collections/bn ... vm-monitor
RGsB should work also as long as you enable it in the menu. Same for YPbPr.
_________________
Visit Tinkerplunk for mods, repairs, and custom cables!
Twitter: @arithmaldor


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:42 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Location: Indiana
Chriz2600 has just made some updates to gc-video: These updates only pertain to GCDual people at the moment.

https://github.com/chriz2600/gcvideo

There is now a direct analog output YPbPr mode that can work with custom video timing (IE: GBIHF etc.) The video is dumped right before the blanking regeneration happens. So there will be no OSD (DVI will have OSD still) on the analog portion

I will post up how to update shortly. Chriz2600 also has plans to add RGB direct output and will be taking a look at the chroma bugs.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:49 pm 


User avatar

Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 407
citrus3000psi wrote:
There is now a direct analog output YPbPr mode that can work with custom video timing (IE: GBIHF etc.) The video is dumped right before the blanking regeneration happens. So there will be no OSD (DVI will have OSD still) on the analog portion

I will post up how to update shortly. Chriz2600 also has plans to add RGB direct output and

I'm still looking for a reasonable name for that feature, currently the (unsupported, use-at-your-own-risk) menu option in my mess of uncommitted changes is called "Border Expansion".

Quote:
will be taking a look at the chroma bugs.

Chroma bugs?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning the Gamecube component cable
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:26 pm 



Joined: 07 Feb 2016
Posts: 14
Location: Cologne, Germany
Unseen wrote:
Chroma bugs?


I wouldn't call it a bug. As far as I understand, it is that the original component cable handles the chroma upsampling by simply duplicating the stored U and V values. So the result looks different from the interpolation upsampling in gcvideo.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1680 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 52, 53, 54, 55, 56

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], maxtherabbit, parodius, SNK-NEO-GEO and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Space Pilot 3K template by Jakob Persson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group